The Color Studio & Salon

(972) 931-2220 | View Website

17194 Preston Rd Ste 110, Dallas, TX | Directions   75248

32.984144 -96.801654

Open Hours

Mon 10am-4pm

Tue-Fri 9am-7pm

Sat 9am-5pm

 
Beauty Salons

Neighborhoods:

less
 
 
The Color Studio & Salon

From The Owners of The Color Studio & Salon

Full-service salon in north Dallas offers free consultation and a full range of services, including cuts, colors and more.

Menu
Full Application, Retouch, Toner, Fillers & Stains, Partial Highlighting, Full Highlighting, Color Added w/ Highlights, Corrective Color, Special Effects Color, Goldwell Elumen Color, Men's Highlight... more

Reviews for The Color Studio & Salon

Recommends
5.0
over a year ago

Professional staff, awesome stylist! – I have been going to this salon for over 8 years! I've always experienced exception service. The entire team remembers your face and name (even if they aren't your stylist) and the atmosphere is warm and inviting.

There are several stylists to choose from so take the time to interview them and pick the one you like. Ask the salon manager for advice. She seems knowledgable on each stylists strengths.

Anyway, love The Color Studio & Salon...thanks for taking care of my hair all these years!

Doesn't Recommend
1.0
over a year ago

Waste of my Groupon Money – I was excited to see a groupon for this salon since after reading the reviews, it looked awesome! Well, appointment was made and I came in on time for my appointment. I was greeted and asked to wait after giving my information. After waiting around 20 minutes, I was asked what I wanted and I showed the stylist my photos. I was a little skeptical when I realized she would be doing the color AND cut since I am used to having a specialist for color and another for cut/style. I figured ok the reviews were great so maybe I'm just being a little paranoid. After she put the color in and had me sit and wait for over 40 minutes she brought me back to rinse and cut. She did a decent job coloring my hair (black so fairly easy anyway) but left black dye all over my ears, neck and face, which was quite sloppy and I have never left a salon with dye marks on my body. The cut was atrocious but I'm the type that won't say anything to see how honest the stylist is. I told her I wanted choppy layers and she got the choppy right but my hair was SO uneven. She noticed how bad it looked and didn't even care. I was almost in tears on the car ride home. I was not happy one bit and really should have said something but didn't want her to touch my hair anymore for fear of more damage being done. The stylist was nice but her work was worth $15 for the cost of the hair color. Needless to say, I will NOT be returning. :(

Recommends
5.0
over a year ago

Laurel is amazing! – This salon went above and beyond my expectations. I have never had highlights or added any color to my hair until this visit and had no idea what to expect. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful in asking what I wanted out of this appointment and who would be best to set me up with. The stylist, Laurel, that they suggested was wonderful! She was very knowledgeable and helped me decide what I wanted to do with my hair and spent time looking at several ideas to get the right fit for my hair. It came out looking amazing and I will definitely be back. The front desk staff was also helpful in helping me find the right product for my hair now that it is color treated.

I will definitely be back to this salon and I would definitely recommed Laurel to anyone.

Recommends
5.0
over a year ago

Laurel the "Fairy Godmother" of Blondes! – Laurel helped me to dump my hair frump! This was my first Groupon to purchase for color/cut. When I called the salon and asked for a great stylist who knows "blonde"- Laurel was suggested. Upon meeting Laurel, she was really friendly, attentive and listened to me. She has an eye for detail and design. I believe she is a great "Hair Fairy Godmother"- We talked about what was wrong and her suggestion to fix my hair frump- with some intense foiling and cutting- I left the salon feeling and looking like the blond I envisioned. Laurel's product suggestion was right on. Bravo Laurel- you were the "Hair Fairy Godmother" this gal needed..

