B J Properties

(562) 594-5595 | View Website

5212 Katella Ave, Los Alamitos, CA | Directions   90720

33.802718 -118.042109

Open Hours

9:00 am to 6:00 pm weekdays and 9:00 am to 3;00 pm Saturdays

 
Property Management, Building Maintenance

Neighborhoods:

less
 
Owner verified business
 
 
 
B J Properties
B J Properties
B J Properties
B J Properties

Reviews for B J Properties

10 months ago

I have rented from B J Property for almost three years. I have not had an unhappy moment or bad experience with this company or their staff. In fact, I stop by at times to say hello to everyone and thank them for their High standard of Professionalism, Attention to detail concerning repairs needed in my apartment, and Excellent customer service. B J Property Management has certainly earned my respect for life. This Management Team really makes you feel at home the minute you open that door no matter how hectic their day has been. You can't ask for anything more that. Professionalism on point.

It is clear that several angered ex-tenant's of B J Property Management have chosen to complain unfairly and take out their frustrations on the company who has always and continues to meet the needs of all their tenants 24 hours a day. Instead of shifting and accepting the blame of their misconduct towards this company for no realistic reason at all, these ex-tenant's need to deal with the personal issues in their lives and stop this quest to dishonor B J Property.

These ex-tenant's need to stop and think about what they have done and ask themselves, What did B J Property Management and Staff ever seriously do to me, that caused me to stoop to a level of writing bad reviews on a company who has only tried to fix or resolve issues at hand? I'm sure these ex-tenant's have a track record of complaining with other Landlords or Property Management for no apparent reason. But, I'm willing to bet a certain percentage of those ex-tenant's who have posted these bad review had evictions on file and B J Property Management accepted them and their families with no questions asked.

An experienced company like B J Property Management is a great asset to private owners. Their goal is to increase revenue, provide comprehensive management service regardless of the scope of the job, and take the pressure off the owner's. The owner's have not complained over the years since B J Property Management brought the business, it's obvious this company knows what it takes to effectively manage California rental properties.

Finally, if you are a prospective tenant reading this message," don't judge a book by it's cover", read it first and don't let anyone cloud your decision based on reviews you've read on this company. There is no truth to these stories, I know because I've rented and lived here for almost 3 years from B J Property Management. Even if I leave California and return after several years I'm happy to know I can always come back to a company I call home. So, If your in the market for a rental property in Los Alamitos, California call B J Property Management they will exceed your expectations.

Happy Customer!

Recommends
10 months ago

sorry millman has BJ Properties all wrong – Kelly C.,

I remember you as a qualified applicant, meticulous and detailed. You were detailed in your application process. I also give you credit for your persistence in obtaining your ultimate goal of leasing the house that was across the street from your family home, and that was obviously very important to you.

I want you to know that the owners had instructed me to continue to show the house even though you were well qualified because you had requested a rent reduction of $300.00. The owners refused and I was instructed to continue to show the property. It was my fiduciary obligation to continue to market the property! Ultimately, and fortunately for you, they agreed to a rent reduction of $100.00. You were informed of the owners intentions throughout and you had continued to negotiate the rent amount until you were ultimately successful. As the negotiations went on, you became more and more frustrated with the fact that you had not gotten the owners to agree to your terms quickly and you obviously blamed me for that the delay. I was actually happy for you because you were able to be across the street from your parents. If you felt that you were being shunned, I am sorry but I did have an obligation to continue to market the house as instructed by the owners.

Furthermore, I continue the manage another property for the same owners that own the house you leased.

I believe they just felt it was best as did I, that since you were so disenchanted with me, it was easier for me to discontinue my involvement with you. However, I do in fact wish you well in your endeavors and I hope your parents are doing well.

