Zippy Lube

(919) 231-0908 | View Website

3802 New Bern Ave, Raleigh, NC | Directions   27610

35.797728 -78.575778

 
Oil Changes, Auto Inspections, Transmission Repair  more

More Automotive Repair Services: Brake Repair

Categories: Automotive Repair

Neighborhoods: Northeast

less
 
Owner verified business
 
 
 

Special Offers

  1. Print Offer

    $7.00 Off our Full Service Oil Change

    Provided by CityGrid

    Up to 5 qts of Oil. Skid plates and canister filters not included.

Reviews for Zippy Lube

Recommends
7 months ago

Excellent place to get service done!

Recommends
over a year ago

Great people. Great service. Went out of there way to explain the problem and they had an ASE certified mechanic to fix the problem!

Sidenote: Although many do not understand how small business works, like you can't actually buy something for .89 and sell it for .89 and stay in business, its called overhead people, like rent, insurance, supplies, inventory, get educated before criticize a business for its pricing structure. Otherwise learn how to replace your own lightbulbs and fuses, I'm sure it will take you longer than the few minutes it will take these guys who actually know what they are doing.

Recommends
over a year ago

Awesome place/service

Recommends
over a year ago

I can not believe customer service is still alive, even at a mechanic shop. They really took the time to explain why my car's check engine light was on, and gave me a deal on fixing it. Thanks so much guys!!

Recommends
over a year ago

This place is Awesome!!! I came in 15 mins after the closed and the opened the doors up and still gave me great service. Even fixed my near flat tire.

Doesn't Recommend
1.0
over a year ago

Little shop of RIP OFFS – I stopped in to get my car inspected and a oil change. ( BIG MISTAKE ) They replaced a license plate blub.The blub was a #194. This place billed me $6.99 for one.WOW!!! Walmart sell the same one for .89 cent.The next morning when I'm backing out of my garage, I can see oil has drip onto my concrete. There are good shops around to get your oil change or your car inspected, THIS IS NOT ONE OF THEM!

Recommends
5.0
over a year ago

Great Service!! – Great, friendly guys and gals work here! They know what they are doing and I trust their recommendations. Not high pressure like those other places that offer cheap oil changes and try to sell you everything under the sun. Will definitely be back!

Doesn't Recommend
1.0
over a year ago

STAY AWAY!! – I was getting my car inspected. Less than 5 minutes after I went inside, I was told I needed a new wiper blade, not two, just one. Either buy it at $10 or it fails. I had declined an earlier oil change at $39 and this smacked as payback time. The attendant doing the sales pitch was female and became indignant when I questioned the $10 for a single wiper blade that Wally mart sells for under $3. I knew it was a rip off but paid to avoid the time and return trip for a failed inspection. I feel the blade was fine and it was a bogus charge anyway - in other words a rip off. I will not be back there again for anything.

over a year ago

We're sorry you felt like you didn't get great service during your visit. Anyone who asks for an Inspection is always offered an Oil Change as well so that they aren't having to come back if they are due soon. All businesses have a markup on products that they sell, just as you said you didn't want to spend the time to go down to Walmart, buy it, install it yourself and then return to the shop for a re-inspection. It's the cost of convenience in today's fast-paced world and most people are happy to pay for such a convenience. We also have to follow NC DMV guidelines for the inspection process, if we don't, we lose our Inspection license. You can always review those guidelines in the lobby during your wait. God Bless!

Doesn't Recommend
1.0
over a year ago

STAY AWAY FROM THIS PLACE !! – Consumer's Original Complaint :BBB

My vehicle was damaged during inspection, manager initially acknowledged the damage and agreed to pay for repair - he now refuses.

I was getting my vehicle inspected at Zippy Lube on New Bern Avenue in Raleigh. There were 2 bulbs that needed to be replaced (rear license plate and left front parking light). The attendant performing the inspection could not remove the assembly for the front parking light and asked for assistance from another attendant/manager who was working at the time. He did not know how to remove the assembly either so he used a tool of some kind - perhaps a screwdriver to remove the assembly. I witnessed him using the tool. During the process of removing the housing to replace the bulb, he damaged the housing and chipped the paint.

I stopped by a body shop to get an estimate. I took the estimate to manager at Zippy Lube.

He said he would not pay that amount and told me I had to take the vehicle to a body shop he uses and get an estimate from that shop. I am not comfortable with that body shop and I told the manager I would not take the vehicle there - he cannot tell me where to have the vehicle repaired. I got another estimate and learned that a tool should never be used to remove the light assembly, it is only necessary to push it in and forward with the palm of your hand (it is held in with a clip) to remove the light. I took the second estimate, in the amount of , back to manager and he still refused to pay. He insisted that I must take the vehicle to his body shop. He said to have them do the repair work and he would pay them.

I told him I would not take it to the body shop he deals with I had already wasted half a day to get the estimates that I had in hand, and if he was refusing to pay, I told him I would file a small claims action against him.

I do not care if he pays the shop for the work or pays me for the damage, I just want the damage repaired by a shop of my choice.

I have been taking my vehicles to this business since 2000. 5 business vehicles and 3 personal vehicles for me and this is the only time I've ever had any trouble. It's unfortunate that this is what I get for being a loyal customer

In response to the comment from Zippy Lube they did not make an offer to me or to the BBB. The lowest estimate I presented was $419.03 and the highest estimate was $436.92. Zippy Lube paid the clerk of the court $393.40 which was the amount awarded to me, so they saved less than $26. If their time is worth anything and if they valued long time customers, they would have been better off to have settled this without going to court. I guess they hoped I would just go away

.

over a year ago

Mr. Jones did take Zippy Lube to court over this claim and the court ruled in Zippy Lube's favor. We originally offered to pay for the repairs at a shop of our choice which Mr. Jones was not happy about. The court ordered him to take the amount that we offered originally for the repairs.

Recommends
over a year ago

Editorial Review – North Carolina auto shop works on all aspects of foreign and domestic vehicles.

 

Write a Review for

Zippy Lube

77% 100 17 13 Votes
Get Directions
Your Friends

Sign in with Facebook Sign in with Facebook to see what your friends are up to!

Add Blog Post

Add your blog review of Zippy Lube to Citysearch

Do you have a review of Zippy Lube on your blog? If you include the Citysearch image link (shown below) in your post, we'll automatically link to your review from the business profile page. Here's how our Linkback system works:

  • 1. Include our image link in your Zippy Lube review blog post.
  • 2. Citysearch will notice that you're linking to one of our pages. We'll scan your blog.
  • 3. We'll show a link to your blog post from the Zippy Lube page on Citysearch.

The Linkback system is free and automatic. It's really that easy.

Read our FAQ for details.

Image Link

To link to our business profile page, copy the html below to your web page.

Zippy Lube on Citysearch