Recommends
5.0
over a year ago

Made me look and feel like a million bucks! – I used a Groupon and took a risk. Delena was my hairdresser and she was great! I've been out of a job for over a year and have been using 'box coloring'. And I haven't cut my in over a year as well. I know my hair looked bad :( Delena didn't embarrass nor humilate me. She gave me some suggestions to keep my haircolor from fading. She cut my hair about 3 inches and not an inch more. I appreciate her kindness and expertise to help me. She understand my needs and exceeded my expectations.

I love my hair cut and color. I highly recommend Delena.

Doesn't Recommend
2.0
over a year ago

Not the best Customer Service – I bought a groupon for this place last month. I guess I didn't understand it completely because I thought it said that I could get highlights with it. I called and set an appt 8 days in advance. I told the girl that I talked to that I wanted to get my eyebrows waxed and use my groupon and get a cut, conditioning treatment, and partial highlights. She never told me I couldn't. The first thing that turned me off was how I was treated when I got there. I walked in and there were 2 ladies at the front. One was on a cell phone and the other was texting. I just stood there waiting for someone to acknowledge me. Finally one of them looked up and I gave my name and appt time. Gabriela was my stylist. She just wasn't the friendliest person. She sat me down and asked what I wanted. I explained I wanted to get partial highlights and she said I couldn't do that- the groupon was for full color. She said highlights are harder and more time consuming so it wasn't included. I asked how much more highlights would be and she said $75. I thought $75 on top of my $55 was too much so she brought it down to $45. Overall I left really disappointed. I don't know if Gabriela thought I wasn't going to tip her because I was using a Groupon or if she had somewhere else more important to be, but she did my entire, cut, treatment, color, and eyebrows in an hour and fifteen minutes. I've never had color done that quickly. I felt so rushed out of there I didn't take a close look at what she did. I got home and saw that my highlights were not as close to the roots as they normally are, I had two huge highlights and a few smaller highlights, my root highlights are a slightly different color than my end highlights, my hair was a bit shorter than I wanted it to, and one eyebrow is bigger than the other. Most people wouldn't notice these things on me but I did, and for the price I paid I feel jilted. I still tipped Gabriela and I didn't say anything there, but overall I will not be returning back.

over a year ago

We are sorry to hear about the disappointing experience you had received at the salon you had visited. Here at The Color Studio & Salon, we do not have a stylist by the name Gabriella. Our salon located at 17194 Preston Rd, Suite 110 in Dallas. We have 28 stylists but none of them named Gabriella. You can see and read about our stylists on our website at thecolorstudioandsalon.com. There is, however, a different salon with a similar name - The Colour Studio - located in Richardson that does have a stylist named Gabrielle. Please request to move your feedback to their forum.

Never the less we are sure that we can help you with your hair care or any color services we offer at The Color Studio & Salon. Just go to our website and fill out our exclusive Make Over Match form or stop by for a free consultation with one of our experienced stylist.

Recommends
5.0
over a year ago

Candace C was great! – I had a really great experience with Candace. She gave me a great root touch up that blended very well and very natural looking highlights.

I explained what I wanted and she gave me just what I asked for,

The cut was great and she took the extra time to style my hair very well.

Great experience

Doesn't Recommend
2.0
over a year ago

TERRIBLE highlights...everything else was ok. – I didn't complain while I was there at the promise it'd even out (no, it did not), but it's too far to drive to complain when I'm just going to end up dying over it.

I also find it really hard to believe these reviews are real...just because there are always some unhappy people. But moving on to my NOT perfect expierence. A lot of people complained about the environment, but I didn't mind it. It is busy and lively, there was a wait for getting your hair rinsed, but everyone was friendly and tried to make sure you were comfortable and happy.

Nih, who cut my hair, was very friendly. The cut itself isn't bad. But my hair is SO long, I think it'd be impossible to mess it up, so take my saying that worth a grain of salt.

