The Wild Grape

(801) 746-5565 | View Website

481 E South Temple, Salt Lake City, UT | Directions   84101

40.769549 -111.877095

Open Hours

Sat: 9am-10:30pm, Sun: 9am-9:30pm, Tue-Thu: 8am-9:30pm, Fri: 8am-10:30pm

 
Restaurants  more

Neighborhoods: Greater Avenues

less
 
 
The Wild Grape
The Wild Grape
The Wild Grape
The Wild Grape
Menu
Local & Artisan Cheese Tasting, Bacon Wrapped Smoked Calamari, Whole Wheat Flatbread, Ceviche, Panko Crusted Crab Cakes, Warm Artisan Bread, Soup of the Day, Soup of the Season, Asparagus, Garlic, Roasted Tomatoes, Sauteed Sherry Mushrooms... more

Reviews for The Wild Grape

Doesn't Recommend
1.0
over a year ago

A Good Place... to Avoid – My husband and I arrived desiring a relaxing evening with well-prepared food. For the second time in 3 months, we were seated but a server never showed up. We were about to leave when the management offered profuse apologies and a lovely server named Dax appeared. We ordered a salad, soup and the roasted chicken dinner, and never in my SLC dining experience did we have worse food in a restaurant. The salad was fresh and OK, bit the "pickled" grapes are merely grapes - nothing unusual. My butternut squash soup had a distinct Indian flavor (possibly cumin) which I wasn't prepared for, and it did not go well with the squash. My husband's chicken was flavorless and unseasoned, and it was accompanied by cranberries that were unusually sour and a cooked bitter green vegetable. None of the flavors were pleasant in and of themselves, and together they were a disaster. I thought long and hard before writing this because it's obvious that the management and chef are trying hard, but before spending money on a meal here, it would be wise to proceed with caution.

over a year ago

bestbird,

I am sorry that you feel this way about our restaurant. I remember the situation and after you told me you didn't see anything on our menu I thought we had a food issue and offered to have the chef come out and try to accomodate your wants. I believe we tried everything possible to make you happy from sending the chef out to try and make a special meal for you. The salad was completely consumed, the bowl of soup was scraped and the chicken was cleaned to the bone. Again I am sorry we could not make you happy.

Troy Greenhawt

Owner /Operator

Doesn't Recommend
1.0
over a year ago

Wouldn't waste your money – I've eaten at the Wild Grape a couple times, and each time I was underwhelmed. I feel like the food just isn't what it should be for the price.

Doesn't Recommend
1.0
over a year ago

3 strikes – This is my 3rd trip to Wild Grape. You never want to judge too harshly or positively in the first few months of a restaurants life, since there are so many hiccups to work through. However, on this last trip through, it seems the old problems just don't stop. On each visit now, the food has come out cold. Once it wasn't just "not warm"...but actually "cold". I ordered a specialty hot chocolate on their menu this last time, and had to send it back to be warmed. Then had the Creole Shrimp set in front of me luke warm at best. This is either the server leaving my meal in the window far to long that it loses it's heat...OR the cooks simply being too aggressive to get things out of the kitchen that they aren't testing the food first. Either way, all 3 of my visits over 4 months and the same problem exists.

In addition, while I like my sweet flavors, you can tell the chef here Loves his. The Creole shrimp and Grits dish was basically a lake of cream sauce with maple syrup added in. No spice or subtle creole flavors added.

I'm very glad that they are busy...and I'm certain they will continue to be. It's a GREAT use of the old space, and summer out on the patio will be nice. But come on guys (and gals)....you only get so long to get over start-up glitches. Can I just get some Hot food?!?

Doesn't Recommend
1.0
over a year ago

Nice waitress, bad food, even worse manager – Went to brunch last weekend. Food was NOT good. small portions, my bread was toasted, however my friend's was not, she got two little pieces of plain bread next to her cold eggs. Potatoes were not seasoned well, and undercooked. Two tiny pieces of light brown rubbery bacon.....totally disgusting. We asked the waitress if she could ask them to crisp up the bacon...it came back black on one side. Then, to top if off, one of our friends was late and the manager (red head with pony tail) said to the hostess (short blonde hair) right in front of us "see, this is what happens when you seat them before the whole party is here, now they are never going to leave!"....needless to say, we didn't feel welcome and won't be going back.

over a year ago

I have watched this neighborhood eatery go from nothing to something in just a few short months. Simply Amazing! For myself the Wild Grape will continue to be the best restaurant in the area. The quality and freshness of food is in every bite. Jane, eggs get cold fast. Try not to wait too long before you dig in or your food will get cold. For everyone else, you need to give this restaurant a try and be your own food critic. Remember if cooking were easy everyone would be doing it.

Recommends
4.0
over a year ago

A very welcome addition to the neighborhood – This has become something of a regular spot for us. We have been about 6 times including once for brunch and see the continual efforts to improve and refine.

Starting with wine: I am very impressed by the knowledge the wait staff demonstrateof the various wines (I did pop in to the restaurant before it opened as I saw there were a number of people in there and spoke to Chuck, the owners father. At the time the staff were being educated about the wine list - impressive I thought. There is a good selection and you can always get a recommendation from either the bar staff or the sommelier. The atmosphere in the small bar area is very convivial whilst remaining intimate and the TV is kept at an approriate volume to allow conversation to take place. Good cocktails too.

