Portland >Beauty >
Spas >Terra del Sol Spa
210 NW 17th Ave, Portland, OR | Directions 9720945.524386 -122.688084
Tue, Wed, Thu 10am-7pm
Neighborhoods: Neighbors West - Northwest, Northwest District
Phones disconnected – Well, Groupon Community -- it's happened. Money spent, phone lines disconnected, money gone. Any idea if there is any recourse through Groupon?
BTW -- when they WERE open, no one would ever actualy answer the phones, nor return messages. It's no small wonder that this place is out of business.
The Best Spa in Town – I went to the spa with my whole family and it was the best spa experience that we ever have had. My brother and sister had their first massage and they enjoyed it a lot. We rented the grotto with all my family and it was a great time and perfect place to spend time together. The people who helped us and serve us were very nice. Thank you very much Terra Del Sol. My family and I will have another reunion at Terra Del Sol very soon.
Where to start – I recently went to Terra Del Sol for a service and I was treated with respect from the staff. I recieved a spray tan for my vacation and was happy walking out. While on vacation my spray started peeling off, I looked diseased! Not exactly what I had expected or was warned about at the time of the service. I am very fearful of going back after reading all the negative reviews. I have only heard bad things about the owner and how she runs her business...Is it worth another try? Thoughts?
Dear Love Pink, We are very sorry about the airbrush tanning. Our airbrush last up to a week depending on your skin type, how much you exercise (because of the perspiration), and bathing. If you go to a different climate where it?s more humid results may vary. Sorry, we hope next time we can meet and hopefully exceed your expectations.
What to say. – I tried to like Terra Del Sol. I really did.
My husband and I had a day of relaxation, we booked facials and massages.
The spa is large and well decorated. The front desk staff was ok, getting us wine right off the bat.
We were allowed to use the grotto- two pools, a suana and this sand room. Pools were o-k. The "cold dip" was more luke warm than cold. I've never been one for steam though so we hung out in the sand room for a while. Just hot with bright lights. The mural was pretty.
We got light "appetizers" which is more crackers and cheese.
Our massages were good and the therapists were attentive.
My facial went great. The rooms are decorated nicely; however sound travels very well in this spa. Doors, a chime bell, walking, and the therapist next door to you, can all be heard.
It was however, my hubby's first facial. He has a very sensitive beard area and is very prone to ingrown hair. He said the facial/shoulder massage was nice and he loved the steam machine they use, but they put something on him for an exfoliant that made his face itch and burn slightly. I was surprised to see him afterwards looking very red/flushed. This continued all day, and well into the night. The next day there was visible irritation to his neck, jaw and hairline. Not exactly the purpose of a facial.
Overall, this place was just o.k. Small things added up to just an all over "eh" experience. Good effort, not quite there. I'm still trying to find a great Portland Spa, and I don't think this is it.
We apologize for your ?eh? experience.We also offer a light lunch if you notify front desk at the time of scheduling, $20. We try and keep the spa as quiet as we can so you may relax. Our walls have 5?sheet rock, sound deadening insulation. Each wall is mounted on one side with resilient sound channel. Our aestheticians are very knowledgeable and would have notice if there was a skin reaction in the moment. We never received any complaints. Good luck with your spa search. TDS Staff
Nightmare!! – 10/07/10
I thought I was going for a relaxing day at the spa, but it ended up being a nightmare!!!
Making the reservations alone was a hassle. I was placed on hold several times. The girl who was helping me seemed very confused and didn't know what she was doing.
When I finally came in for my treatment, the owner there standing over the receptionist but never once jumped in to help when it was clear the receptionist had no idea what she was doing.
After checking in I was taken on a tour, but was not shown where to go before my treatment or told how long I would be waiting.
When I was finally seated in the "grotto area" by someone who saw me standing around looking like a lost puppy, I waited for over over an hour and 20 minutes for my half ass facial.
When I left a tip, the owner was once again at the front desk and had to grab another employee since the receptionist was not there, because she did not know how to ring it up.
I was really disappointed especially for the amount I paid. I would expect much better service. The only good thing was the four glasses of wine they served me! Great place to catch a free buzz!!!!!
Dear Nightmare, We are very sorry about your experience. We charge $60/hr for use of the grotto or $300/hr for a private party. Forty min prior to your tx time, the client may relax in the grotto.We have a spa attendant/front desk professional at all times. Perhaps your attendant was preparing your sun appetizer or getting your complimentary beverage. All of our clients have left happy and satisfied. We lack specific information to follow up on this complaint.
Terra Del Staff
Fine, unless it's not – Terra del Sol spa has some good qualities, and as long as everything goes right for you, it's a nice enough place to go. However, if you have any problems with your services whatsoever, you will be deeply disappointed with their customer service. As other reviewers noted, you have to pay up front for your services, which means that you pay full-price no matter how late or poor or completely wrong your service is. You could wait until the end to tip your technician, but the problems with this place are with the management, not the technicians, so that's punishing the wrong person.
