Tavern in the Square

(469) 330-9700

730 Massachusetts Ave, Cambridge, MA | Directions   02139

42.365998 -71.105018

Open Hours

Sun 11:30am-11pm; Mon 11:30am-11pm; Tue 11:30am-11pm; Wed 11:30am-11pm; Thu 11:30am-11pm; Fri 11:30am-11pm; Sat 11:30am-11pm

 
Restaurants, Bars & Pubs, New American  more

More Cuisine: Traditional American

Price: $$

Tags: Bar Scene, Brunch, Dine At The Bar, Group Dining, Late Night Dining, Live Music, Romantic Dining

Payment Methods: American Express, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Neighborhoods: Mid-Cambridge

less
 
 
Menu
Draught, Bottle, Allagash White Ale, Brooklyn Lager, Lagunitas Pils, Dogfish Head 60 Minute IPA, Rogue Dead Guy Ale, Chimay Grand Reserve, Franziskaner Hefe-Weisse, Abita Purple Haze... more

Reviews for Tavern in the Square

Recommends
5.0
over a year ago

Best place to watch a game in Central Square – I moved to Cambridge about a year ago and Tavern in the Square has become my favorite go-to spot for a drink after work and for watching a game. Any game. They have about 30 tvs and are really accommodating about putting on whatever college football game you want to watch on Saturdays. I like going here for games because they offer more than your standard sports-bar fare and, actually, as of my last trip this weekend, have a brand new menu. My old standbys are the stuffed burgers (with cheese and other yummy toppings cooked inside the burger--awesome), which you can get cooked any way you want (sometimes an issue at some restaurants). This weekend I tried the white truffle mac and cheese which was all cheesy goodness and I will definitely order again. It was a TON of food and I ended up taking over 1/2 of it home. The beer selection is really decent (and, along with the new menu, they are now offering Franziskaner---my favorite) and the service has always been on point. Oh and one more thing--definitely go for the Sunday brunch (clearly you can tell where I spend most of my weekends)--the buffet has everything you could possibly want!

Recommends
5.0
over a year ago

Great Atmosphere for Sports! – This is a great place on game days since they have NFL Sunday Ticket. I went in for the brunch buffet and they were very accommodating with seating me near the TV with my game. The atmosphere is fun cause the fans really get into the games. Their Sunday brunch has evvverything; I always make my own omelette and it never fails to impress- mushrooms, swiss, sauteed onions, spinach, peppers. Another favorite is the stuffed burger, bacon and blue cheese is always a good choice. Service is great, very friendly and efficient. I highly recommend going here for a laid-back afternoon or a casual evening.

Recommends
5.0
over a year ago

I've been living in Cambridge for about a year now, and looking for a good place to watch the Presidential debates, my girlfriend and I literally stumbled across the Tavern in the Square (30 steps from the Central Square Red Line). The place is usually a sports bar, but being in Cambridge, they devoted one of their two bars to the debates, with three plasma TVs which were easily watchable from any of a half-dozen tables. The waitress came quickly and was very friendly and helpful, suggesting the seared ahi tuna salad for my girlfriend (which we loved). I had a perfectly cooked stuffed bacon and blue-cheese burger, that I wish my stomach was bigger so I could eat it again. Great micro-brew selection (Allagash White Ale, one of my favorites), great cocktails (she had something called a Brazillian Rain Forest, which I have no idea what's in it but it was amazing), friendly and knowledgeable staff... I'll be coming back here for all my sports games. Great all-around bar/restaurant.

Doesn't Recommend
1.0
over a year ago

Cleanliness is not their strong suit – I was looking forward to dining here. It looked like a nice place from the outside. It went downhill in a big way!

Fast forward to dinner being served. We saw a cokroach (you can't use the real word here for some reason) on the wall. We didn't want to make a huge deal out of it in front of the rest of the restaurant. We called over the manager and she tried to smooth us over with drinks or moving the table. We told her we just wanted to leave at that point. Her compromise was to not charge us for the food. My friend and I just wanted to get out of there at this point and so did our wives.

