Froggy's Topanga Fish Market

(310) 455-1728 | View Website

1105 N Topanga Canyon Blvd, Topanga, CA | Directions   90290

34.103995 -118.592727

Open Hours

Sun-Thu 5:00 - 9:30

Fri-Sat 5:00 - 10:00

 
Restaurants, MasterCard, Visa  more

More Payment Methods: American Express

Tags: Special Occasion Dining, Private Rooms, Outdoor Dining, Date Spot

Cuisine: Seafood

Neighborhoods:

less
 
Owner verified business
 
 
 
Froggy's Topanga Fish Market
Froggy's Topanga Fish Market
Menu
Chips & Salsa, Chips & Guacamole, Grilled Artichoke, Fried Calamari, Classic Shrimp Cocktail, Popcorn Shrimp, Caesar, Arugula, Santa Fe, Asian Ahi... more

Reviews for Froggy's Topanga Fish Market

Doesn't Recommend
1.0
over a year ago

not for families – Do not go there if you have children under the age of 5. We had a terrible experience tonight. As we were walking out, my 3 year old son, had a tantrum at the door, I was telling him to stand up so we could leave. After 20 seconds or even less of him crying, the lady at the counter came, took him and literally threw him outside...I was so shocked that I did not say anything and just left this place...I still cannot believe what happened. We live in Topanga and one thing for sure, I will tell everybody I know not to go there...If you don't want to serve families put a sign on the door-no kids allowed!

Terrible, Terrible, Terrible!!!!!!

The food is okay but overpriced and the decor is pretty.

Doesn't Recommend
1.0
over a year ago

Bad NIght – Went there tonight. Wife hated it. I am old school Froggy's from the "near the lumber yard days" and have been to the current location a few times. I love Froggy's. There was a computer glitch tonight with their order printer and it took 56 minutes to get our food. It was not busy. Saw a rat on the spiral stair-case. Computer glitches happen but since there is no table service now; there were no "checks or balances" to see if we got our food so I had to find a bus boy and ask.

What really peeved my wife is that no one said "Hey; we are sorry; or.....I am so sorry....can I get you free desert or what can we do to make it right? The person we spoke to was really defensive and was far from the apologetic customer service approach that is business 101. It it not a perfect world; things go wrong; people have bad days......the young blonde kid at the bar was cool and so was the new sushi chef. Froggy's is an awesome place.....I guess even Babe Ruth struck out once in a while. Saw no management there tonight.............would I go back? Ya. My wife? No way.

Recommends
5.0
over a year ago

QUICK Get Away for Los Angelians! – Just had my birthday dinner at Froggy's last night - My family and I live on the Topanga end of Malibu and Froggy's is our favorite place to eat and hang out. I think the food is amazing (meet Chef Bob). This place is our home away from home. It is very casual with a relaxed atmosphere. In the winter you have the huge fireplace to cozy up to and all year long there is the patio area where guests love to eat sitting above the creek (it feels like you’re up in a huge tree house) listening to the “froggies”. The food service is very fast, but you do need to stand in line to order your food, pick up your drinks at the bar, and then your food is delivered to wherever you have chosen to land. If you live any where in Los Angeles and need to “get away” it is just a 45 minute to hour drive and you’re in another world! Try the artichoke appetizer, and one of our favorites after work is the Caesar salad with salmon. You can’t buy salmon and cook it yourself at this price!

Recommends
5.0
over a year ago

I love this beautiful place. Froggy's is the best! – This place is so down to earth, whimsical, cozy, fun and relaxing. I've been going to Froggy's for years the food is awsome, my favorite food is there are the fish tacos, there cheese burger is the best I have ever had, ribs are amazing and the margaritas are very good, ect.

The service is very good, servers are sweet. You do have to stand in a small line to make your order, no big deal. They bring the food to you and you pick up your drinks at the bar.

It has good energy there. It's a nice place to go to when you want to be out in nature and feel like you are away from the energy of LA.

Doesn't Recommend
1.0
over a year ago

Want a bad meal? – Had an ok meal here. That night, all 5 of us including a baby spent the night v0miting. We were sick for 2 days. 2 families.

I would only recommend this place for a cold beer and some chips. Food is scary as per the other reviews.

Recommends
5.0
over a year ago

A Pleasant Surprise – A friend of mine and I stumbled upon this gem on our way to the beach and absolutely loved it! The food was so fresh and delicious! The ambiance was amazing, cozy, yet seriously like dining outdoors in a tree-house. You have to try this place out for yourself because it is a very unique experience! I recommend the mahi mahi tacos :-) and the house beer on tap is awesome!

