Rusty Pelican

(305) 361-5123 | View Website

3201 Rickenbacker Cswy, Key Biscayne, FL | Directions   33149

25.747662 -80.175370

Open Hours

Fri-Sat: 11am-12am, Sun-Thu: 11am-11pm

 
Restaurants, Catering, Traditional American  more

More Cuisine: Seafood

Price: $$$$

Tags: Brunch, Family Style Dining, Fine Dining, Outdoor Dining, Romantic Dining, Special Occasion Dining, View Dining, Waterfront Dining

Payment Methods: American Express, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Neighborhoods: Downtown Miami

less
 
 
Menu
Pan Seared Ahi Tuna, Seafood en Papillote, Oven Roasted Patagonian Tooth Fish, Diver Sea Scallop, Crispy Fried Whole Local Red Snapper, Sauteed Local Black Sea Bass, Grilled Filet Mignon, Boneless Half Roasted Organic Chicken, Pan Seared Australian Rack of Lamb, Soy-Honey Roasted Duck Breast... more

Reviews for Rusty Pelican

Recommends
5.0
over a year ago

best sunday brunch – I've been to RP Sunday brunch at least for 15 times times. 90% of the time the service was great and the food was good with great selection of fresh seafood: oysters, crab legs. Shrimps are little tastless. But there is so many choices of food, that if you don't like one, just move to another. Unlimited champaign or mimosas.

I don't know how this person with "terrible experience" can judge the place just by one visit in the busiest time as mother's day. Regular price for brunch I believe is $25.

I will keep coming to Rusty Pelican with my family and friends.

Recommends
5.0
over a year ago

Great Service – In reading the reviews below... wow, did we go to the same Rusty Pelican?

I recently had a private party celebrating my engagement. When I couldn't attending a tasting for our menu, my whole family was invited to Sunday Brunch. The food was excellent. A little crowded yes, but there weren't any "little old ladies grabbing shrimp with their bare hands". Tiso, our server was wonderful. I will always request him in the future. The service for our engagement dinner for 50 was impeccable. They were extremely accomodating to our guests, and very professional.

Perhaps, they aren't as prepared during special events such as Mother's Day or Valentine's Day, but I am surprised to read some of the comments for this restaurant.

Doesn't Recommend
1.0
over a year ago

Terrible reviews for last 2 years - get new managment – WORST MOTHERS DAY BRUNCH EVER. The website advertised mother?s day brunch for $32.95. This is a reasonable price for Miami and so despite awful reviews online my family decided to give it a try. We arrived at 11 am and had to be shuttled in from offsite parking. The place was extremely crowded and very difficult to get in and out of the table. When the bill came it was $45.00 per person and when I mentioned it to the server he said they always charge $45.00 despite the website price of $32.95. The catering manager was sent over to my table. She was very rude and said ?did you come here for the price or for the food? (terrible food). She said they told people when they made reservations what the ?real price? is but no one told me. I would never have given the Rusty Pelican a chance despite awful reviews if I had known it would be $45.00 per person. GO SOMEWHERE NICE FOR $45.00 PER PERSON.

Doesn't Recommend
1.0
over a year ago

Not a good review since 2006 – $550.00 for 9 people on Mother?s Day included a shuttle bus in the heat from offsite parking, horrible food, cramped conditions and rude management. All of the meats: pork, roast beef, ham; were extremely dry and tasteless. The table with the oysters, shrimp and crab legs was hidden in the back corner and designed to limit access. With the crowds of people it was impossible to get to the table. The restaurant supplied 1 tong for the crab legs, 1 tong for the oysters and 1 tong for the shrimp to limit access. Everyone was grabbing the food with their bare hands. Yuck . . .bacteria and raw oysters is never a good combination. I can think of many, many better places to spend my next Mother?s Day. DON?T WASTE YOUR MONEY ON BAD FOOD.

Doesn't Recommend
1.0
over a year ago

CROWDED, HOT AND $$$$ – 500 people crowded into a hot, noisy room . . .does that sound like a fun Mother?s day? Once it?s all over get in line for the shuttle bus to take you back to your car ? was that supposed to be fine dining or an amusement park? Don?t waste your money on this horrible place. Terrible food and even worse management.

