Kyoto Japanese Restaurant

(801) 487-3525

1080 E 1300 S, Salt Lake City, UT | Directions   84105

40.741523 -111.859897

Open Hours

Fri-Sat: 11:30am-9:30pm, 5pm-10pm, Sun: 5pm-9pm, Mon-Thu: 11:30am-9:30pm, 5pm-9:30pm

 
Restaurants, Sushi, Japanese  more

Price: $

Tags: Local Favorite, Lunch Spot, Private Rooms, Quiet, Romantic Dining, Theater District Dining

Payment Methods: American Express, Check, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Neighborhoods: East Central

less
 
 
Menu
Chicken Teriyaki, Beef Teriyaki, Salmon Teriyaki, Ebi Tempura, Seafood Tempura, Yasai Tempura, Beef Sukiyaki, Chicken Sukiyaki, Tonkatsu, Gyukatsu... more

Reviews for Kyoto Japanese Restaurant

over a year ago

We were a party of six ordering 3 Tempura/Teriyaki Dinners, and 3 of us ordering Sushi. The 3 dinners had their soup, then the salad and were 3/4 of the way through their dinner before we saw one piece of sushi. The hot food arrived at least 15 minutes before the sushi. Very poor service and bad planning of the courses of the meal. I won't be back.

Recommends
4.0
over a year ago

Delicious – Simply deliciousssss. My family and I go back all the time its become a habit

Doesn't Recommend
2.0
over a year ago

The Decline of Kyoto – It's sad to partake in the decline of one of Salt Lake's most venerable, and my traditionally favorite, sushi bars: Kyoto.

Since back in the day, over ten years ago, when dear old Rocky oversaw the sushi chefs, Kyoto has been, for me, the standard of excellence in sushi. Make no mistake, the restaurant's tempura is still the best to be found. But their sushi, under the current guidance of Akira, Old Rocky's protegee, has suffered from a lack of enthusiasm and care. Much the way a seemingly bored Akira treats his guests. Tonight we started with 4 dishes: seaweed and squid salad, baked mussels, mussel shooters and raw oysters. Every dish was drenched in chili spice. Even the oysters. It was as if chili or hot spice is now the fallback flavor in all their sushi recipes. Unfortunately, hot spice mangles the delicate flavor of most fish, and certainly oysters. When I had the temerity to ask about the liberal use of chili spice, I was treated to hastily and resentfully prepared sushi the rest of the evening. Including a broiled fish appetizer that was the consistency of shoe leather. I've been going to Kyoto's for 15 years. Sadly, it's time to move on. Thanks for the great meals and memories, Kyoto.

Doesn't Recommend
1.0
over a year ago

Hurry Rush rush, you gotta leave! – My friends and I went here to eat. We called ahead about a week before to see if we needed reservations and we were told no. I went in to get a table and the hostess told me we could get in at 7, I called the others and they said this was great. I told the hostess that 7 would be great, she told me that they didn't have one at 7pm, the next was 9. So I called everyone back relayed this. To cut a long story short the hostess said 7 would be good. We got in and yes some of our party arrived later. Our food arrived late, some was over cooked and the steak was undercooked ( I ordered medium not Steak tartar). Some of the food was cold. The spicy Tuna was very very fishy tasting, made some gag with the strong flavor. Once the food arrived the chef and the hostess kept walking around our table checking out our progress and telling us we had to hurry and eat then leave. Only the busboy was worth it.

Recommends
4.0
over a year ago

Best Curry – Better get to lunch early the Chicken Katsu Curry is a traditional Fave!!! And believe me they do run out!!!

Reasonably priced for such a large portion!!! YUM! My mouth is watering just thinking about it! The staff is wonderful and attentive!!! I hope to continue the Kyoto tradition for years to come!!!

Recommends
4.0
over a year ago

Our Favorite! – We love sushi, and have tried lots of local places and this one is our favorite! The rolls are huge, there are so many to choose from, and they have their own unique and wonderful creations.