Doesn't Recommend
1.0
over a year ago

Froggy's is under water. – Hi, I went to Froggy's for the first time last week. I am still so bummed out by my experience. Which is what led me to this review. Anyway, I am a total foodie. I eat a ton. I drink a ton. My tivo is set to foodnetwork and travelnetwork (tony bourdain and andrew zimmner) 24/7 and I spend most of my spare time researching food. I am a 28yr old, blonde, educated caucasian, female. The food at this place sucked! I would go back for drinks and to chill on the gorgeous back yard patio, but the nasty food and tummy ach arnt worth it. Not to mention the terrible service. The only reason I would go back for drinks is because you help yourself.

Doesn't Recommend
1.0
over a year ago

Low standards, dirty looking smoking chef – The last time I went to Froggy's will definitely be my last. I was out on the patio one afternoon a few weeks back when I saw the cook take a smoking break at the bar. Than I saw him go back into the kitchen and proceed with cooking his dishes without washing his hands. I was able to see this through the open kitchen area . I was watching closely because he looked really dirty to me and I had a feeling he wasn't going to wash his hands. To me that's just bad protocol not only to let the staff smoke in front of customer's while cooking but not washing the hands is just disgusting after having a cigarette in one's mouth. Maybe it's just me but the chef should be tidy and professional. I was meeting someone at the restaurant and so I put that aside and ate my meal against my better judgement. The food tasted okay but I ended up with a really bad stomach ache and was off for a couple days. The place may have a neat ambience but it needs to raise their standards and clean things up. Granted it's a casual place in the mountains but when it comes to food handling, some industry standards should apply. I have been there a few other times over the years and I never felt very well after a meal there.. This time I lfinally learned my lesson and I will never be going back.

Doesn't Recommend
1.0
over a year ago

If you like chicken organs, this is for you! – Ordered a chicken quesadilla + a coke. Tipped the kid behind the counter, got a number, and some guy dropped a tiny quesadila to my table. When I asked about the soda, he said "Oh, it's probably on the counter at the bar, we're kind of a self-serve place here." implying I should go get it. One bite in and I knew something was wrong. I opened it up and discovered I was the lucky customer who got all those chicken parts other restaurants throw away. Not just that it was all dark meat, but what looked like giblets, chicken liver, etc. I wanted to get a refund. Waited in line, with a number of employees walking by, looking at my plate in my hand, saying and doing nothing. After about 15 minutes I got to the front. Told the kid behind the counter what happened, showed him the giblets, to which he replied "Do you want one with just white meat?" I told him no. He began yelling to the bar "I need help for a refund!" to which the manager replied "I'm busy!" (the same guy who dropped off my plate). When it occurred to him that no one would be ordering food until my refund was issued, the manager came around to help. While he was figuring out how to give a refund, I mentioned I had drank my soda, so please just refund the food. He laughed, and said "Oh, you drank it huh?". He told the kid to charge me $2 and walked away without as much as an apology or inquiry as to why I wanted a refund. The kid asked for $2, and I told him I had no cash. He had the business sense his boss lacked and said it was cool, don't worry about it. He then started to hand me a receipt, and then pulled it away, saying "whoops, that's not for you" I asked for some kind of receipt since they kept my original, and he he looked confused and printed out a copy of the receipt charging $2. The customers in the long line were getting restless, so I just walked away. I will be watching my bank statements closely, since there's a great chance they messed it all up somehow.

Recommends
4.0
over a year ago

Make history here – First time I went I fell in love with all of it except waiting in line to order. That is so not of concern now, as we make friends with the others. I return often and sit in different places: near the fireplace in the old school room, near the balcony, in the bar, by the library. It's like going somewhere new yet familiar. Certainly iconic, I hate to write good things about the place because I'm afraid the winding roads and/or remoteness will not be enough to slow the inevitable swarms. I'm probably one of that swarm. Good wine selection, could be more expansive, wonderful entrees - work on the coffee though. Thank you for leaving me with only good memories, history for me and my loved ones.

m

View more Reviews for Froggy's Topanga Fish Market

Write a Review for

Froggy's Topanga Fish Mark…

59% 100 19 17 Votes

Best of Citysearch

Nominated for:
Get Directions
Your Friends

Sign in with Facebook Sign in with Facebook to see what your friends are up to!

Add Blog Post

Add your blog review of Froggy's Topanga Fish Market to Citysearch

Do you have a review of Froggy's Topanga Fish Market on your blog? If you include the Citysearch image link (shown below) in your post, we'll automatically link to your review from the business profile page. Here's how our Linkback system works:

  • 1. Include our image link in your Froggy's Topanga Fish Market review blog post.
  • 2. Citysearch will notice that you're linking to one of our pages. We'll scan your blog.
  • 3. We'll show a link to your blog post from the Froggy's Topanga Fish Market page on Citysearch.

The Linkback system is free and automatic. It's really that easy.

Read our FAQ for details.

Image Link

To link to our business profile page, copy the html below to your web page.

Froggy's Topanga Fish Market on Citysearch