Per Lei

(212) 439-9200 | View Website

1347 2nd Ave, New York, NY | Directions   10021

40.768097 -73.958906

Open Hours

Monday 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Tuesday 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Wednesday 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Thursday 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Friday 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Saturday 12:00 PM - 11:30 PM

Sunday 12:00 PM - 10:00 PM

 
Restaurants, Italian  more

Neighborhoods: Upper East Side, Lenox Hill, Midtown

less
 
 
Menu
Insalata Per Lei, Insalata Cesare, Insalata Di Rucola Con Pere, Pistacchio Di Bronte E Gorgonzola, Insalata Di Cavolo Nero Toscano, Prosciutto E Melone, Mozzarella Di Bufala Con Pomodori, Peperoni Arrosto E Basilico, Bresaola Con Rucola E Scaglie Di Parmigiano, Parmigiana Di Melanzane, Insalata Di Mare, Tartara Di Tonno Con Avocado, Zenzero E Limone Verde... more

Reviews for Per Lei

Doesn't Recommend
2.0
over a year ago

Disappointing – Upon entering thsi place looks like a good pick. We sat outside and while the services was very slow and at times disorganized, the staff seemed nice enough. We had to flag our waiter down for things like another drink and to please refill our water. I had the scallops app. The scallops were way overcooked and rubbery, the mushrooms on the plate were drenched in oil and the huge pile of mixed greens in the middle were just plain. My husband had the fresh mozz app, which was the best part of the meal. My main was the gnocchi. Again, poorly cooked, didn't taste fresh, and was bland. The gnocchi from the local pizzeria down the street from my house is better. My husband had the goat riccotta cheese ravioli. Below average, unevenly cooked and tasted microwaved. Two drinks, two apps and to dinners was over $120. Not worth it, This meal wasn't even worth $50.

Doesn't Recommend
2.0
over a year ago

Terrible Brunch Option – I've been to this restaurant numerous times for dinner and always found food good. Visited for brunch for first time recently and it will be my last. Service was terrible on an empty restaurant. The waiter brought us out the wrong orders and didn't bother to offer to redo it or offer a free drink, etc-- was more of a take it or leave it attitude. Basic eggs bendict took 30min to arrive w/out any appetizers and again w/ a empty restaurant. Overall very dissapointing experience.

Recommends
5.0
over a year ago

Totally Delicious – I had been to its sister restaurant Baroanda many times, but took a chance and stopped in Per Lei while my parents were in town. Wow! First of all the waitstaff is super nice and attentive. The paintings, color scheme and art-y feel is a great setting for the delicious and inventive menu. Each dish from appetizer to salad to entree and desert is presented almost a beautifully as it tastes! I will definitely not only be back for seconds, but I will recommend this spot to everyone I know in the UES and throughout Manhattan.

Doesn't Recommend
1.0
over a year ago

The worst service I've ever experienced in my entire life, can I give ZERO stars? – I've never written a bad review for any restaurant or bar. I've never understood how people find the time to do so, and why it matters to them that much. But I just returned home from a dinner with my girlfriends at Per Lei and I couldn't stop telling my husband about the incredibly rude staff and management. I need to write this. Our reservation was at 7:30. Three of us arrived at 7:35, and the fourth at 7:40. We even ordered wine prior to the fourth getting there so this didn't delay us at all. By 8:45, our plates of food were being taken away (without having finished), one us ordered another glass of wine and was told she'd have to "drink it fast" and then we were told we could have no dessert. There was a table of 15 who needed to be seated where we were. Our bill was over $300 (before tip) and we were expected to be in and out in under 1.5 hours. Unreal.

Doesn't Recommend
1.0
over a year ago

IT is not "PER LEI" it is "PER I CANI" (THE DOGS)!!!!!!!!!!!!! – I just arrived from Italy 4 years ago, to study/work in America. I came understanding much English. I went to PER LEI, recently, with 2 of my friends from America. As an Italian citizen, I have to say, this restaurant has some of the WORST cuisine I have ever tasted. I am a 28 year old female, who, obviously, speaks Italian fluently. The wait staff likes to speak Italian behind the customers' shoulders. All of the comments are usually negative or inappropriate. PLEASE do not be fooled by smiles, the entire restaurant was extremely rude, and all of the new york people who were customers, had no idea what they were saying. I felt very sad for them. I also did not like to be force to buy expensive wine. My food arrived at the table very quickly, and the waiter tried to make me leave quickly. My first plate was not fresh and my dinner, (second plate), of meat was dry.