And they taste Fantastic! Oh and don't pass up having some tempura shrimp YUM! But if you're having sushi, just get one shrimp, you'll need to save room for the rolls.

I thought the staff was wonderful the sushi chefs at the bar are very attentive, and especially one waitress - we were on only our second visit and she not only recognized us but remembered the wine we had, AMAZING.

Yes, it is always very busy and you may have to wait, it's worth it.

We don't usually make reservations and go rather early on weeknights, but we've never had to wait much longer than 10-15 minutes.

Doesn't Recommend
1.0
over a year ago

Extremely Disappointed – The overall presentation was unattractive; by that I mean that the rolls were oddly shaped, not symmetrical, and unevenly sliced. They even decorated the plate with that fake plastic grass you see in supermarket sushi (red flag!). The taste was sub-mediocre, the fish was especially bland and they used far too much rice; our rolls literally had half an inch of rice on the nori. During the course of our meal we were first greeted by one waitress, then another waitress took our sushi order, and yet another waitress brought us our sushi. Despite all the waitress-swapping we were never actually asked how we were or if we were enjoying our food. Afterwards our check was brought to us by another new face and brought back to us by yet another person. Having interacted with 5 different people we had no idea who we were actually tipping. So just to sum it up; bad sushi, bad service, bad experience.

Doesn't Recommend
1.0
over a year ago

Disappointing – My husband enjoyed his nagiri selections, but my meal was rather disappointing. My salad was essentially iceberg lettuce drowned in yellow dressing - I'd hoped for something more authentic, maybe seaweed or pickled cucumber salad.

My entree was the seafood/vegetable soup, which was just plain bad. The seafood in it was overcooked, chewy and fishy smelling - with the exception of the imitation crabmeat. The only vegetables in it were scallions, undercooked mushrooms, and tons of unwashed cabbage (I could SEE the dirt!!)

Maybe I just ordered the wrong entree? Perhaps this restaurant is better known for its sushi - which I normally love, but I am currently pregnant so that's out for now. The only other cooked options (other than my bad soup) are something Teriyaki, or something Tempura - both very Americanized versions of Japanese cuisine.

Recommends
5.0
over a year ago

Best Sushi in SLC – Make sure you try the baked mussels, spicy scallops, and the spider rolls. Call and make a reservation.

Recommends
5.0
over a year ago

Accept NO IMITATIONS!! – Kyoto is SLC's BEST Japanese food, bar none. The friendly staff is extremely helpful, courteous, professional and attentive. The fish is the freshest in Utah. The steaks are phenomenal and are provided in generous portions. Other Japanese restaurants in SLC charge the sme price, for the same menu, but the quality and service can no even hope to compare to that of Kyoto. Don't expect to just "show up" and quickly get a table. You will need a reservation for this place and it is more than worth the effort. You have many choices for Japanese dining, but you will never go wrong with Kyoto.

View more Reviews for Kyoto Japanese Restaurant

Write a Review for

Kyoto Japanese Restaurant

87% 100 50 46 Votes

Best of Citysearch

Nominated for:
Sushi (2010)
Sushi (2006)
Sushi (2005)
Get Directions
Your Friends

Sign in with Facebook Sign in with Facebook to see what your friends are up to!

Add Blog Post

Add your blog review of Kyoto Japanese Restaurant to Citysearch

Do you have a review of Kyoto Japanese Restaurant on your blog? If you include the Citysearch image link (shown below) in your post, we'll automatically link to your review from the business profile page. Here's how our Linkback system works:

  • 1. Include our image link in your Kyoto Japanese Restaurant review blog post.
  • 2. Citysearch will notice that you're linking to one of our pages. We'll scan your blog.
  • 3. We'll show a link to your blog post from the Kyoto Japanese Restaurant page on Citysearch.

The Linkback system is free and automatic. It's really that easy.

Read our FAQ for details.

Image Link

To link to our business profile page, copy the html below to your web page.

Kyoto Japanese Restaurant on Citysearch