Spa Willamina

(503) 287-2787 | View Website

1928 Ne 40th Ave, Portland, OR | Directions   97212

45.536946 -122.621867

Open Hours

Sun 10-6 / M-F 10-9 / Sat 9-7

 
Spas, Skin Care, MasterCard  more

More Payment Methods: Discover, Visa, American Express

Massage Services: Massage

Neighborhoods: Hollywood, Central northeast Neighbors Incorporated

less
 
Owner verified business
 
 
 
Spa Willamina
Spa Willamina
Spa Willamina
Spa Willamina

Reviews for Spa Willamina

Recommends
5.0
over a year ago

Best Spa in Town – After a long week of everything going wrong, I crawled into Spa Willamina looking for a lil TLC. I received a swedish massage from Jen La Roche and within minutes I was feeling the stress slip off of me and my sanity return. Jen was attentive, compassionate and professional. It was easy to "relax"-- which most people know, when you're stressed is one of *THE* hardest things to actually do-- but she was able to lull me into a deep state of serenity. I would and will definitely be finding a way to make visits to her (and the spa in general) a regular part of my self-care. She reminded me of how important that is and over the next few days as I felt my body readjusting to being stress-free there was no need for further convincing!

Recommends
5.0
over a year ago

Fantastic Spa – Spa Willamina is a fantastic place to relax and rejuvenate. The facility is clean and inviting. The staff is friendly and knowledgeable. I feel completely relaxed and refreshed every time I leave the spa. The staff at Spa Willamina is really concerned in your health and well being!! This spa truly feels like a wonderful retreat that all will enjoy!

Recommends
5.0
over a year ago

Really Nice Facial Here – I received a really fantastic facial here, and it was such a calm and relaxing experience. The esthetician (Suzanne) really put a lot of care into her work and I could tell she was doing her best to make me feel comfortable and to deliver the facial professionally. And my skin did do much better after that. I haven't been back, but this is largely because I have moved since I purchased the facial and the location is a bit inconvenient for me now. But I would definitely recommend this spa to others.

Recommends
5.0
over a year ago

When in Portland, THIS IS IT! – From one who has had many and varied spa and massage therapy experiences-from snazzy resorts to little patchouli oil- bedspread draped hippie dens and much more in between- let's just say, by now I know what I want in a spa experience. Yes, we all want and should expect a clean, safe, esthetically pleasing, peaceful, serene and professional setting in which we can rejuvenate and relax, and yes, there are some nice places out there. I've had mediocre massages and facials in some very spendy places, where I felt more like just one of the bodies being herded through the chute. And kickass great massages in rather humble surroundings. Aside from the trappings, the setting, the products, the ambiance, what's so important is this: THAT THE PEOPLE CARE DEEPLY ABOUT WHAT THEY DO. This is ultimately the center from which all the rest ripples out. The beauty within manifests outward and is shared. This is the experience that I want, and Willow and Spa Willamina delivers every time.

My first visit 2 yrs ago for an exfoliating scrub, massage and facial left me so blissed out I forgot to put my shoes on when leaving. The massage was very good, the riverstone shower exhilarating and the facial divine. As soon as someone touches me, I can tell if they know what they're doing, and believe me, Willow does.

This weekend, my daughter and I treated ourselves again, and it's like, why have we waited so long! The new location is welcoming and warm, a lovingly restored craftsman house subtly alive and breathing, polished wood and charming details everywhere. The reception friendly, timely, but never rushed.

The facial, OMG! Even better than I remembered, my thirsty skin so grateful for such amazing treatment with the finest products, amazing in their purity, crafted by Willow from local sources, the virtues of each one explained to me. The lemony scalp treatment, the mint foot soak and subsequent arm, hand and foot massage just magnificent, so expertly executed with care, from one who just knows how to find and soothe every tired and achy and overworked spot.

As I write about this delightful experience, it just makes me want to go again soon! That's why I am so glad that I decided to go for the series package for my daughter and I to share, an amazing deal, Check It Out!

SPA WILLAMINA, YOU ROCK!

Doesn't Recommend
1.0
over a year ago

DO NOT MAKE ANY HUMAN ERROR!! – After looking forward to my massage appointment for weeks, I was deeply disappointed by the experience I had today. I made an unfortunate human error by not setting my clock forward for the spring time change. Their cancellation policy posted on line advises that they will charge a fee if I am unable to reschedule my appointment, so I was hoping to reschedule.

