Nick & Eddie Restaurant

(612) 486-5800

1612 Harmon Pl, Minneapolis, MN | Directions   55403

44.971533 -93.285487

 
Restaurants, New American, $$$$  more

Tags: Bar Scene, Brunch, Date Spot, Fine Dining, Happy Hour, Local Favorite

Payment Methods: American Express, MasterCard, Visa

Neighborhoods: Central, Loring Park

less
 
 
Menu
Black and White Bean Chili, Caesar Salad, Conch Fritters, French Fries, Hoison, Pickled Cucumber, Conch Snack, BBQ Short Rib, Soup of the Day, BLT, N and E Burger... more

Reviews for Nick & Eddie Restaurant

Doesn't Recommend
1.0
over a year ago

Absolutely Horrible – If I could give this restaurant a negative rating I would. 7 of us went there for a friends birthday and it was the worst restaurant experience I have ever had. The birthday girl ordered a martini and when they delivered it, there was a bug in the bottom of the glass. Next the waiter, who took forever to come back to our table, informed us that out of the 15 things on the menu (none of them matched the website menu) about 7 were actually avaiable they were out of everything else due to a big party the day before. When someone ordered a beer, they said they didn't have it because the tap ran out last night at this big Thursday night party. When we finally did order 3 people ordered steak, when the 4th person ordered steak he said he had to go check in the back because he wasn't sure how many steaks there were. He came back to let us know that there were only 3 - so steak was no longer on the menu. It took over an hour to get our food and when we got it, it was cold. The waiter never came back to check on us and we were so hungry we just ate it. Mashed potatoes were supposed to come with the meal but instead we got this wheat germ rice thing that was absolutely horrible. I think prisoners in Stillwater get better food than this. Finally, when the waiter did show up we told him the food was cold and we were pretty unhappy with the overall experience, he apologized and said he would comp one round of drinks and desert. The desert was actually good, but when we got the bill, the martini with the bug was still included. We refused to pay for that. But with all that the bill was still $150. For cold, horrible, food and service. We were so disappointed. When we finally left the restaurant about 10:00, I went to pick up my car from the valet and was told that he was done for the night and I had already paid for the service. It was 10:00. And they handed the keys to my car to my friend and I was nowhere around. She didn't have a ticket or anything. Who does that? So we finally left and went to Crave downtown and ordered food (because we were all still hungry) and it was so good. I wish we would have complained more and not paid for anything. With how horrible the food and service was we should have insisted that the meal was free. We tell all of our friends about this horrible experience and will never ever go back to this restaurant again. There are way too many awesome restaurants in Mpls to waste our time and money here.

Recommends
4.0
over a year ago

A little expensive, but good. – I've only been here once. My only issue is that the place was pretty empty, but it still took several minutes before a server even looked at me, and i was sitting at the bar and watch 4 seperate servers/bartenders walk right by me.

That said, once i was served, I was treated very politely, and served professionally. I tried the Scotch Egg - wonderful and it was seasoned perfectly, and presented beautifully.

I love the decor, very Loring Parkish :) I'll go back and try a couple more of their dishes.

When i can afford it, I will. :)

Recommends
4.0
over a year ago

A wonderful neighborhood restaurant – I live in the Loring Park neighborhood and have been to Nick & Eddie six times for dinner and twice for brunch. With friends, family or business colleagues. Always very good food at a surprisingly moderate price. Loved the spicy steak. Have also enjoyed various seafood specials. Great bloody marys at brunch. Wonderful to have interesting options for both food and wine without having to spend a fortune (unlike a lot of restaurants in downtown Minneapolis - many of which have recently shuttered their doors).

Have never had an issue with the host or waitstaff at Nick & Eddie. I have always received good service. Have always been treated well by the hosts - even though I don't exactly have a hipster appearance like so many N&E patrons. I am not a local restaurant "insider" and do not have an ax to grind with the owner....

Depending on where you are sitting in the restaurant, the sound system can be too much. My parents especially have a problem with this (but otherwise love the restaurant).

