Shobha Soho

(212) 931-8363 | View Website

594 Broadway, New York, NY | Directions   10012

40.725032 -73.997096

Open Hours

monday 12pm - 8pm

tuesday 10am - 8pm

wednesday 10am - 8pm

thursday 10am - 8pm

friday 10am - 8pm

saturday 10am - 6pm

sunday 11am - 6pm

 
Beauty Salons, Hair Removal, Spas  more

Payment Methods: MasterCard, Discover, Visa, American Express

Manicure & Pedicure Services: Manicures

Neighborhoods: Downtown, SoHo

less
 
Owner verified business
 
 
 
Menu
Half Arms, Full Arms, Underarms, Lower Legs, Upper Legs, Full Legs, Belly, Half Chest / Stomach, Full Chest / Stomach, Hipster... more

Reviews for Shobha Soho

Recommends
4.0
over a year ago

Fantastic threading, less than great "sugaring" – I absolutely love getting my brows threaded here, they are ALWAYS quick, on time & perfect. I have been to a variety of specialists and have loved them all. I do have a "regular" specialist because it's more convenient but I wouldn't mind anyone there.

However, I have had brazilians done 3 times there now. I request the sugar because it has always resulted in a cleaner look, no pain & no ingrowns...however this isnt real sugar. It doesnt remove the hair as easily which makes the technician go over the same spot multiple times (somehow all within the 20 minutes it has always taken -- they are very fast) which then results in my skin getting burnt. If you have sensitive skin and/or coarse hair, don't do it.

Recommends
5.0
over a year ago

Best Brazilian wax – I went to shobha in SoHo I had my first Brazilian wax, it really hurt.

I felt very comfortable. I was taken in early, the woman who did my Brazilian her is

Nawina was very nice, I will go back and use her again.

The pain did not last very long. If I can do it anyone can.

Toniann

Recommends
5.0
over a year ago

Awkward but good Brazilian experience – Went to Shobha SoHo recently and got my first Brazilian done. Lemme tell you, it HURTS like a MOTHER, but they try and make you as comfy as possible. The receptionists are polite and ask if you want anything to drink while waiting, and if you're a first timer (like me) you fill out some paperwork and sign a consent form. The waxer, Surjit, was not overly friendly, and didn't really say much, but she did what she had to do. I stripped down to my bare parts (she was setting everything up in the meantime, but didn't leave the room) and lay on the table.

She got right into the waxing, and lemme tell you, I was NOT ready for it, but as soon as she did it, it wasn't THAT bad. Never had someone wax my most intimate parts, but she was as professional as can be. She put lovely cool towels on my girly parts afterward to take the swelling and pain down a little bit, which was like heaven. She then showed me my cooch with a mirror and I was pleased with the results.

I'll be going back in 4 weeks, and will remain a loyal customer to Shobha.

Doesn't Recommend
1.0
over a year ago

DISRESPECTFUL CUST.SVC. FROM MGMNT/OFF.STAFF...DROPPED APPT., EXCUSES,THEY DON'T CARE! – GingerNY, the response you got here from Shobha is GUFF. I was a monthly customer for over a year, but that ended in NOV.06.I had an appt for a $90.facial, a month in advance. I went & was told I had no appt! The staff DID'T CARE. I raised hell (I was going on vacation 2 days later).They finally got me in,but acted like they did ME a favor!My next appt was waxing.I arrived & the mgr came to confront me (I had called a complaint,for the record).She DID NOT OFFER ME ANYTHING until I said,"What am I getting for my annoyance?You're offering EXCUSES,nothing more!"(A SECOND TIME,I WAS ANNOYED AND YELLING,WHEREAS I AM SUPPOSED TO RELAX AT A SPA!). Finally I told her "I don't need this place.I can always go back to the J.Sisters next time I want a facial" Then suddenly she comped my Brazilian. GingerNY, At the time, the staff was making THE SAME EXCUSE THEY GAVE YOU! They told me the system was going to be fixed the following week,so it would not drop appts anymore (that was NOVEMBER 2006!).The mgr said "It was a rare glitch in the system we have now, but the system will be changed next week." A desk girl told me "That happens all the time! Appts always disappear!" The manager first tried to blame the girl who took my appt, because she was not present. But I made the appt in PERSON, so I saw she did NOTHING wrong, and I told the Mgr she was trying to find a scapegoat, and not to even TRY going there. Then the Mgr said it was the "rare glitch." The fact is, when I pay top dollar for a service, I expect to get appropriate customer service! My boyfriends' credit card was on file, & I spent upwards of $200.per month there! And THEY DON'T CARE my appt is dropped? No one should have to GET ANGRY AND LOUD before they are offered some kind of apology for incompetant customer service!!!! I WOULD NEVER RETURN TO SHOBHA, solely because of the office staff! My waxing girl, Hibba, was great, and I miss her still today. But when I spend money every month,I expect RESPECT & CARE!

over a year ago

Dear Evie156,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts. Your feedback is critical to our improvement. We are bummed to hear that you think our response to GingerNY is an excuse, as we have taken ownership over our shortcomings and have since then been working hard on ways to better our client experience on all levels. Please know that as of December 2006 we have upgraded our scheduling software in hopes of eliminating such scheduling glitches. However, we are still prone to the occasional human error and we do truly apologize for not handling the mistakes you encountered in a more thoughtful manner. Since that time, we have reworked our front desk training to really heighten our client care levels. We are training our staff to figure out what the issue is so they can correct the situation as quickly as possible versus trying to find someone to assign blame. We do hope that you accept our sincerest apologies.

