Les Enfants Terribles

(212) 777-7518 | View Website

37 Canal St, New York, NY | Directions   10002

40.714790 -73.990928

Open Hours

Mon-Sat 9am-4pm, 5:30pm-12am

Sun 9am-4pm, 5:30pm-11pm

 
Restaurants  more

Neighborhoods: Chinatown, Downtown

less
 
 
Les Enfants Terribles
Menu
Quail A la Hicham, Camarao Grelhado, Lamb Bourek, Appetizer Tasting Plate for Two, Spicy Steak Tartare de Kaolack, Calamar Bios Bande, Salade des Enfants Terribles, Cemembeert Roti, Goat Song Refrain, Moules du Jour... more

Reviews for Les Enfants Terribles

Recommends
over a year ago

You either like the place or you don't. I had a great time but that now always the case.

Doesn't Recommend
1.0
over a year ago

No more fun – We recenlty went to Les Enfants for drinks. We used to go there a lot last year, best is Sudnay late afternoon, before the crowds come. This time the host asked us to move tables because he had some other guests with better revenue prospects. I can't believe this is happening to me, how can I be so bad in judging a place. Anyway, when I complained he almost started a fight with me and said if I don't like it I should leave. I don't understand where they find hosts like that, but please don't go there with kids, it will not be fun. Well, I guess the canal street hood will never take off if places like that still do business. Not recommended

Doesn't Recommend
1.0
over a year ago

Nasty treatment – This saturday night me and 4 friends went here for a celebration dinner. Just as a lot of the comments below indicated, the food was good (not great), but we were treated absolutely horribly. We made a reservation, ordered apps, bottles of wine, cocktails and entrees. Five minutes after our entrees were finished, the host (bald, french accent) came over and said we really had to leave the table, he had someone waiting for it. I've been asked to leave tables before, generally after either finishing dessert or declining it, and usually with a sort of sheepish, apologetic tone. Actually, more than once I've been encouraged to step to the bar where the host offered to buy a round of drinks. But I've never been:

A.) asked to leave before even seeing the dessert menu

B.) asked to leave 5 minutes after plates were cleared

C.) asked to leave w/o any forewarning: it's not like they said 'oh, and btw, we need this table at 10:00.' this came out of the blue.

Needless to say, we refused to leave, we ordered dessert, and we stayed another 30 minutes. Our waitress was good, so we didn't penalize her with a bad tip. But we will penalize the management by never going back! BTW, look closely at some of the good comments below--they sure look like shills from staff or friends, not like real citysearch comments.

Recommends
3.0
over a year ago

eh.... – fine. ok if in neighborhood

Recommends
5.0
over a year ago

Amazing food coupled with great environment! – Les Enfants was such a pleasant surprise. I didn't know what to expect, but from the moment we walked in I knew it would be a good night. It's a super small place, but you don't feel crowded. I was part of a party of 6, and we were sat in the back corner (just like is recommended). The people who work there seem to have so much fun. Everyone was dancing and singing. The music was sick. The food was just as great. Everyone had a hard time choosing an item off the menu. We each ordered apps and entrees and ended up sharing everything. The Les Enfant salad is light and refreshing. The zucchini and goat cheese app is super delicious. 2 of us had the filet mignon special which was super yummy. The lamb is really tender. And the fish is light but tasty. I always have space for dessert, but I was so full and content that we skipped. We decided to leave and get drinks somewhere, but realized that it was way more fun in there. So we walked back in and continued to drink and eat. I highly recommend it!

Doesn't Recommend
1.0
over a year ago

Good atmosphere, good food **TERRIBLY RUDE AUSSIE OWNER** – The terribly rude Assie owner of this restaurant ruined an otherwise pleasant experience. My girlfriends and I were looking for a relaxed restaurant to enjoy on a Friday night. We arrived rather early and decided to start with a drink at the bar. Then, we moved to a table and enjoyed appetizers and a nice dinner. We had just ordered another drink, when the owner came up to us and asked if we planned to order any more food or dessert and we said that we just wanted to enjoy one last drink after our meal. She informed us that she needed our table for some people who had a reservation. We looked around and noticed that it had become kind of busy and decided to leave as soon as we finished our drink. Fifteen minutes later, the owner came back to our table, stopped my friend mid-sentence as she was telling a story, and despite us not having yet finished our drinks, curtly informed us that it was time for us to go. She said, "I gave you a time warning earlier, you've had this table for two hours and I need this table NOW." My friends and I were literally astounded at the rude tone she had with us. We had spent nearly $200 at her restaurant, tipped our waiter well, etc., but were basically being kicked out before we had even finished our drinks! We hurriedly gulped down our drinks and started to gather our things. On our way out the door, my friend told the owner that she really could have been a little more polite with us and that there was no need to be rude. The owner's response was, "I am the owner and if you have any problems you can call tomorrow to talk to me. If you have issues, you need to go home and sort yourself out ." I'm afraid my friends and I aren't the ones who need "sorting out". Needles to say, we will never step foot in this restaurant again. I highly suggest spending your valuable time and money at an establishment that actually appreciates and values its customers.