PER LEI is not authentic MILANESE food, IT IS NOT ORIGINALE. It borrows food from south Italia and mixes it with northern Italian food. PER LEI is also too expensive for the terrible food. I don't even know if there is a chef working at PER LEI...where did he go to school to learn to cook? I think the cook is a just a dish washer....

THe only Italian you can hear is from the staff who is offending you!!!

PER LEI is not fun at all, AND NO REAL ITALIAN PERSON, FROM ITALY, WILL ENJOY THE RESTAURANT.

Doesn't Recommend
1.0
over a year ago

I feel sorry for the owner! – I Went for dinner at Per Lei a few times, from the opening till about a week ago, and every time I go i can just notice how this place is going terribly down. My last experience was terrible with the manager trying to sell me the bottle of wine he thought was perfect for me (over $300) instead of my usual 45$ bottle, the food was ok but unfortunally it never taste the same and the service it's always a lottery, I Believe few of the servers still there from a very long time, otherwise you have to deal with someone new that does not know anything about the menu... Drink at the bar? NO THANKS!

Recommends
5.0
over a year ago

BEST TIME ON THE UPPER EAST SIDE – THE PLACE IS COOL ,FRIENDLY AND THE VERY,VERY GOOD.THIS GIARDINOITALIANO GUY HAS NO CLUE AND MAYBE NEEDS TO GO AROUND A BIT MORE IN RESTAURANTS AND NOT DINERS,SO I WILL LEARN THE DIFFERENCES BETWEEN THE TWO. WE LOVE PER LEI WE GO ONCE A WEEK AND IS ALWAYS GREAT.TO ALL THE FRIENDS OUT THERE YOU SHOULD GO TO THIS PLEASE.

Doesn't Recommend
1.0
over a year ago

Too Many Opportunities – I have tried hard to remain positive about Per Lei. I was there in the very beginning and have returned often. The food is occasionally good, never excellent and varies from chef to chef. This is the heart of my issues INCONSISTENCY...the management is at best unprofessional and can be insulting. Too often good customers are ignored to favor the look alikes from "The Soprano's". There is nothing wrong with an older man dating a young woman, except when the woman is clearly a professional escort and very obvious. It makes for an uncomfortable evening with a date when this kind of atmosphere is encouraged by management. There have been many changes in staff which makes loyality difficult. Just when you find a good waiter and he/she gets to know your needs, they disappear. Getting drinks is a painful experience, it takes forever. This has never improved. When you are on a first date, eating at Per Lei makes your decision process look very uninformed. Definitely not a cool impression! My last meal at Per Lei was last week, I will never go again and I intend to share my impressions with my friends. NYC has too many options. We need not accept this type of experience.

Recommends
5.0
over a year ago

two thumbs up – This restaurant is by far MY FAVORITE in manhattan. I go there for dinner at least once a week ,and every time i go at per lei i feel iam having dinner with my family.I tell all my friends about thi place ,and i know they will thank me later

Recommends
5.0
over a year ago

the place to be – The other day me and my girlfrend went for a walk around 5pm,the sun was out and we saw PER LEI we asked one of the waiter at what time the restaurant opened for dinner ,the waiter was very nice and asked us to sit down if we wanted too and said "i will be wuth you in 2 minutes.with in ten minutes the place was almost full.we had a very nice meal and they told us to go back on thursday night for PARTY NIGHT.We had lots of fun and the food is excellent,we told many frends of ours about this place we will for sure go back very soon.

View more Reviews for Per Lei

Write a Review for

Per Lei

74% 100 36 35 Votes
Get Directions
Your Friends

Sign in with Facebook Sign in with Facebook to see what your friends are up to!

Add Blog Post

Add your blog review of Per Lei to Citysearch

Do you have a review of Per Lei on your blog? If you include the Citysearch image link (shown below) in your post, we'll automatically link to your review from the business profile page. Here's how our Linkback system works:

  • 1. Include our image link in your Per Lei review blog post.
  • 2. Citysearch will notice that you're linking to one of our pages. We'll scan your blog.
  • 3. We'll show a link to your blog post from the Per Lei page on Citysearch.

The Linkback system is free and automatic. It's really that easy.

Read our FAQ for details.

Image Link

To link to our business profile page, copy the html below to your web page.

Per Lei on Citysearch