I wish that was where it ended. Later that night one of us got violently ill from food poising (they had the tuna salad).

STAY CLEAR!

Doesn't Recommend
1.0
over a year ago

awful awful awful – My boyfriend and I went to the Tavern tonight and it was so bad that we felt the need to write this immediately upon returning home. We went at about 8:30 on Friday night, the place was packed and we thought we were in for some good food. The server came over and was very nice and attentive. The problem came with the food. We ordered philly cheese rolls, which by their description sounded amazing. The order came and it was half burned. We stayed positive and continued watching the sox game until the dinners came. My boyfriend ordered the fish and chips and it was really dry,overcooked and had no flavor. I ordered their "famous stuffed burger" which I was expecting to be worthy of the term "famous". It was smaller than a hockey puck and also burned. We realize this is not a four star restaurant but we ordered the basics, which shouldn't be hard to do. We will never go back to this place again, and you shouldn't waste your time even trying it.

Doesn't Recommend
1.0
over a year ago

Extremely Rude and innapropriate service – I'll probably never go back to this Central Square bar again, even though I used to go often.

I went recently on a Sat. night with a bunch of people - and spent lots of money on food and drinks. Last call was announced late - at around 1:55 AM. After we all ordered our last drinks, a dark haired muscular guy ( a bouncer I assume) came in and said "Get out." (Not giving us any time to drink what we purchased.)

When someone responded politely that he thought he could finish his beer first, this bouncer grabbed his arms, wouldn't let go - and physically pushed him out of the bar and into the street shouting "get the F out."

He said the same to another friend who asked if he could finish a drink. He also said the same, and inappropriately touched one of our female friends.

These actions were completely unprovoked. I know most of the time, these arguments have two sides of the story. In this case - it was totally one-sided. Not only that, but physically grabbing someone like that, as well as not giving enough time to drink what they purchased is against Cambridge Laws. They should've called Last Call at 1:30 - but they didn't. And that isn't the consumer's fault.

This is not the first time I have had poor service at this restaurant. I would recommend Management have conversations with both waiters and bartenders and re-train them in service... or this bar won't last long.

Doesn't Recommend
1.0
over a year ago

Lost in the crowd – I got seated and waited twenty minutes for a server to come. No drink order, no dinner order... it's clear that they're certainly not hurting for business, and certainly had no interest in mine.

Maybe they were distracted because it was because it was quiz night, and somebody was shouting through a PA that was waaaay too loud. I walked out.

Doesn't Recommend
1.0
over a year ago

Lousy food, a smug manager.............and a rodent – Went there for the first and last time with an out of town guest. Music was insipid and loud, so we asked for a quiet table, were shown to one at the back of the restaurant, and still had to yell at each other. The waitress was nice and attentive, but the spinach/artichoke dip consisted of a stringy garlicky glop that reminded me of half-dried elmer's glue with lumps in it. The sangrias were mediocre at best. Our main course had just arrived, an mediocre pastiche of lumps of grilled chicken on a bed of arugula and canned fruit, when my friend spotted a rodent with a long skinny tail at our feet. The rodent zig-zagged around underneath our table, and then made its way through the shadows towards the table where other diners were. We put down our forks, and glumly looked at our plates.

Our waitress soon came, and asked what was wrong. She politely apologized when we told her the reason for our sudden loss of appetite, but she did not seem surprised, and indeed indicated that previous incidents like this had taken place. She told us she would get the manager to handle the situation.

The manager was completely different from the waitress... smug, annoying and totally unapologetic. He explained to us that this was, after all, Central Square, and that such animals were a part of daily life in Cambrige. Really? I didn't know that, after nearly 2 decades of living in Cambridge. I mean, I'd never enountered any such an animal at my feet before in any restaurant during all those years!