Doesn't Recommend
1.0
over a year ago

WORST MOTHER'S DAY BRUNCH – The horrible online reviews are true ? STAY AWAY. I arrived at Rusty Pelican, Key Biscayne, for Mother?s Day to discover they were doing offsite parking and shutting everyone over like herds of cattle in the 91 degree heat. The tables were all numbered and extremely difficult to get in and out of. The lines for the food were ridiculously long and old women were grabbing shrimp out of the buffet bowl with their bare hands. The waiters were serving everyone mimosas without checking ID. They filled up my 16 year old nephew?s glass with champagne. Last time I checked champagne was still considered alcohol. When the bill arrived I realized why they were serving so many Mimosa?s and getting everyone drunk. The advertised price of $32.95 had been increased to $45.00 and the manager, Chris Marmanillo, refused to offer the online price. He had nothing to say when I asked why the mother?s day brunch was posted on the website but the price had not been updated as well. He said he had nothing to do with the website. Conveniently the website is not mobile designed so I could not pull it up on my phone to show him and he refused to let me use the internet to show him. When I got home to view the website, the Mother?s Day event had been removed completely from the site. Why is the price increased for the same food, worse service and a horrible atmosphere? He did remove one person from the total price of the bill, but that was after arguing for 15 minutes and didn?t compensate for the increased cost. TERRIBLE FOOD AND HORRIBLE MANAGEMENT. FIND SOMEWHERE ELSE TO ENJOY THE VIEW.

Doesn't Recommend
1.0
over a year ago

Lousy and $$$ Food – I was there on 2/14/08 with my fiance and another couple only because they wanted to go. I had previously been there for mother's day 2 years ago and the food was not that great that time either, apart from the chaotic service. This time however, it didn't seem so chaotic except that the food was really bad. The menu was too small to choose from and way too $$$$ for the quality that it was. The salmon was totally dry and so was the filet mignon. Between the four of us, the bill came out to $400.00 including tip which the waiter did not earn. I had to ask him for water 5 times. It was a shame that between me and my fiance we had to pay $200.00 for a meal of that caliber. I suggest you fire your chef. That place has a lot of potential but the food is really crappy. I should have went somewhere else, let me tell you I'm really sorry I wasted miles, gas and the money for the meal. Not to mention the $50.00 tip that the waiter DID NOT EARN. This is the second and last time I ever go back there. Thanks for the mediocre cuisine. Oh and one more thing, they don't do well on holidays. I guess they can't handle the traffic. You're better off going to Burger King or something.

Doesn't Recommend
1.0
over a year ago

Crusty Pelican – First things first, we were told we would see the sunset from our table when we asked the hostes and the waiter three times they all said yes, but as the sun went the down we had to go outside to see it. Next the two stakes were over cooked and the sea bass was was over cooked and gamey in an Ocean type of way. We were over charged for the lobster and stake.

Doesn't Recommend
2.0
over a year ago

The Rusty Pelican and Flies – Too many flies, poor service. Asked staff to remove a brunch item after a child picked it up, bit it and returned the item to the tray. Staff appeared flustered and did not address the issue. Great location, eat somewhere else

Doesn't Recommend
1.0
over a year ago

Worst service ever. – This was the worst service experience I've had at any restaurant in United States. We put our names first on the hostess' list and waited in the bar while group after group were called ahead of us. After waiting 1hr, I asked for the manager who's only response was "oh, I'll get you a table". By this time it was too late and my wife and I left. The staff was hispanic and indifferent. All of the groups that arrived after us and were seated before us were hispanic. I would not recommend this establishment. The environment was as unwelcoming as it could be, almost like you had to beg them to please let you pay for the priveledge of eating their over priced food. It was just a terrible and unwelcoming experience.

View more Reviews for Rusty Pelican

Write a Review for

Rusty Pelican

56% 100 85 41 Votes

Best of Citysearch

Won for:
Brunch (2008)
Waterfront Restaurants (2007)
Date Spot (2006)
Waterfront Restaurants (2006)
Waterfront Restaurants (2005)
Nominations Nominated for:
Get Directions
Your Friends

Sign in with Facebook Sign in with Facebook to see what your friends are up to!

Add Blog Post

Add your blog review of Rusty Pelican to Citysearch

Do you have a review of Rusty Pelican on your blog? If you include the Citysearch image link (shown below) in your post, we'll automatically link to your review from the business profile page. Here's how our Linkback system works:

  • 1. Include our image link in your Rusty Pelican review blog post.
  • 2. Citysearch will notice that you're linking to one of our pages. We'll scan your blog.
  • 3. We'll show a link to your blog post from the Rusty Pelican page on Citysearch.

The Linkback system is free and automatic. It's really that easy.

Read our FAQ for details.

Image Link

To link to our business profile page, copy the html below to your web page.

Rusty Pelican on Citysearch