St Petersburg

(763) 587-1787 | View Website

3610 France Ave, Robbinsdale, MN | Directions   55422

45.020654 -93.328458

 
Russian, Seafood, $$$$  more

Tags: Bar Scene, Business Dining, Date Spot, Fine Dining, Group Dining, People Watching, Romantic Dining, Special Occasion Dining

Payment Methods: MasterCard, Visa

Categories: Restaurants

Neighborhoods:

less
 
 

Reviews for St Petersburg

Doesn't Recommend
2.0
over a year ago

Take with a grain of salt... – The food is actually quite good for the most part although oddly some dishes are quite authentic (I lived

in Russia for 6 years in the 90's so have some exposure) while others seem to have no Eastern

European connection at all. Do NOT go to this restaurant if service is your main focus, you may well

leave in tears. If the menu was more clear cut and the staff could at least pretend they cared, the food and

atmosphere could actually make this place work.

Doesn't Recommend
1.0
over a year ago

If you aren't Russian, don't bother! – We had one good experience here, so we went again, and it couldn't have been a worse experience. We even had reservations and we couldn't get seated! No one else was waiting at the host stand and we couldn't get any staff to glance our way. After we got the host's attention and told them we had reservations for two, we literally stood there for over 20 minutes and finally stormed out. It still cost us a few dollars, because my husband had put money in the tip jar at the mandatory coat check and when we retrieved our coats, the jar had already been emptied (go figure!)

We did notice that in the dining room there were some tables being waited on, but all of those customers seemed to be speaking perfect Russian. Guess we didn't get the memo.

Recommends
3.0
over a year ago

It was All Right – Maybe I would of liked this place more if I had been there for the dancing. The drinks were good and the food wasn't so bad. I had chicken and mine was tasty, but some of the other dishes my group had were not so great. I would reccommend that a person tries it at least once.

Doesn't Recommend
1.0
over a year ago

Never again! – One of the most horrible restaurant experiences in my life - lackadaisical attitude of waiters: we had to catch a passing waiter to get menues, water, cutlery, etc. Very rude and obnoxious manager. Cold food. Dried-up cold cuts. Long wait. In short, a great place to get rid of nostalgia for Russian immigrants - with every minute passing and every morsel of food you appreciate the USA more and more. One of my companions appreciated the vodka bar - as I do not drink vodka, I have to rely on his opinion.

Doesn't Recommend
2.0
over a year ago

Top notch Vodka & funny bartender... but that's about it. – It's really too bad, because this place has all the potential in the word to do something with itself, but continues to disappoint. Here's some things that they could take to heart. FIRST, if the manager/owner is in a crabby mood... tell him to go home. I don't know what it is with this guy, but he either loves you or treats you like dirt (we're not coming back for that reason alone, but many exist). Second, the food is ok, some things are great, like the borscht, but others leave you scratching your head wondering "why did I order that" (crepes appetizer). Third, consistence... sometimes they are open on Saturdays... other times they are closed to the public. What is going on there???

All is not lost however, if you want a true Russian vodka, this is your place (you will pay the price - but it's worth it). The bartender, Johnny... very funny guy. Likes to go by Spicy, and will make you laugh...

Too bad his surroundings can't support more business.

Recommends
3.0
over a year ago

Fine Dining or just another cheap bar? – This joint looks really run down on the outside. Most of the parking lot is old cars with rust on them. My first impression inside was many people at the bar with casual dress. My party was reluctant to eat here because it seems like the type of place that we would "get the stare". It's really too bad. Some other restaurant got my $200 instead.

Doesn't Recommend
2.0
over a year ago

Last review? It was written by a St. Petersburg employee – The previous review for this restaurant was written by one of their employees. Look at all the other unhappy dining experiences. Spend your money at a restaurant that actually cares about their customers (especially when charging top dollar for entrees). You'll be glad you did.

Recommends
5.0
over a year ago

Imperial Russia in Robbinsdale! – I wasn't sure what to expect. I thought it was a working class bar with some food on the side. I couldn't have been more wrong. You can wear jeans but you will be more comfortable in something more upscale. This would be a great place to dress to the 9s on a budget. The restaurant has bright and well-maintained crystal chandeliers, flocked wallpaper and heavy velvet drapes that tell you that you have traveled to somewhere beyond your backyard.

