Union Smith Cafe (Reported Closed)

(718) 643-3293

305 Smith St., Brooklyn, NY | Directions   11231

40.681588 -73.993949

Open Hours

Daily, 10am-10pm

 
Restaurants, Bars & Pubs, Traditional American  more

Tags: Brunch, Family-Friendly Dining, Group Dining, Outdoor Dining

Payment Methods: American Express, MasterCard, Visa

Neighborhoods: Carroll Gardens

less
 
 
Union Smith Cafe

Reviews for Union Smith Cafe

Doesn't Recommend
1.0
over a year ago

Avoid like the Plague – I used to work here, and to tell you the truth..i would never take my family here.

First..the food is so boring and overpriced. The Service is slow and incompetent.

(My former Co-workers). The prep kitchen area is filthy. We pretty much failed

every health inspection we've ever had, somehow paying off or lying enough to not

get shut down every time. To top it off, the owners are shady and sometimes skim tips

from the waitstaff.

Do yourself a favor, don't come here... find yourself a nice French Bistro on Smith and

eat in the comfort knowing your food probably wasn't prepared a dank kitchen

basement.

Recommends
5.0
over a year ago

Union Smith Cafe more Like Awesome Smith Cafe! – Wackadoo! This place is the cats meow! When I eat here I like to close my eyes and think about the tasty tasty products that I am chewing. The burgers are so tasty I craved one when I was on vacation in North Dakota (the burger capital of the world). AND BRUNCH,BRUNCH BRUNCH BRUNCH BRUNCH BRUNCH BRUNCH BRUNCH BRUNCH BRUNCH BRUNCH BRUNCH BRUNCH.

Its awesome I do dances on Sunday morn's when it's brunch time! Oh la ta di da! Oh la ti das! Come to Simths if you know how to!

Recommends
5.0
over a year ago

Great little spot with amazing garden! – The brunch at Union smith cafe. is perfect. I was craving eggs and bacon and found the greatest place for that. Especially on a great spring sunday! The service was amazing and the food was excellent I def. recommend this place for either dinner or brunch. The mimosa was made perfectly. We were served in a good amount of time not too quick and not too slow. It is def. worth going to brooklyn for.

Doesn't Recommend
1.0
over a year ago

I'll never go back. – Last Sunday I?a vegetarian of 12 years?brunched with two meat-eating friends. When I ordered my Asparagus and Poached Eggs, I asked for the dish?s bacon to be served on the side, on a separate plate for my friends. After a long wait?typical and not unacceptable on a Sunday?my food was brought with bacon mixed in and an additional side of bacon. We explained the mistake to the supporting waiter. Two minutes later, this selfsame dish was brought back alongside a smaller plate of bacon smeared with bits of egg and potato. It was clear that one of the waitstaff had simply reached his fingers into my breakfast and taken out the visible bits of bacon. Because I was by this time starving, I considered eating the dish as it was. But upon closer inspection, I realized that there were several large pieces of bacon still lurking beneath the eggs. I called the waiter and sent back the food?something I haven?t done in years?asking explicitly to have the food remade. After five minutes passed, a seemingly new (and tepid) plate was brought out. A cursory look over its contents, however, revealed it was the same plate of food with the same exact large bits of bacon beneath the eggs. The five-minute wait had been a bit of theater on the cafe?s part and tantamount to a lie. Furious, I considered leaving, but my friends were but halfway through their brunch. Thus, again I asked for the food to be remade. After another 10 or 12 minutes, the food came out, hot, fresh, and delicious. It had been over an hour between the time I ordered the food and when I tasted the first bite. My friends were sure my brunch would be comped. When the bill came, not only were the Asparagus and Poached Eggs not comped (the whole affair merely brushed over with a ?Sorry?), but we were also charged for the original erroneous side of bacon. We had them take the latter off the bill, and left very little for a gratuity. Though the food is quite good, neither I nor anyone I know personally will ever return.