Nick & Eddie is one of the local gems that visitors to DT Minneapolis should consider,

Doesn't Recommend
1.0
over a year ago

Top-Down Snarkiness – On a recent quiet Sunday evening, two friends and I visited N. & E. for a birthday celebration. We are all former servers and are the kind of guests you want in your section--friendly, low-maintenance and big tippers. However, we do have our standards and Nick and Eddie set a new low. Our server, Jaed, seemed disgruntled when she had to break away from her conversation with a co-worker to toss us some menus. She was clearly annoyed that my friend had chosen to sit at the place where the 4th table setting had been cleared; this would now require of her the arduous task of moving the silverware. An inquiry about a cocktail menu was shut down with a clipped, "We don't have one." When we dragged out of her that the bartender was doing a special lemon sage martini that night, she rolled her eyes and slouched away to place the order. Minutes later, we saw two of our drinks appear on the bar...and sit there. Eventually, she brought our now-warm drinks over to us and informed my friend that the bartender was out of sage, so he couldn't do the martini. She acted surprised when my friend asked for a different drink; I think she expected my friend to accept that she'd had her chance at a cocktail and she'd blown it. When the replacement drink finally arrived (the club soda that was ordered, too, never made it), we ordered the baked gnocchi from the appetizer section. Offended again, Jaed's monosyllabic, eye-rolling response was, "That's not on the menu anymore." When we pointed to where it was listed, she literally grabbed the menu out of my friend's hand, stalked over to the bar and pulled out another one. When she handed it over, she said, "You had the old menu," as if this was somehow our wrongdoing. Clearly, at this point, we had decided that we were not going to spend our lovely evening out together with Jaed glowering at us the entire time, so we finished our watery drinks, paid the bill and headed for the door. But on the way out, I stopped to speak to the manager. I have several friends who own well-known Minneapolis restaurants and also worked in the industry long enough to understand how reliant owners and chefs are on the front of the house and what the customer experiences while there. On top of that, my husband and I had been to Nick and Eddie not long after it opened, had okay food but a fantastic server and at that time, I let the manager know on our way out how good our service was and how much we had enjoyed our evening because of it . I do understand that a good restaurant can have a bum server and that she may not accurately represent the vibe or the product, but in this economy, that's an expensive handicap for any restaurant to carry. So, I took the time to seek out the manager and let her know--very politely--that we had planned to stay for dinner but were leaving for another restaurant because of our server's rudeness. And here's where the the picture comes into focus...the manager's response to this customer feedback? She gave me one of those fake, pursed smiles and said, "Have a nice time there." THAT SAID IT ALL. Needless to say, I will never again give my business (or my discretionary income) to Nick and Eddie. And yes, this story has been repeated many times by the three of us...but with a very happy ending attached to it. We did take our business next door and had a wonderful evening at Cafe Lurcat. Lovely food, lovely service, and a tab that was more than we had planned to spend that evening but worth every penny. I have since steered several people looking for a special night out to Lurcat and am returning there myself this week. In this economy, I will continue to support local restaurants that appreciate my business and skip the rest.

Doesn't Recommend
1.0
over a year ago

Horrible service, unprofessional staff – a friend hosted a birthday party in upstairs room back in April and was told there would be one server for every 5 people -- NOT SO! there was one server for 20 people, and when asking the guy who was helping our serving set out food for help he just looked at us and told us to ask our server! the server was in a bad mood all night, rude, above and beyond managing so many people. and the food was cold, despite dishes being staggered.

i complained to the manager, who turned to look at me with a cigarette half dangling out of his mouth and he proceeded to tell me that we "got a good deal" because there was no rental fee for the room!! he offered no apology for not getting more help for our server and basically was not very interested in maintaining his business. out of the 20-25 people at the party, only 2 had been there previously and no one stated they would come again. I certainly won't be going there ever again. as someone else also said, not only do the servers look unhygienic, but so did the manager!

Recommends
5.0
over a year ago

Great food and an excellent experience – I stopped by Nick and Eddie's on a whim on a bright and sunny afternoon (Feb. 22, 2009). While it was apparent that business was hopping, I was promptly greeted and seated at a table near the bar. A server came right away with iced water and a menu. The waitress was very pleasant and took my order for a shirred egg and juice. The egg was excellently cooked and presented. I finished my meal with a coffee, which was nice, rich and dark, and a pernod. While the place was initially a little loud, as the hour went by, the crowd thinned a bit and I could tell that it is a very nice place to meet with friends for a meal. The decor, as noted by other reviewers, is quite nice. I was impressed by the lovely restroom, as well. Overall, it seemed to me that this venue is an excellent choice and those who enjoy panache with their meals will be pleased.