I expected that Willow, the name sake of this salon, would be interested in and capable of providing decent customer service. Unfortunately, I was wrong. I apologized and explained my honest mistake and hope that we would be able to reschedule or work something out.

Instead, Willow refused to reschedule me and demanded that I pay FULL PRICE for services that were not rendered. I assured her that I hoped to work out a reasonable compromise. I pointed out that I had an appointment scheduled with a friend the following weekend, and had every intent of establishing and maintaining a decent relationship there.

Willow stated that a mistake had been made when they scheduled my appointment without my credit card information and that if she had it, she would already have charged me. I attempted to suggest that we were both reasonable people who could certainly work out this situation. It did not seem to make sense to make me pay full price for a massage that I didn’t receive. She stated, “I see” and the phone line disconnected.

I called back with the understanding that I was still engaged in an active conversation and surely the line had dropped in error. When I called back, I was advised that Willow had gone into her next session and was not available to speak with me. This seemed incredibly unprofessional and disappointing. I left a message that surely our conversation was cut short by mistake and I looked forward to working something out. I also mentioned that I planned to write a review of this experience and hoped for the best.

She called back moments later stating that I could not write a “bad” review as I had not been in the salon to review it. She advised that I was “threatening” her. I clarified that this was not at all the case. I advised that I write reviews and planned write one about this experience which still had the potential to be worked out in a reasonable manner.

Willow seemed to hear the most negative version of anything I stated and seemed unwilling to hear me out. She began a rant that I was not able to interrupt. I suggested that hanging up on customers and then avoiding their calls may not actually be a good policy. She advised, “The customer is NOT always right” and stated that she was removing the appointment I had scheduled with my friend on the following weekend. She continued her rant about me somehow “ruining two people’s lives” without realizing that her response and actions were far more dramatic than was necessary in this particular situation. She reiterated her belief that I was “threatening” her. I attempted to clarify that no threat had been made and that perhaps she would want to take a deep breath and try to look at this situation with more clarity and calm. Perhaps she could have charged a rescheduling fee. There were many more reasonable options available to her, but she was not willing to listen or consider problem solving as an option.

This may well have been one of the best spas in Portland, but the customer service displayed by the owner certainly diminishes that possibility not just for me, but for my friend who wasn’t even involved in this unfortunate incident. The owner sets a tone of rigidity and negativity that would certainly be felt by the staff an unfortunate customers.To anyone looking for a good spa, I suggest any of the professional, reasonable and respectable spas throughout this town - Spa Willamina is not one of them. There are so many kind, courteous and reasonable places for massages and personal care, why waste your time here?

over a year ago

I am always happy to work with clients that are positive and kind. I am not interested in working with someone who threatens me with writing a bad review because I won't let them no show and not pay for 2 services they have booked, leaving the spa no time to rebook the service. I am also not interested in being threatened that your husband is a lawyer, how does that affect us.. I have a reputation for being accomodating for those that really deserve it and are truly kind and open. Peace

Doesn't Recommend
2.0
over a year ago

2nd experience is not as great as the first time around – My mom and I visited Spa Willamina earlier this year and fell in love with it. The ambiance was wonderful, and the services were amazing. We both received a massage from Debbie and thought it was the best massage we ever had. So we were excited to visit the new spa location yesterday, however a bit disappointed when told that all the staff is new now and we'd have to try other therapists. We did, and it was a disappointment. The new spa is definitely beautiful and serene; that hasn't changed. The therapists were very friendly, however both me and my mom felt the massage was not even close to what we experienced before. There was no 'renewed and weight lifted off the shoulders' feeling like the first time, but instead still tired/stiff muscles and very oily body/hair. It is too bad as we were really hoping to become regulars at this spa. :-(

over a year ago

We are sorry to hear that your experience wasn't what you were looking for. We have moved and added several new therapists. Not all the therapists are new. All of which are seasoned therapists. We don't have Debbie with us and have given you her contact information. If you read the review from "Not so Great" it mentions a terrrible experience from the same therapist you thought was great. Isn't it funny how one person likes it one way and another likes it completely different. Good luck

Recommends
5.0
over a year ago

Best spa in town! – Willow Light is my esthetician at Spa Willamina. She always makes me feel like I am here for a new, exciting facial every time I arrive. I have been going to see her now for 5 years! I love this place! I am always treated as though I am a new client. My experience with everyone here has always been warm and friendly. I can't wait for the new spa to open and really see what all these girls' full potential is in a bigger space. Go Willamina!