Recommends
3.0
over a year ago

wonderful food, the most terrible service – Ive eaten here twice now. I always order the french onion soup- it is the best I have ever had anywhere. Its a huge bowl that could actually be your meal, and I still manage to eat it all and have a few bites of whatever else Im eating. I always remember my soup as being the best thing, but every entree I have eaten has been a bore. Its never something to brag home about, or you would say to a friend what a great meal you had. Both times I felt like I could cook it at home, and that made me feel ripped off seeing that each entree was at least 18 bucks. On both outings to the Smith St Cafe, our service has been ridiculous. They are snobby and inconsiderate. We waited with an empty table- after we ate our meal- for over 45 mins to get the check! Eventually we just stopped another waitress to get the check. The whole time our original server was at the bar talking with the tender- or outside smoking ciggarette after ciggarette. When we waved him down- he just looked the other way. I couldnt believe how rude he was. The second time we came it was obvious our waitress was completely overwhelmed with the amount of tables she had on her hands. But at the same time it was obvious that most of the other servers were sitting around talking while our waitress was having a hard time keeping up. After I asked her what the deal was, she said that they were understaffed so she was taking care of the outside tables too. I felt bad for her because she obviously was a good waitress trying her best to keep up- but why were all the other servers just goofing off with eachother and not lending her a hand? Seems like they are inconsiderate to the costumers and each other.

Recommends
4.0
over a year ago

pomegranate mojitos rock – My girlfriends and I went out for a few drinks one Monday night and it was truly wonderful. We had awesome Pomegranate mojitos and our waitress was cute and sweet. She never failed to notice when we needed another round. However, after she left for the evening I heard the table next to us complain about a "vacant waitress" . What do people expect, a poor college kid do do a song and dance number? Yuppie, middle aged clientele are a serious drawback, but food is delicious and drinks are fabulous.

Recommends
4.0
over a year ago

Great spot for brunch – We love going here for brunch. I've had a different meal everytime we've gone and I have not been disappointed once. The only thing I have an issue with is the long wait for a table, but that just means that they're doing a lot of business. Definitely have a couple of bloody marys!

Doesn't Recommend
2.0
over a year ago

food was great, but atmosphere was horrible. – the food was great, but while reading the other reviews and hearing that the waitstaff was horrible I have to agree. While we were there, we could tell that our waitress was working very hard but everytime she was doing something the manager or cook would come out and make her do something else. I truely felt bad for all of the waitstaff there, being a former waitress myself. Working under such horrible management must make it even harder to wait.

my brioche french toast was amazing, but everything else was not.

Recommends
5.0
over a year ago

Great food, OK service – The food here is absolutely DELICIOUS. And reasonably priced. And I've eatern A LOT of higher priced Manhattan restaurants, and I have to say the food here is better than half of those. The only thing I hated was the apple "soup" dessert. It was disgusting. It was literally apples in water. And our waiter was inattentive, forgot our bread, unfriendly, and worst of all when I said the dessert wasn't good he looked confused and then said OK. That's it. He never apologized or took it off the bill, even though I had only 2 bites. I always tip 20% or more, and I only gave him 10%. The french hostess and the bartender were awesome, but that waiter was horrendous.

Recommends
5.0
over a year ago

Everything is great – This place is a true gem. I've been with friends from out of town numerous times. Everyone raves about their dishes. Amazing french onion soup to start. (actually it arrived luke warm, when we asked them to heat it up, they were apologetic and gave everyone new soups and comped them) But even warm, and eventually hot, it was great french onion soup. Between my friend's and I, we've tried over 10 different dishes and each one has be wonderful, so you should be fine with whatever you order. Enjoy!

View more Reviews for Union Smith Cafe

Write a Review for

Union Smith Cafe

64% 100 26 25 Votes
Get Directions
Your Friends

Sign in with Facebook Sign in with Facebook to see what your friends are up to!

Add Blog Post

Add your blog review of Union Smith Cafe to Citysearch

Do you have a review of Union Smith Cafe on your blog? If you include the Citysearch image link (shown below) in your post, we'll automatically link to your review from the business profile page. Here's how our Linkback system works:

  • 1. Include our image link in your Union Smith Cafe review blog post.
  • 2. Citysearch will notice that you're linking to one of our pages. We'll scan your blog.
  • 3. We'll show a link to your blog post from the Union Smith Cafe page on Citysearch.

The Linkback system is free and automatic. It's really that easy.

Read our FAQ for details.

Image Link

To link to our business profile page, copy the html below to your web page.

Union Smith Cafe on Citysearch