al Vento

(612) 724-3009 | View Website

5001 34th Ave S, Minneapolis, MN | Directions   55417

44.912408 -93.222737

Open Hours

Mon-Thu 4:30pm-10pm

Fri-Sat 4:30pm-11pm

Sun 10am-2pm, 4:30pm-10pm

 
Restaurants  more

Neighborhoods: Nokomis, Keewaydin

less
 
 
Menu
Sicilian Stuffed Mushrooms, Marinated Italian Olives, Steamed Mussels, Tomato Bread Soup, Chefs Selection Of Cheeses And Accompaniments, Caesar, Roasted Beets, Mixed Greens, Grilled Chicken Breast, Dijon Pork Tenderloin... more

Reviews for al Vento

Recommends
5.0
over a year ago

This restaurant is wonderful, delicious food, excellent service, a great date night - you can't go wrong here.

Recommends
4.0
over a year ago

love the food, a little pricy – You know the restaurants loved ones will not stop talking about, and you are forbidden from going to them without them? This is my family's place.

They found if off of a groupon (I think?) I finally snagged an invite to join them and absolutely have loved my loyal stand by choices and have always at least liked the dishes I tried being adventurous (I'm not).

Love their caesar salad, their butternut squash ravioli (seasonal?) is amazing and I appreciate they let you mix and match sides on their entrees.

While it is on the expensive side, I can tell I'm getting well prepared food .

Con: not a fan of their expresso ice cream, when crowded you can sometimes have to sit close next to some very

annoying patrons

Recommends
3.0
over a year ago

They are okay – I came I saw I liked it .... I came here with Mike of course, we have been having disagreements so we wanted to get out of the house. The staff were okay and the food was alrright we could have went else where but it was fun.

Doesn't Recommend
1.0
over a year ago

Don't walk away from Al Vento...RUN! – Bad food, bad service, arrogant attitude...an excellent recipe for bankruptcy. We were regulars at their sister restaurant (Rinata), but we're now done with both because of our horrible experience at Al Vento. After the banktrupcy, I wish the staff the best of luck finding a new line of work in this economy.

over a year ago

I'm so sorry about the experience that you had. We would love to have you back. I'm glad that you came in and wish you would give us another chance!

Recommends
4.0
over a year ago

Enjoyable Food and Atmosphere – We made reservations for 7:15 on a recent Saturday. We showed up early and they were able to seat us immediately. We asked to sit out on the patio where we passed on the first table offered and pointed to a different table for two that we like more. Seemed like the hostess was more interested in balancing the waiter load but did seat us at the table we picked. We enjoyed the atmosphere on the patio, very nice and relaxed. Waiter was busy and did not seem to have time to be warm. Very thorough but it was clear he was just there to serve us and move us along. Waiter did give us input on the bruschetta and checked with the chef if he would add vegetables to the Cannelloni per my wife’s request. I had the Hanger Steak and my wife, the Cannelloni with vegetables for an additional fee. Steak was good but not outstanding. I would not order it again. Cannelloni was outstanding although it did not have a lot of vegetables. I would go here again.

Doesn't Recommend
1.0
over a year ago

Rude, rude, rude... – I called the restaurant with a couple quick questions regarding a Living Social coupon that I purchased/was intending to use and received some of the worst customer service EVER from the employee who answered the phone - Straight-up rude biznatch for absolutely no good reason. I have never been to Al Vento and that less than 60 second phone conversation has confirmed that I probably never will.... A shame because I was very much looking forward to trying a new place in my neighborhood. Good luck running a successful small business with employees like that.

I'd rather eat the $15 bucks I spent on the coupon than patron Al Vento. I'll stick with Broder's....

Doesn't Recommend
1.0
over a year ago

Worst Brunch – We heard good reviews about this place from friends, and were quite excited to eat there for Sunday brunch.

As soon as we arrived, there was a slight line to be seated, which was no big deal, except that the hostesses (who was also a waitress) did not seat in order of those who were waiting (people who came after us were seated first). Also noteworthy, was the other staffs attentiveness to the waiting line, nobody welcome us or told us somebody would be there to help us.

So we finally get seated (and by seated, I mean pointed in the direction of the table we were to sit), we find only one set of silverware and a bunch of loud over sized patrons basically on top of us. Ten minutes later, we get our drink order and are told simply to begin and the waitress walked away.

The food was sub-par, everything was cold and soggy, and there were large wait times to refill their "buffet' style Sunday brunch. The fish available was not fresh, the eggs benedict was sitting in warming pan far to long (soggy), and the only potatoes left were drenched in oil.

We were only offered refills to our drinks as we were trying to get our bill (which took literally 15 minutes to get). Our waitress offered no type of thanks or pleasantries as we left.

This is the type of service and horrid food you would expect at an Old Country Buffet (but even they are friendlier).

Stay away from this junk hole.

Doesn't Recommend
2.0
over a year ago

Server issue – was there on sunday for brunch good times but then it was time to leave. Wow 20 min yes 20 min before we could find our waitress. There were 3 tables that were going to walk out becuase they could not find server, Bad day or something?

Recommends
5.0
over a year ago

Great Spot! – al Vento is one of my favorite local restuarants. The mother sauce is to die for, the meatballs delicious, and the eggplant parmesean pizza outstanding. The pastas are fresh and perfectly prepared. The patio is lovely and often crowded on a nice summer evening. On one occasion, we were there with a small child and the host was more than happy to accommodate, even offering to make a special mac and cheese or cheese pizza for her. The servers can be a bit spotty, but the food more than makes up for it.

Recommends
5.0
over a year ago

Consistently fantastic – Been here around 6 times with my wife, family, friends..great food, good atmosphere and always leave satisfied. Pasta dishes are worth the trip alone! Keep up the good work

View more Reviews for al Vento

Write a Review for

al Vento

76% 100 54 45 Votes

Best of Citysearch

Nominated for:
Italian Food (2010)
Pizza (2008)
Italian Food (2006)
Get Directions
Your Friends

Sign in with Facebook Sign in with Facebook to see what your friends are up to!

Add Blog Post

Add your blog review of al Vento to Citysearch

Do you have a review of al Vento on your blog? If you include the Citysearch image link (shown below) in your post, we'll automatically link to your review from the business profile page. Here's how our Linkback system works:

  • 1. Include our image link in your al Vento review blog post.
  • 2. Citysearch will notice that you're linking to one of our pages. We'll scan your blog.
  • 3. We'll show a link to your blog post from the al Vento page on Citysearch.

The Linkback system is free and automatic. It's really that easy.

Read our FAQ for details.

Image Link

To link to our business profile page, copy the html below to your web page.

al Vento on Citysearch