Frank Sinatra

BJ Properties

10 months ago

As a property owner I have 3 houses in the Long Beach and Westchester area. I have used B J Properties for over 20 years, Frank and his wife bought the company about 6 or 7 years ago. We have used them exclusively and have found that Frank is an excellent property manager. I have never found him to not communicate quickly with me. As soon as any of my tenants have an issue like a broken item in the house, Frank takes care of it quickly. Sometimes the expense of the repair requires him to coordinate with the property owner which can take some time, but with me I have given him free reign to get the repairs done quickly. I have a feeling that the complaints here are due to some expensive repairs that required some coordination with the actual property owner. I have never had a problem with him and have found that he is an excellent property manager. I currently live in Washington state and have to rely on my property manager to keep things on track. He does that very well even quickly finding tenants to any of my property - the home I have referred to as having a tenant for 5 years was a new rental and he had the house rented within 3 days of it being available. The house that was rented for 4 years was a new acquisition and he had that rented within 2 days of it being available. I have referred at least 4 property owners to him and each has been pleased with his management skills. I can't speak for the all of his tenants other than all of my tenants are pleased with him. He does have a rigorous screening process to get us good quality tenants and he works hard to ensure that they are taken care of. My tenants have been with me in one house for 7 years, in another house 5 years and a recent purchase for 4 years. They won't stay unless they are satisfied and all of my tenants are pleased with the way Frank handles any issues. I highly recommend him for a property manager, his management fees are below most any other property management company. I know what a bad property manager is like as I have other property in Washington. I only wish that BJ properties and Frank Sinatra were also able to take care of my property in Washington state. Frank runs his company very well and if there is any problem, he takes care of it quickly. At least I have found him to do that for me. I don't think I'm anyone special to him and I'm sure that 99% of owners and tenants are pleased with him. I know I am.

Doesn't Recommend
11 months ago

Oh man, I wished I would have done some research before screwing myself over with this company. They even have bad reviews on Yelp! Their lack of communication is beyond dreadful. I understand sometimes a problem may occur, as a business perspective you need to resolve situations and leave the client, customer, or tenant happy. I'm not going into detail with my situation, but bottom line, they screwed up, didn't apologize, or even try to resolve the issue. Just a couple more months, my lease will be done, and I'm out!

over a year ago

Wow, we were planning to use this company. Thanks for the heads up! My apologies that you all had to even go through such an ugly experience.....

Doesn't Recommend
1.0
over a year ago

I Agree - Do Not Rent from BJ Properties!!! – I was interested in a BJ Properties location so I contacted them a couple times via email and telephone; however, I received no response after a couple of weeks. Luckily, I knew the owner the property and contacted them directly to let them know that I hadn’t heard from anyone from BJ Properties after a couple of attempts and suddenly, I received a response from BJ Properties.

I continued to be extremely disappointed with BJ Properties response times, etc. After many emails and phone calls sent to BJ Properties, we were approved to lease the location we were interested in. That is when the nightmare began – after an abundance of phone calls, follow-up calls, emails when no one from BJ Properties returned my call, etc., we finally moved in after having to complete 2 initial walk-throughs due to the fact that BJ Properties do not know how to manage this particular property accordingly. The owner, Frank Sinatra, is by far the worse property manager that I’ve ever had to deal with since his lack of communication is atrocious! Fortunately, the owner of the property felt the same way and dismissed BJ Properties from managing the place that we are leasing. I completely agree with the other review submitted – BJ Properties cause countless amount of unnecessary stress. I have managed properties in the past and I am utterly amazed that BJ Properties is in business since, from my experience with them; they are so unprofessional and lack the skills in basic management in any property and/or business.

The owner’s response to a bad review should not be trusted since I have experienced his way of doing business and even though it seems like he helped the tenant, I’m sure the past tenant could attest that Frank is very difficult to deal with since he does not return calls, does not keep his staff informed of decisions he has made, can’t keep track of conversations you have with him and won’t ever admit he dropped the ball when the proof is evident. He acts as if you should appreciate him actually doing his job, when in fact; the process of getting him to do his job is such a huge headache in the first place, not to mention that the problems are probably an issue in the first place because of him.

Also, the review from millman, the woman called Marie is the owner’s wife and there were so many “misunderstandings” from the owner, his wife and their staff – I could see where they would be called liars. I have leased a couple of locations in the past and kept detailed paperwork which has help me received my full deposit each time so as long as you have all your ducks a row, I encourage anyone to take BJ Properties to small claims court if they feel the management company has taken advantage of them.

Doesn't Recommend
1.0
over a year ago

do not rent from BJ Properties – I lived in a BJ Property from the beginning of last year, until the end of this year (before my lease was up). I am not only disappointed with the apartment (it flooded into my room and it took over a week for the management to come even look at it, and they wouldn't even take care of the damage it did to my personal things) but I am more so disappointed with the actual Management "Team".

