Sunset Watersports

(305) 296-2554

2323 N Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL | Directions   33040

24.561755 -81.777963

 
Parasailing

Neighborhoods:

less
 
 

Reviews for Sunset Watersports

Doesn't Recommend
1.0
over a year ago

Never again! – Unfriendly personnel & tour too short I would definitely NOT recommend this boat tour! We were around 20 people waiting outside the offices for about 30 minutes until a very stressed out, rude and unfriendly 'Melody' arrived shut the door on our faces to leave us waiting another further 15 minutes (FYI: she answered a call by saying her name and asking someone to be part of her 'hell' in front of us... hello? Are you mad? You were standing in front of your customers!! Our tour was delayed and the time we lost was NOT made up for as assured by Melody. The skipper and his assistant Brittany were ok, BUT he kept reminding us to give them a generous gratuity for at least 10US$ (very embarrassing and inappropriate: BTW most people on a boat tour don't have cash with them, especially if everything is supposed to be included!!!). The snorkling tour was way too short compared to the boat ride and the skipper just sat there smoking a cigarette... on a boat?!!! All in all, I wouldn't recommend it to anybody, unless you want to be treated like a second class tourist...

Doesn't Recommend
1.0
over a year ago

The guide scammed us money – Me and boyfriend went to a morning parasail tour with sunset. One of our parasail guide is Kyle, he asked us if we want him to take some photo while we parasail. We said yes, and we got a disc after the tour and paid him $40 including tips for it.

Then, we went back to our hotel and want to check out the photos on the disc, but it turned out the disc has no files on it. We quickly call back Kyle to figure out a solution, he told us to wait for his call once he's got a chance, and we also told him we would leave town in the afternoon, and he would also give us a refund if he cannot get the disc to work.

Hours gone by, but not a single reply from Kyle, and we called again but no one answers. Then, we tried to go to the store hoping to get a refund, but the staff there said it was their own small business, and they can do nothing about it. The staff helped us to call Kyle, but still no answer.

We returned to the store before we leave to Miami that day, and the staff told us Kyle took only 2 customers to parasail, and should be back in 20 minutes, so we decided to wait for him. However, Kyle didn't show up after we waited for 30 minutes, so we had to leave, and I left the disc with my mailing address, email and phone numbers. So far, not a single email reply has sent to us.

Be warned, people! Don't ever trust those tour guides for taking you pictures again. The company tolerate dishonest people, and provided no help at all to us.

Doesn't Recommend
2.0
over a year ago

NOT TERRIBLE BUT NOT TERRIFIC, JUST OK – Didn't get into the water untill ater 11 pm and left around 3:30 but still allowed ample time to do all sports provided. There was no "iceburgh" slide as promised. It was pretty much a "free for all" once allowed to go into the water. Lunch consisted of mediocre hamburger or hotdog with rolls in the bag (nothing like the spread shown on the website). No plates. Celery and carrot sticks with dip earlier but still no plates that I saw. There was a downstairs with tables but I don't think they were used. Water provided out of a cooler with small "dentist" cups. Drinks available to purchase ($5 for small plastic cup and free refills or $1 a piece if not cup purchased). Small snacks also available to purchase. Have to swim a good distance to banana boat, jet skis, and snorkle reef (taking into account the strong current that was present while we were there). Banana boat requires you having to pull yourself up out of deep water with little or no help which can be a bit embarressing (lets not forget the "professional" photographers that are there to catch it on tape and camera for you to purchase later as they laugh at your expense). For those of you who are more athletically inclined, the more "bang" you get for your buck. For those of you who are not, you may leave dissappointed. You may want to simply rent a jet ski or kayak for the day and purchase a $10 set of snorkle gear. Overall for me, it was a fairly expensive ($109 per person, or $99 per person with coupon (in addition to the tip encouraged by the captain at the end of the day) ok , been there done that moment.