Now my highlights are EHH. I knew exactly what I wanted and had a picture. She attempted to duplicate it, but I think just couldn't do it. My hair is dark and I've never had anyone not bleach and then tone it, but she did it all in one process. This just didn't work. Some spots in the back of my hair are verging on blonde and others are just brassy colored. I've had pretty caramel before, so I know it is possible to get. She also started the highlights so low on the undersides of my hair that you can see a line of highlights about 3 inches down my hair when i tuck it behind my ears. On top of it, I just got back from look at it in my work lighting and it is STRIPED and totally uneven in some spots.

I bought a groupon, so for what I paid ($70 plus an additional $20 charge because of the length of my hair), it's fine....but I'm still on a hunt for a salon in DFW to deal with my hair. It honestly looks like I got my hair done 3 months ago thanks to the roots and brassiness of the color. I don't think you will come out looking terrible or anything, but these are probably the worst highlights I've ever had.

Recommends
5.0
over a year ago

Jesika is great! Glad I went to the Color Studio! – I just went The Color Studio for my first time and had my appointment with Jesika! I had been going to someone else previously but wasn't walking out happy or would hate my hair 2 weeks later.

I'm happy to say that my experience with Jesika was wonderful! She takes time to listen and was easy to talk too. I do highlights and low-lights on my hair and it's really hard to get the blonde the right color. My hair naturally takes to golden tones which I hate. I want to get my hair more platinum and Jesika did everything perfectly and explained it all to me. My hair looks fabulous for the 1st time in over 8 months! She even recommended using a purple shampoo to help maintain the platinum blonde and she was right. It really does work.

I can finally say that I found a great stylist and a great salon. Can't wait to go back and have Jesika make me look great!

Recommends
5.0
over a year ago

Love my stylist, Jesika! – I started coming to to The Color Studio & Salon/Jesika by chance when I purchased a Groupon a few months ago. I HATE changing stylists, but Jesika came along at just the right time and I love her talent! She is the first stylist that actually listens to me and makes it fun to come get my hair cut/colored. I've never had a stylist, or at least not in recent history, ask me to show them how I style my hair. No stylist has ever seemed to care and then actually used that information to cut my hair accordingly. Jesika also doesn't 'huff' when she asks if the finished product is what I expected, and then I have a few minor changes. That's huge! I never feel likes she's 'put out' doing my hair, which oh by the way most stylists forget they are getting paid for. She has a lot of talent and makes me feel very comfortable. The conversation is not 'forced' and she lets me talk a lot without getting that glazed look on her face like most stylists do. I truly feel like she is a diamond in the 'rough'. I adore her and her talents. The Salon is very nice too! It's clean and full service, including a chair massage. I love coming there because they are organized, cater to their clients and generally help me relax and have fun when I come to get pampered. Glad I found it!

View more Reviews for The Color Studio & Salon

Write a Review for

The Color Studio & Salon

93% 100 84 74 Votes

Best of Citysearch

Won for:
Hair Coloring (2007)
Nominations Nominated for:
Blowout (2009)
Hair Coloring (2009)
Highlights (2009)
Makeup Artist (2009)
Hair Coloring (2008)
Nail Salon (2008)
Hair Coloring (2006)
Get Directions
Your Friends

Sign in with Facebook Sign in with Facebook to see what your friends are up to!

Add Blog Post

Add your blog review of The Color Studio & Salon to Citysearch

Do you have a review of The Color Studio & Salon on your blog? If you include the Citysearch image link (shown below) in your post, we'll automatically link to your review from the business profile page. Here's how our Linkback system works:

  • 1. Include our image link in your The Color Studio & Salon review blog post.
  • 2. Citysearch will notice that you're linking to one of our pages. We'll scan your blog.
  • 3. We'll show a link to your blog post from the The Color Studio & Salon page on Citysearch.

The Linkback system is free and automatic. It's really that easy.

Read our FAQ for details.

Image Link

To link to our business profile page, copy the html below to your web page.

The Color Studio & Salon on Citysearch