Our service was a delight. Olga was from Southern Russia and quite helpful. If you want to practice your Russian, I expect you could do it with any of the wait staff but Olga took time to try to understand our broken phrases. This is not a restaurant where you want to get in and get out quickly. Plan to spend the evening if you have the time. Olga was willing to get our orders in when we asked her, but in retrospect I wish we had taken our time. An hour and a half is not enough.

To get the real Russian experience you need to start with some Vodka. We tried a sampler. It is interesting to taste the many flavors. The food was all very good and reasonably priced ($13-20). Lots of starters and salads in the $3-8 range, but for the big spenders, there are the high-end caviars that goes into the stratosphere.

We were there on a Saturday night. One end of the dining room is a stage and dance floor. A male/female singing duo did a pop-eclectic montage for the first half hour. At about 8:00 they turned on the disco ball and all of the selections were in Russian. This would be a great place to sit, drink your Vodka, and dance into a cold winter night.

My only complaint would be the coat-check. It was not until I came to claim my coats and tried to tip $1 for 2 coats that he produced a sign that said $1 a coat. It was the only part of the evening where I would say I encountered a less than pleasant attitude. Maybe it adds to the authentic Soviet experience?

Recommends
3.0
over a year ago

Never coming back! – Group experience: AWFUL customer service!!!

Management can truly ruin a party if they want to. Watch your bill, as they will jack up prices if they want to...doubling the on-line menu price. I asked for the official price list and got the following response from the manager" These are guidelines, the price is what i say it is"...

We decided to celebrate a birthday party there - what a mistake!!!

We spent well over $500 on a party for about 15+ people and at the end they did not allow us to bring in a birthday cake for the celebration telling us they will charge an enormous fee for doing so on our bill. We did put the cake away, but I guess it wasn?t enough. Following this incident, the waiters rapidly collected all of our dining utensils and refused to serve us coffee or any other food, as this "will teach us a lesson"....They also gathered up all our food and cleared the table?.We had to leave....

I am stunned. I cannot believe this way of conducting business could be possible in USA. This is a true Soviet mentality...The owners certainly do not believe in customer satisfaction. If they continue on this path, i don't think they will last in the restaurant business. ?. And I am hoping someone will open a nice Russian restaurant with truly world-class customer service that would put St. Petersburg out of business.

Private Dining: Food is not so good!

The menu at St. Petersburg?s is boring, fish and steak dishes are better at upscale restaurants downtown/uptown Minneapolis. Authentic dishes are cafeteria style. Honestly, Kramarchiuk's deli could serve you a better authentic meal. Not worth it.

Recommends
3.0
over a year ago

Spend your money elsewhere. – Food took over an hour after we had sat down. Elements of our meal were "forgotten" (the potatoes) and our entrees were cold. They don't even have most of the beers listed on their menu. My girlfriend's vodka martini was awful because the bartender had "run out" of one of the ingredients. No apologies from the staff/management.

I also tried booking a wedding event to no avail. It seems as though they are not interested in the business since they don't return calls, and when you do try to set something up-you never hear back from them.

I heard this used to be an extremely good restaurant, but I would recommend spending your money elsewhere.

View more Reviews for St Petersburg

Write a Review for

St Petersburg

73% 100 22 22 Votes

Best of Citysearch

Nominated for:
Martini (2008)
Martini (2007)
Get Directions
Your Friends

Sign in with Facebook Sign in with Facebook to see what your friends are up to!

Add Blog Post

Add your blog review of St Petersburg to Citysearch

Do you have a review of St Petersburg on your blog? If you include the Citysearch image link (shown below) in your post, we'll automatically link to your review from the business profile page. Here's how our Linkback system works:

  • 1. Include our image link in your St Petersburg review blog post.
  • 2. Citysearch will notice that you're linking to one of our pages. We'll scan your blog.
  • 3. We'll show a link to your blog post from the St Petersburg page on Citysearch.

The Linkback system is free and automatic. It's really that easy.

Read our FAQ for details.

Image Link

To link to our business profile page, copy the html below to your web page.

St Petersburg on Citysearch