Doesn't Recommend
1.0
over a year ago

Crew talk lot and help less – Crew is lazy, just stand and watch.... doesn't help. If you do not know swimming, I do not think it is a good idea to go for this sport. Crew just ask you to grab a life jacket and get into the water. Wave runners, Banana boat, iceberg would be 100-150 feet away. You have to swim 100 - 150 feet to get on them. If you do not know swimming it would take hell lot of time to get there and you would get exhausted.Crew does not help but at end of the day looks for tip (gratitude) for nothing.

Recommends
5.0
over a year ago

Absolutely the best thing we did on vacation!! – I went on vacation with my family; the age range was 8 -65 years old. We weren't sure how granny would do out in the boat all day, but it was awesome. The boat is HUGE, it has a downstairs airconditioned cabin with a big screen tv. The upper deck has some shade and a bar and seating. The trip has so many activities we couldn't decide what to do first...I think we started with the iceburg climbing mountain and moved on to the waverunners after that. There was so much stuff to do that you didn't really have to wait for anything, when it was free we jumped on. I thought we wouldn't have much time on the waverunners, but everyone was so worn out that they were just sitting there at the end of the day. The banana boat is great, you have to try it. Gramma and the little kids went down into the ac to relax and take a nap the rest of us sat upstairs sipping daquiris and enjoyed the day, did I mention the full bar?? The food is good too, burgers dogs, veggie tray etc. We will definately be making this our main outing whenever we come to key west. Thanks Sunset, you guys are awesome.

Recommends
3.0
over a year ago

Fun but not what promised – I must say that the day was fun but it was not as promised as far as the time we were out there. They say you'll be out from 10-4 but it turned out that we were only out from 11:30-4. There was plenty to do though once out on the boat, I thought it would be impossible to use the wave runners but I got to use them several times throughout the day. The guides were nice and helpful just can't get past the time thing. I figured if they couldn't get us out until 11:30 that we would stay out later but that wasn't the case.

Recommends
4.0
over a year ago

Do it All, and stay out longer then the rest! – My husband, my eight year old son and I spent a day with the people at Sunset. We werent sure what to expect, knowing we would be just a few of many who would be out that day. It started with a short trip to thier 'honey hole' right off the coast of the isles. My husband was picked to ride the jet skiis behind the boat to the location, which he thoroughly enjoyed. Once hunkered down, the crew quickly unloaded all the goodies ( snorkel gear, banana boat, kayak, etc) gave everyone the over view of the area, and pointed out a ship wreck off the side of the boat for the snorkelers. We tried everything. The ship wreck, while cloudy had lots of fish, from a school of baracuda to several other varieties i couldnt name. We were able to go skiing and jet ski riding without much of wait times. They served burgers and hotdogs, and gave everyone their free rein over the rest of the boat. We also choose to go parasailing, which the boys just loved. We were handled very professionaly, and on the way back to the main boat our captian pull along side of a lobster boat, were we were introduced to a few lobsters recently caught. We did notice other do it all companys around and about where we docked..but all of them headed in before we did. SO for the money you get the most time and amenities with Sunset.

 

Write a Review for

Sunset Watersports

43% 100 7 7 Votes
Get Directions
Your Friends

Sign in with Facebook Sign in with Facebook to see what your friends are up to!

Add Blog Post

Add your blog review of Sunset Watersports to Citysearch

Do you have a review of Sunset Watersports on your blog? If you include the Citysearch image link (shown below) in your post, we'll automatically link to your review from the business profile page. Here's how our Linkback system works:

  • 1. Include our image link in your Sunset Watersports review blog post.
  • 2. Citysearch will notice that you're linking to one of our pages. We'll scan your blog.
  • 3. We'll show a link to your blog post from the Sunset Watersports page on Citysearch.

The Linkback system is free and automatic. It's really that easy.

Read our FAQ for details.

Image Link

To link to our business profile page, copy the html below to your web page.

Sunset Watersports on Citysearch