The manager then grandly proclaimed that our drinks would be on the house, and assured us that "we run a clean establishment here." How very reassuring.

The waitress, when she collected our money for our uneaten meal, was once more apologetic, and asked if the manager's settlement were satisfactory. I politely shook my head, we paid for the food and left. The appropriate department at city hall will be notified tomorrow morning.

Doesn't Recommend
1.0
over a year ago

The Tavern is 0-3 with me! – I must be a masochist. That is the only reason I can explain going back to the Tavern after two terrible experiences with them. The Tavern continued its streak with a third flop - no more!

The lowlights of the first two experiences are typical service failures and poorly handled food which I regret not reporting to the Dept of Health. Anyway, a few of my friends wanted to play trivia but our usual haunts had canceled for the Fourth. I had phoned the Tavern to see if their Tuesday night trivia was still on. I asked an uncertain hostess, Lily, to check with a manager when I called. She put me on hold and came back with an affirmative. Fast forward a day to Tuesday, eight of us got there an hour early to ensure a table and to order dinner and drinks. Luckily, my meal seemed safe and it was only my beer that had a foreign object (a fly) in it this time. A hour later, there's no trivia. I asked a manager about it and she said trivia had been canceled a week ago. When I told her I had called and was given wrong information, she apologized in a simperingly, insincere way and added "there's nothing I can do." Here's a few suggestions: keep your staff informed, update your website, and/or give us a discount on the sub-par meal we just choked down. To add insult to injury, when we asked for our check, our waitress disappeared for nearly a half hour. When she finally returned, she asked if we wanted our check! Another fifteen minutes to get our check and another ten minutes waiting for our waitress to come back before we tried to pay at the bar. They held our bill at the bar until our waitress came back. With so many establishments in Central Square with better food and service, there's no reason to go to the Tavern.

Doesn't Recommend
1.0
over a year ago

After going there for years, I'm no longer returning. – I have just returned to work after eating lunch at The Tavern. This was pretty much the worst service I"ve ever experienced. I sat in the side of The Tavern which is mostly empty during lunch hours (there isn't anyone working at the bar in that section of the restaurant) First off, it took 10 minutes for me to be seen by the Hostess, not a Waitress. The only thing the Waitress did was bring me my food, after I was waiting 40 minutes for a burger. A burger that was topped with ice-cold lettuce and tomato (It's temperature was as if it had just been taken out of the fridge.) My bun was still frozen in parts. Apparently, all though my onion rings were cold, the plate hadn't sat long enough under the heat lamps to finish defrosting the bun.



It was simply the worst service I've had at The Tavern. The other table in the same section that I was in were also complaining and saying that they weren't going to return there again. I don't know if they filled out a suggestion/comment card or not though. I had, and I'm sending this e-mail just in case my card doesn't make it into the managers hand.



The waitress' name on the receipt began with an A. Allison maybe? I don't recall.



Either way, I've come to The Tavern about once a month for lunch since back when it was called Good Times. The service has become steadily more aweful over time and I don't intend to come back any longer.

View more Reviews for Tavern in the Square

Write a Review for

Tavern in the Square

56% 100 19 18 Votes
Get Directions
Your Friends

Sign in with Facebook Sign in with Facebook to see what your friends are up to!

Add Blog Post

Add your blog review of Tavern in the Square to Citysearch

Do you have a review of Tavern in the Square on your blog? If you include the Citysearch image link (shown below) in your post, we'll automatically link to your review from the business profile page. Here's how our Linkback system works:

  • 1. Include our image link in your Tavern in the Square review blog post.
  • 2. Citysearch will notice that you're linking to one of our pages. We'll scan your blog.
  • 3. We'll show a link to your blog post from the Tavern in the Square page on Citysearch.

The Linkback system is free and automatic. It's really that easy.

Read our FAQ for details.

Image Link

To link to our business profile page, copy the html below to your web page.

Tavern in the Square on Citysearch