Recommends
4.0
over a year ago

Wait a minute! N and E is really good! – As a previous reviewer stated, I have eaten all over this damn country, and N and E is really, really good! Sure, the service can be a bit slow. Yes, a few kinks are still being worked out. And brunch? Not my favorite. What I can tell you is that every single meai I've had for lunch or dinner has been really solid. N and E feels like an intimate, neighborhood restaurant. The staff is interesting and friendly. The owners are great. The service at the bar is stellar. The burger beats Eatery 112 hands down. Perfectly done, every time. The fries? To die for. The best part of N and E? The butterscotch pudding. Who cares if a bartender is wearing sunglesses, are you serious? N and E is not trying to pull off some crazy Lurcat business. It's comfortable, and reliable, and better than any of the 4 meals I've had at Lurcat, including service!

Recommends
5.0
over a year ago

Great atmosphere, service and food – Let me begin with a qualifier... I eat all over the country. I love this restaurant Somebody thought an awful lot about providing an impeccably designed environment in which to serve uncomplicated fare at a great value. This is totally a neighborhood spot so don't expect fine dining. Expect great food, great service and the best musical playlist in this city. I swear if I am forced to endure one more overpriced ,outdated four star meal to the music of Sting or worse I will go berserk. Nick and Eddie's wine list is really well considered cocktails include real pastis, absinthe served the right way- not like college-a cucumber martini and something called The Sheriff of Hong Kong (is that a Captain Beefheart ref?). The staff is not at all pretentious despite being in such a cool room. Previous posters sound like simps. By the way it was packed Fri. Aug 3rd at 9:30pm-I'd say that is a pretty good sign.

Doesn't Recommend
2.0
over a year ago

Too many better options for price – 4 of us went Saturday night. Should have known when it wasn't too busy at 8. Started with Duck Tacos and Gnoochi. Both were very good but then came the entrees. We all shared the Lamb, Hamburger, Salmon and Mushroom Polenta. Mushroom Polenta was tasty but everything else from the grill was BAD. Burger we requested Medium (which waitress described as pink middle) was well done. Lamb was requested medium rare and it looked like it had been boiled (rubbery and not firm). Salmon was dried out. Service was pretty good but there are too many other options for this place to stay in business.

Doesn't Recommend
1.0
over a year ago

Dreadful Service Experience, Unfriendly Acoustics, and Poor Vegetarian Options – The service experience at Nick & Eddie may be the worst I have ever suffered. When ordering my entree, I also ordered a beer. Twenty-five minutes later, the entree arrived, but the beer and our server were nowhere in sight. Approximately ten minutes later, my beer finally arrived. What's more, my companion's beer arrived in a plastic keg cup. Yes, a plastic keg cup. Classy, huh?

When I explained our displeasure to the server in measured detail, he stood there aloof and glassy eyed and sarcastically asked, "How's the food?" Wait a minute! Shouldn't the server be apologetic about undeniable deficiencies in service?

These indignities were exacerbated by the number of youngsters who left a stormy Basilica Block Party to seek refuge from the rain at Nick & Eddie. For most of our meal, several of these folks were congregating and hovering over their friends table, which abutted our table. Consequently, it felt as though we were eating in a crowded bar in the Warehouse District.

To make matters worse, the acoustics in this space are extremely unforgiving, and civilized conversation is nearly impossible.

Lastly, I am coming to the conclusion that this restaurant -- with its focus on reinventing and refining classic fare -- is leaving vegetarian diners out in the cold. My girlfriend is a vegetarian, and while the other entrees at our table were quite good, her entree (supposedly, Mushroom Polenta) sat largely uneaten. This dish consisted of every vegetable in the kitchen tossed together, such that every bite was a different meal, and one of those meals was an undercooked lima bean.

What an utter disappointment!

View more Reviews for Nick & Eddie Restaurant

Write a Review for

Nick & Eddie Restaurant

53% 100 18 17 Votes
Get Directions
Your Friends

Sign in with Facebook Sign in with Facebook to see what your friends are up to!

Add Blog Post

Add your blog review of Nick & Eddie Restaurant to Citysearch

Do you have a review of Nick & Eddie Restaurant on your blog? If you include the Citysearch image link (shown below) in your post, we'll automatically link to your review from the business profile page. Here's how our Linkback system works:

  • 1. Include our image link in your Nick & Eddie Restaurant review blog post.
  • 2. Citysearch will notice that you're linking to one of our pages. We'll scan your blog.
  • 3. We'll show a link to your blog post from the Nick & Eddie Restaurant page on Citysearch.

The Linkback system is free and automatic. It's really that easy.

Read our FAQ for details.

Image Link

To link to our business profile page, copy the html below to your web page.

Nick & Eddie Restaurant on Citysearch