Recommends
4.0
over a year ago

Much Better! – I’m happy to amend my previous feedback based on the delightful experience I had at Spa Willamina this week. The new location is beautiful and I appreciate the fact that slippers are now offered. The highlight was the massage I received from Lise……one of the best massages I’ve ever had! Lise was very friendly and knowledgeable. This is the experience I had expected during my first visit. Willow reached out to me and asked that I visit again. I’m glad I took her up on her offer. I even purchased a massage package! Please see my comment below for my new pros/cons. The system wouldn't allow me to update my previous comments.

Previous feedback:

I arrived at Spa Willamina and immediately noticed the “please remove shoes” sign. I assumed I would be given a pair of slippers, but they were not provided. The main part of the spa was clean and smelled like a spa. The receptionist was very friendly, but the environment was very crowded and the constant opening and closing of the upstairs door wasn’t relaxing. Due to the tight quarters, the clients are given a “debrief” in front of all those waiting for their appointments. I heard one masseuse come very close to chastising someone when she thought she might drink caffeinated tea. I then found out she was going to be my masseuse.

At the beginning of the appointment she asked what pressure I liked and wanted to know what I enjoyed from past massages. I told her medium pressure and she said she sometimes has a heavy hand and should let her know if the pressure was uncomfortable at any time. I also told her I would like her to concentrate on back, shoulders, feet and hands. She just looked and me and said something about spraying peppermint on my feet and probably not having a lot of time to work in that area. The exfoliation treatment was nothing great. The scalp treatment was nice and most of the massage was good, until she questioned me when I told her she was pressing too hard. She had my arm behind my head and was pressing really hard on the inside of it. When I told her it was too hard, she said, “oh, can’t you move your arm in that direction?” I told her that I most definitely could move my arm in that direction, it was the fact that she was pressing so hard that hurt. I wasn’t there for a session with my chiropractor, I simply wanted a relaxing massage. Her judgmental approach didn’t leave me feeling relaxed and comfortable….I couldn’t wait for the appointment to end. I decided not to attend my debrief session because I didn’t want to hear her opinion on my occasional caffeine consumption! I won’t go back.

over a year ago

I am truly sorry for your disappointing experience at the spa. I have had a sit down with your therapist who is new; to make it perfectly clear how we do things at Spa Willamina, always giving the best customer service and listening to the needs of each person. The other reviews are truly who we are. I was able to speak with you and give you a complimentary appointment. Thank you for bringing this issue to our attention so we may correct it.

Recommends
5.0
over a year ago

Cozy and refreshing experience – Best massage I've ever had, not rough like some can be. I came out feeling completely relaxed and refreshed. The environment is soothing and will transcend you in to some other not so chaotic world. I found it extremely quaint and cozy here and appreciate the time they took to get to know me before hand. Thanks for giving a vacation for the day!

Recommends
5.0
over a year ago

The Best Spa Experience I Have Had! – The most amazing massage and spa experience I have ever had. They really take YOU into account... getting to know you through a written Q&A. The environment and music took me away to another place. Even enjoyed the pebble floor shower. Small, intimate, and worth every penny and then some!

View more Reviews for Spa Willamina

Write a Review for

Spa Willamina

97% 100 134 134 Votes

Best of Citysearch

Nominated for:
Day Spa (2013)
Foot Massage (2013)
Mani-Pedi (2013)
Massage (2013)
Day Spa (2007)
Facial (2007)
Hair Removal (2007)
Tanning Salon & Spray Tan (2007)
Facial (2006)
Hair Removal (2006)
Massage (2006)
Spa (2006)
Tanning Salon & Spray Tan (2006)
Spa (2005)
Get Directions
Your Friends

Sign in with Facebook Sign in with Facebook to see what your friends are up to!

Add Blog Post

Add your blog review of Spa Willamina to Citysearch

Do you have a review of Spa Willamina on your blog? If you include the Citysearch image link (shown below) in your post, we'll automatically link to your review from the business profile page. Here's how our Linkback system works:

  • 1. Include our image link in your Spa Willamina review blog post.
  • 2. Citysearch will notice that you're linking to one of our pages. We'll scan your blog.
  • 3. We'll show a link to your blog post from the Spa Willamina page on Citysearch.

The Linkback system is free and automatic. It's really that easy.

Read our FAQ for details.

Image Link

To link to our business profile page, copy the html below to your web page.

Spa Willamina on Citysearch