Cactus Pear

(513) 791-4424

9500 Kenwood Rd, Cincinnati, OH | Directions   45242

39.229619 -84.376663

Open Hours

Mon. - Thu. 11am - 10pm;Fri. 11am - 11pm;Sat. 12am - 11pm;Sun. CLOSED

 
Restaurants, Mexican, $  more

Payment Methods: American Express, Debit Card, MasterCard, Visa

Neighborhoods: Blue Ash

less
 
 
Menu
Blue Corn Nachos, Quesadillas, Quesadillas, Flameado, Chipotle Hummus, Stuffed Portabello, Shrimp and Crab Flautas, Spinach Queso, Calamari, Guacamole... more

Reviews for Cactus Pear

Doesn't Recommend
1.0
over a year ago

AVOID AT ALL COSTS – Honestly, this has got to be a prison cafeteria disguised as a Southwestern cuisine restaurant. At first, I thought the meal might be good in part to the roasted tomato salsa and the pleasing decor, but it went all downhill from there! Even the salsa, the best part of the meal, was mediocre compared to other restaurants'; such as Don Pablo's in Norwood and Newport, El Pueblo in Blue Ash or Chili's in Montgomery; they even served it with what seemed as store-bought tortilla chips instead of the fresh, homemade chips served in the aforementioned restaurants! When my order, a seafood chimichanga with shrimp and crab, finally came out, it was not what I was expecting. I couldn't even taste or find the shrimp, and the crab was barely noticeable as it swam in a mildly nauseating sauce. The beans and rice were okay, but not even the most idiot of cooks could manage to botch those up! I had had a big lunch only a couple of hours before, so I ended up with a half a plate to take home, and as I attempted to put my chimichanga into the foam box, the box gave way (it wrongly placed on a table corner) and my chimichanga went SPLAT onto the floor. I do accept that it was my fault, and our server, although having made himself scarce earlier, managed to kindly clean it up; he was nearly breaking out into a sweat and it ws clear he'd been working hard all night. But here's the kicker: the owner, a fat Indian man (don't ask me why an Indian man was running a Southwestern "bistro") was no help at all when I went to ask for compensation for losing my overpriced ($16) chimichanga. He'd been flaunting his "oh-I'm-a -rich-restaurateur-and-I-have-a-lot-of-money" attitude all night, and I even saw him throwing some menus very rudely at the table where he had just sat a nice middle-aged couple (he literally threw the menus from five feet away)! Anyway, as I spoke to him, asking if there were some way that I could get another half seafood chimichanga to-go, he began mumbling to me in some unintelligible gibberish and eventually said he'd pay for my next meal. When I asked for a coupon or written statement to validate this he just brushed me off saying "I remember, I remember!" Seems to me that he won't remember at all, but just said that to brush me out of his long, matted, disgusting, graying hair. If I had went to Don Pablo's, El Pueblo, or Chili's (where the management is professional and helpful) they'd have given me a half order of my food in a heartbeat. But at Cactus Pear, the management mumbled and fumbled his way into an excuse to NOT do it. I'd been wanting to try Cactus Pear in Blue Ash for years now, but it was a dismal, and expensive, experience. I paid $16 for bad food and service, whereas I could have gone to a better place for less. You can get great food, atmosphere AND service at El Pueblo, Don Pablo's or Chili's for under $10 instead of bad, expensive everything at Cactus Pear. Cactus Pear is SOOO BAD I think they may beat Delta Air Lines for worst everything. This place doesn't even deserve 1 star; if I could, I'd give it NEGATIVE 5 stars! I will never o back, and as I ate there I wished I'd gone to the Chinese place in the same strip mall instead. AVOID CACTUS PEAR LIKE THE PLAGUE; IT'S THE WORST RESTAURANT ON EARTH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Doesn't Recommend
1.0
over a year ago

Terrible service – I will not be back.

My husband and I have been to Cactus Pear in the past and always enjoyed it. Tonight was a train wreck. We were seated for 15 minutes before the owner came by to take a drink order. It was still another 5 minutes before the server even came to our table. When our food came, only two of the foru dishes our party ordered were the correct item. It took another 10 minutes for the rest of our party to get the correct dishes. While we were waiting for the correct order, we asked the hostess to get us drinks for our dinner. All dinners were complete and we still did not have our drinks. The worst part was management's response, which was minimal at best. When we told him our complaints, all he did was make excuses that they had a party of 16 and were slammed, but the party of 16 was not even seated until we were on our dinners. At the end of the night the owner took off our firstround of drinks but made no ammends for the food or lack of service.

Doesn't Recommend
1.0
over a year ago

AWFUL what happened to this place – Our office had Cactus Pear for lunch today and it was awful. It has definitely gone down in flavor. The guacamole tastes like old lime and chunky. 3 of us had the salmon spinach salad and the dressing is awful. Very funny tasting. The salmon is dry and too salty. El Establo in Silverton has a lot better food. I had 7.99 fajitas at El Establo last week that were so juicy and lots of flavor. Today my friend had steak fajitas for 16.99 and they are dry and tasteless

Doesn't Recommend
1.0
over a year ago

Poor Service and Food – My daughters and I went to the Cactus Pear in Kenwood earlier this week. The wait was terrible. Several couples left. Tables were available, but took forever to get cleaned for a new party. My tamales were smothered under a very spicy green sauce. I found out why - the beef was very overcooked and dry. My daughter ordered a salad with portabella mushrooms. The mushroom were too spicy; she had to take them off to eat the salad. I would not return to this restaurant.

Recommends
5.0
over a year ago

Great food, awesome music on Thursday nights! – Great restaurant. Owner is friendly, staff is attentive and the eclectic music on Thursday nights by "Bone Voyage" is worth making this a weekly destination for dinner!

 

Write a Review for

Cactus Pear

20% 100 5 5 Votes
Get Directions
Your Friends

Sign in with Facebook Sign in with Facebook to see what your friends are up to!

Add Blog Post

Add your blog review of Cactus Pear to Citysearch

Do you have a review of Cactus Pear on your blog? If you include the Citysearch image link (shown below) in your post, we'll automatically link to your review from the business profile page. Here's how our Linkback system works:

  • 1. Include our image link in your Cactus Pear review blog post.
  • 2. Citysearch will notice that you're linking to one of our pages. We'll scan your blog.
  • 3. We'll show a link to your blog post from the Cactus Pear page on Citysearch.

The Linkback system is free and automatic. It's really that easy.

Read our FAQ for details.

Image Link

To link to our business profile page, copy the html below to your web page.

Cactus Pear on Citysearch