An interesting innovation is the late night menu available for post theatre or movie goers (or just late drop ins). This varies from the main menu and is available after 10 (I think - maybe it's 9)

The food was variable in the early days, but has got better. The risotto as mentioned previously is a bit on the starchy and dry side, which is unfortunate as it is a favorite food of ours but we haven't seen much improvement. On the other hand the Lamb Burger is stellar, tasty, juicy, just a hint of mint and spice - delicious. The starters present a pleasant mix of options with the artisan cheese plate making a nice one to share between two, though my favorite is the pork bellies and grits. If I had to criticize I would say they need to pay more attention to the heat of the food, most of the time our meals have been warm rather than hot. A nice touch is the amuse bouche sent by the chef.

We went once for brunch - unfortunately not a good experience. We were seated promptly but the waiter forgot about us, the food was average at best, but most off putting, the waiters shirt was filthy with coffee and food stains

This is a great addition to SLC, try it. It always seems to be buzzing.

Doesn't Recommend
1.0
over a year ago

Not at all what it was. – Hi I decided to try the Wild Grape again on my 2nd trip to S.L.C. . I was here for a few days last year when they first opened and was able to meet with the owner Troy who was able to tell me about his resautraunt.The idea was great it was great food the waitstaff was very professional and the food was amazing.I am very glad not to of written my review then. My second trip was not worth my visit. the general manger was great she is adorable her staff is on the other hand I would say a bit over there heads very non professional in the speech around the customers swearing talking about illegal substances and there most recent adventures the night before.The food was a shadow of what it was last year. I feel the food might as well be served in a chafing dish tasteless with a essence of banquet quality food. A associate of mine ate the arugula salad it was disgusting and very starchy and the blue cheese ball was horribly distasteful . The kitchen staff was loud and acting childish in there speech and actions.They all looked different vs my first visit where it was nice to see all the chefs dressed in uniform now they wear what they want how they want and no order to the kitchen. I even saw a chef with a black cap with a sweat ring around it now how exactly is that clean? My food came out half cold half warm not even at all good. the wild grape to me Troy has fallen along way to where I wouldn't take associates of mine to a place i would put along side Dennys. I feel the atmosphere was great. the wine selection is great and very unique to the area.

Recommends
4.0
over a year ago

A nice change for boring Utah – My husband and I moved to Davis county last year from California. It's been so difficult to live in a world of Applebees, Chili's and Olive Gardens..not our idea of going out to eat.

I work at the U and although sad to see the Avenues Bakery close, I was happy to see the Wild Grape open. I drove past for weeks and noticed it was packed. So we had dinner there two weekends ago.

First, do make a reservation. We had dinner at 7:30 and it was still busy. The wines were yummy - we each had a glass of the St.Michelle - cab I think - at the bar while wating for our table.

My husband had the buffalo and I had the pork tenderloin - both dishes were very flavorful, although my husband felt his meat to be bit overcooked.

The service was wonderful, as well as the ambience. We were also happy to see a decent beer selection (Rogue beer on the list, not just Bud/Coors) offered.

The only negative I can think of was that the waitstaff wore name tags. I thought that took it down a bit. The overall feel was wonderful, and the food very good. We will visit again.

Doesn't Recommend
2.0
over a year ago

Underwhelmed – We went to The Wild Grape for the first time this morning, for brunch. We'll probably try it again for their other meals, but with much lower expectations. I had eggs benedict, with smoked portobello mushrooms and spinach. The hollandaise was fine, as were the eggs, but the English muffin had the bitter taste of an inexpensive brand from the grocery store. I wish the menu had mentioned that the smoked mushrooms were also marinated; I might have chosen something else. My companion's toast arrived completely dry, with nothing on the table to spread on it. Worst of all were the potatoes, which were undercooked to the point of hardness. But the weakness of the coffee came in a close second.

I have no complaint with the service (prompt and attentive) or the ambiance, but I go to restaurants for the food, and this one did nothing to recommend itself to me today.

Recommends
5.0
over a year ago

Excellent Wine Bar! – After going back to the grape with a friend who hadn't tried it, I am still very into this place. We chose a seat on the patio where the grapevines blocked the noise from the street. Sat back had blue corn waffles (amazing) and drank lychee and strawberry rhubarb mimosas. The found came out timely and delicious and the staff was completely friendly. The manager greeted every table and stop to chat here and there.

I left stuffed !

Recommends
5.0
over a year ago

Great wine list, very good food and much needed new spot in SLC! – Dinner for 5, all with different choices, all were great.

We tried two different wines new to us - great results.

Service was attentive and quick without being at the table all the time.

We are going back - often.

View more Reviews for The Wild Grape

Write a Review for

The Wild Grape

68% 100 27 25 Votes
Get Directions
Your Friends

Sign in with Facebook Sign in with Facebook to see what your friends are up to!

Add Blog Post

Add your blog review of The Wild Grape to Citysearch

Do you have a review of The Wild Grape on your blog? If you include the Citysearch image link (shown below) in your post, we'll automatically link to your review from the business profile page. Here's how our Linkback system works:

  • 1. Include our image link in your The Wild Grape review blog post.
  • 2. Citysearch will notice that you're linking to one of our pages. We'll scan your blog.
  • 3. We'll show a link to your blog post from the The Wild Grape page on Citysearch.

The Linkback system is free and automatic. It's really that easy.

Read our FAQ for details.

Image Link

To link to our business profile page, copy the html below to your web page.

The Wild Grape on Citysearch