While I had tried to move out, the company told me one thing, and then told my roommates the opposite. They finally sent me paperwork to start the move out process (sign over of deposit & surrender of premises, which should have taken me completely off the lease) but then I come to find out, I was not allowed to leave the lease unless my roommates re-wrote their lease or found a new roommate. Since my roommates would not re-write the lease and take over the complete rent, I was forced to stay on the lease. I thought I was rid of them, after I went through 2 months of paying rent while I didn't even live there, they are now telling me the paperwork I had signed when I initially tried to take myself off the lease is VALID, even though I AM STILL ON THE LEASE and it was NEVER re-written! Now they say I can't receive my part of the deposit back, and are going back on ALL of our written conversations (luckily I have proof!).

I would not ever recommend this company when looking for an apartment to rent. They have caused un-needed stress and basically are giving my money away to my old roommates. It's really not worth anyone's time, and I will completely stand by it, along with both of my past roommates.

over a year ago

Christine Cornelius was unable to fullfill her lease. She vacated 6 weeks before the lease term expired. They paid late often. The roomates told me Stephanie did not live up to the terms of her agreement so they kept her share of the deposit. Shephanie signed her rights away to the deposit. So any dispute with the deposit was between roomates. This is another example of roomates that do not getting along... know your roomates before renting together. Frank C. Sinatra- BJ Properties

Doesn't Recommend
1.0
over a year ago

DO NOT RENT FROM THESE PEOPLE!!! – LOOK HERE IS THE DEAL - THEY ARE A PROPERTY MANAGEMENT COMPANY AND THEY HAVE NO VESTED INTEREST IN THE TENANT - THERE IS A WOMAN WHOM WORKS THERE CALLED MARIE AND SHE IS A LIAR. PJ PROPERTIES DO NOT OWN THE PROPERTIES THEY MANAGE. THEY ARE THE TOOLS OF THE PROPERTY OWNERS AND THEY WILL ALLOW THE OWNERS OF THE PROPERTIES TO KEEP YOUR DEPOSIT. THEY DO THIS USING TRUMPED UP CHARGES AND DEDUCT FROM YOUR DEPOSIT UNTIL THERE IS NOTHING LEFT. MY $650 DEPOSIT WAS STOLEN AND THEY WROTE ME A CHECK FOR $14 DOLLARS!! I AM TAKING THEM TO SMALL CLAIMS COURT BUT BEFORE I DO I WILL WARN EVERYONE TO AVOID THIS BUSINESS. I ALSO HAVE A COMPLAINT WITH THE CITY OF LONG BEACH AND LOS ALIMITOS. THEY ARE UNPROFESSIONAL! MARIE YOU ARE A LIAR!

over a year ago

First of all this tenant was a very good tenant and a very nice person but he broke his lease and we explained that we would re-rent the unit as fast as we could and he was charged for the 15 days that the unit was vacant. He should be thankful to us for renting the unit in only 15 days. He could have been responsible for another six months of rent if we had not rented the unit quickly. Also he pained the bathroom without discussing it and used the wrong paint . BJ Properties-(562) 594-5595

Doesn't Recommend
1.0
over a year ago

Application Fees – This company likes to show you propery, take your application, and take your money to run your credit, etc. Then when you check back with them to see if you qualified for the rental they tell you sorry, someone else already got that rental. Guess what? You just lost your money for the credit check.

 

Write a Review for

B J Properties

17% 100 9 6 Votes
Get Directions
Your Friends

Sign in with Facebook Sign in with Facebook to see what your friends are up to!

Add Blog Post

Add your blog review of B J Properties to Citysearch

Do you have a review of B J Properties on your blog? If you include the Citysearch image link (shown below) in your post, we'll automatically link to your review from the business profile page. Here's how our Linkback system works:

  • 1. Include our image link in your B J Properties review blog post.
  • 2. Citysearch will notice that you're linking to one of our pages. We'll scan your blog.
  • 3. We'll show a link to your blog post from the B J Properties page on Citysearch.

The Linkback system is free and automatic. It's really that easy.

Read our FAQ for details.

Image Link

To link to our business profile page, copy the html below to your web page.

B J Properties on Citysearch