Doesn't Recommend
1.0
over a year ago

Going downhill fast – I had been to this restaurant several times in the past, and while its flaky service used to be charming, they have taken bad service to a new low. I spent two hours there this evening, and did not eat a single thing. There was nothing wrong with the food we were served...because we weren't served any. After two hours, the rather obnoxious and self-righteous manager came over to let us know that there had been some sort of "mix-up" with our order, and it would be up in five minutes. Ten minutes later, he brought over an appetizer that I can best describe as resembling dog food with a side of salad. And, adding insult to injury, it wasn't even the appetizer we had ordered. When we finally decided that we had had enough of this game that he was playing, we left some cash for our estimate of the bill, and he kindly offered to call the police on us for walking out on a meal. I really used to love this place, and had been looking forward to this night...I WILL NEVER EAT THERE AGAIN.

Recommends
4.0
over a year ago

Good Atmosphere, Good Food, no service – The service was almost non-existant from the moment we got here last saturday night. We basically seated ourselves at the only availble table which was outside. Eventually our waitress comes. We had the Tassili Shepherd which was very good except that it was so small. Yes, i know it's an appetizer but it was literally 3 slivers of zucchini on a plate. We shared the Koroghofefemugu which was a nice pc of steak. I really liked the cassava fries but my friend and sister did not. My friend had the Black Beer(?) which was tasted great. The mood of the place is laidback but still very lively. If the service was a more attentive, this place would be a must. I do plan on coming back though.

Recommends
5.0
over a year ago

It's French, and it's fun! – I loved this place! The atmosphere was fun, not full of hipsters but not old, and the staff was great! It was my first time there- my sister was visiting and a friend of mine suggested we check it out. We fought our way to the bar and ordered cocktails from the frazzled, hung over bartender (he qualified himself as hung over, but was clearly frazzled) while we waited for our table. We had made 9:30 reservations, but if we had waited another 1/2 hour, we would not have needed them. Once seated, I got an amazing pureed carrot and ginger soup, my sister had their nice house salad. I ordered the potato crusted bass (tender, moist), while my sister had the mussels (nothing extrordinary, but good). And then a banana creme brulee for dessert. We had a nice bottle of rose wine with dinner. Our server (who may have been a host or a manager) was friendly and efficient. Depite not being able to find a host to tell that we were there for our reservation, the wait to get the bartender's attention for drinks, and the really odd part of the LES (this was the only thing open within sight), the crowd was friendly, the small staff was busy but not angry about it, I would absolutely go back, if only to try the steak, and check out their specials!

Recommends
3.0
over a year ago

Avoid dinner, better for brunch, or better yet, just for drinks. – This place has a great ambiance, but unfortunately, the dinner just isn't good, especially for the price they're charging. I used to enjoy brunch but have had too many bad experiences with the service being slow to practically non-existent. I now go only for the occasional cocktail which is still fun.

View more Reviews for Les Enfants Terribles

Write a Review for

Les Enfants Terribles

55% 100 33 31 Votes
Get Directions
Your Friends

Sign in with Facebook Sign in with Facebook to see what your friends are up to!

Add Blog Post

Add your blog review of Les Enfants Terribles to Citysearch

Do you have a review of Les Enfants Terribles on your blog? If you include the Citysearch image link (shown below) in your post, we'll automatically link to your review from the business profile page. Here's how our Linkback system works:

  • 1. Include our image link in your Les Enfants Terribles review blog post.
  • 2. Citysearch will notice that you're linking to one of our pages. We'll scan your blog.
  • 3. We'll show a link to your blog post from the Les Enfants Terribles page on Citysearch.

The Linkback system is free and automatic. It's really that easy.

Read our FAQ for details.

Image Link

To link to our business profile page, copy the html below to your web page.

Les Enfants Terribles on Citysearch