Doesn't Recommend
1.0
over a year ago

So disappointing... – I booked an appointment for a facial at the beginning of the week for today at 6 pm. I arrived on time today and, to my "great surprise", they don't have any appointment scheduled for me...You can imagine my disappointment, when you've been waiting all the week for this and someone just tells you: I'm sorry, we missed your appointment in the system....They ruined my evening and probably my weekend. For this reason, I'll never go back there. So, let me know if you know a nice place where they can't miss your appointment.......

over a year ago

'GingerNY,'please know that we talked with the staff member that we think you spoke to when you came in on Friday. We truly apologize that we made it seem like it was not a big deal that you weren't scheduled. We know how important it is to get your services done on the day & time that you have planned it. Although we strive to provide excellent service to every client, once in a while we may miss the mark. Most companies, especially these days, seem like they want to push those experiences under the rug & act like they never happened instead of trying to work & grow from their mistakes. We promise you that we are not like that here at Shobha! We share all feedback (positive & constructive) with everyone in the company. Together we figure out solutions for improvement. So, give us a second chance to make it up to you! If anyone is un/happy with his/her Shobha experience or has suggestions/comments, e-mail us:thoughts@shobhathreading.com we want to hear you, not sweep you under the rug!

Recommends
5.0
over a year ago

Cleanest, smoothes, Brazilian ever – I moved away from NY a year and half ago and am still searching for a salon that does brazilians like Shobha. I make it a point when I travel to NY now to always stop in at Shobhas. I'm not sure if it's just attention to detail, but I have not found another shop that can compare to the results from Shobha. I've found too many places that leave too many stray hairs, never at Shobha! The staff is also very professional and make an unpleasant experience as pleasant as possible.

Doesn't Recommend
1.0
over a year ago

SO disappointed – Terrible. The woman did not introduce herself, ask my name or what I wanted. When she was done, I was left with lopsided brows. And, you have to use the (public) bathroom all the way down the hall. Overall bad experience.

Recommends
5.0
over a year ago

Best Brazilian Wax! – I've been to Shobha a few times now, adn I LOVE it. I freak out when getting waxed, and going here is much less painful. I'm not saying the experience is stress free, but here it is the most accomadating as it gets. Plus, I stay smooth for weeks!

Recommends
4.5
over a year ago

Making hair removal as pleasant--and painless--as possible. – A bright loft space outfitted with lovely fabrics and stylish touches, Shobha is not your everyday hair removal salon. The owner's not so typical, either: A Harvard business school grad with a background in electrical engineering, Shobha Tummala oversees her company with a passion for education, quality and details. As a result, every aspect of a client's experience--from the employees' bedside manner to the post-service spritzes of rosewater--are pitch-perfect.

Doesn't Recommend
1.0
over a year ago

Went from BAD to WORSE – WHY?!?! did I think I could trust the positive reviews over what my friend had told me? I don't know but I paid the price, both in $$$ and in a horrible experience. The waxer who did my brazilian spoke little English, didn't stretch the skin properly OUCH! and missed a lot of hairs. It was awful and I was close to tears my the end of it. And the hefty price tag to go with it made me want to pull out my hair. Move onto the threading of eyebrows. I let mine grow in for awhile because while on vacation, the waxer took too much off. So, there was plenty to work with when I got to Shobha. Only for the threader to make them REALLY thin. I complained but everything was turned around on me. I will never go back, and lesson learned not to believe everything you read about a place.

View more Reviews for Shobha Soho

Write a Review for

Shobha Soho

80% 100 57 56 Votes

Best of Citysearch

Won for:
Hair Removal (2006)
Nominations Nominated for:
Get Directions
Your Friends

Sign in with Facebook Sign in with Facebook to see what your friends are up to!

Add Blog Post

Add your blog review of Shobha Soho to Citysearch

Do you have a review of Shobha Soho on your blog? If you include the Citysearch image link (shown below) in your post, we'll automatically link to your review from the business profile page. Here's how our Linkback system works:

  • 1. Include our image link in your Shobha Soho review blog post.
  • 2. Citysearch will notice that you're linking to one of our pages. We'll scan your blog.
  • 3. We'll show a link to your blog post from the Shobha Soho page on Citysearch.

The Linkback system is free and automatic. It's really that easy.

Read our FAQ for details.

Image Link

To link to our business profile page, copy the html below to your web page.

Shobha Soho on Citysearch