My friend and I visited the spa recently and were told we were not scheduled for the treatments we had booked, nor could we receive treatments from the technicians we had requested (who we were told were available when we booked our day). This was, of course, AFTER we had paid for the services we had booked. When we said we wanted to cancel the service that they were willing to give us (that we didn't want!) we were told we'd be charged a cancellation fee because it was less than 24 hours notice!
An email to the management resulted in an insulting response, with a long paragraph explaining to us how we should have booked our services differently (apparently it was OUR fault that they couldn't do the services we had scheduled) and a minimal apology for the problems we encountered. We were told they are a growing business and sometimes clients will experience their "growing pains"
So, buyer beware! Because there are no refunds, no attempts to correct mistakes, and generally no common decency available from this business.
It is no secret Terra Del Sol has a 24 hour cancellation. If a client request a specific order and a specific therapist in which to schedule a treatment and a specific price. Please tell front desk all of your special needs at the time of scheduling your appointment.
Shady Business Practices – My husband and I went to Terra Del Sol for an 80 minutes couples massage. They had us pre-pay before the massage itself and cut the massage short by 20 minutes. Our appointment started at 4:30pm, we were let go from the massage at 5:30pm We should have been done by 6pm. The difference in cost of this is $100. The receptionist as well as the therapists admitted the fault, and told us they could offer us a gift certificate, not a refund. We did not want a gift certificate and asked for a refund. They asked us to call the next day to resolve the matter. I called the next day and the owner said that the massage was only cut short by 7 minutes and they could not issue any refund. They offered us a free couples massage which we booked, but then had to cancel. When I called back to rebook the free massage, the owner said that we had missed our opportunity and there was nothing they could do for us. She was extremely rude to me, and to my husband and told us she was refusing us service.
TDS did not cave to client?s threatening behaviors: swearing, yelling, demanding cash, excessive harassment calls/abuse of power/position at Nike threat to ruin my business.
Truely Disappointed – I had never been to a first thursday and thought it would be a great idea for a girls night. To my suprise apparently having a scheduled appointment time didn't mean you would be getting any of your treatments at that time. In fact our treatments were 1hr and 2+hrs , late.. Though if we wanted we could have paid even more money to enjoy the grotto ??? Quite disappointed with our mini mani/pedi's(the tech wasn't personable(I think she asked me 1 question the entire time) and it felt like she just didnt want be there. By the end I just wanted to go home- it was much more of a hassel trying have a evening of fun/relaxation. I have been here many times before for regualr treatments and had great service, but I for sure will not be returning to a First Thursday. Walk-ins are not welcome, in fact the person at the desk said appointments fill as soon as the email goes out, so Im not sure why they post that on their website. Disappointed and I will not at all be recommending a First Thursday to anyone.
disapointed to never hear back – I'm 7 months pregnant - so to treat myself and my mom (she's going to come stay with me for 2 weeks after baby is born!) i booked facials and hour massages for the both of us. I was so excited about this day, I actually booked the appointments 2 months in advance. My Mom had a great experience, which I was really happy about. My facial was terrific, but my pre-natal massage was HORRIBLE.
To start, the therapist brought me into the room late. When we got into the room, she told me the only "equipment" she had for me was a pillow to put in between my legs (I was told this spa had special tables for pre-natal massages) and my bump is very big for 7 months!!! Considering too, laying on your side when large and pregnant is NOT comfy! After I changed and got on the table, I told her I needed something to prop my head on as all the blood was rushing to my head laying on my side- so she took another 5-10 minutes to get me another pillow. By this time, we are 15 minutes into my scheduled time (i'm losing).
The massage started out OK - the left side of my back got a "decent" massage...then she did a horrible massage on the rest of my body......then finished. Didn't do the entire right side of my back - which is what I told her i wanted the massage for!!! My back is killing me!!! She even ended early, so all in all, I only got about a 35 minute massage.
Now, I spent over $300 on this pampering day -- and when I told the gentleman (which, by the way was very helpful and friendly) at the front desk about my massage - he said he would have the manager call me -- which NEVER HAPPENED. I was there on March 27th, so it's been a month.
Had the manager called me back, I would consider coming back...but now I'm just really disapointed and may never come back. It's sad that someone can take $300 from their customer, but not make things right when the services are not up to par.
As one of the managers at Terra Del Sol, I'm very glad you and your mother enjoyed your facials.We apologize you weren't happy with your pregnancy massage.Unfortunately, the person on front desk never brought to management's attention that you were unsatisfied or we would have called you that day.The front desk person also misunderstood about our prenatal massage and our tables; he is no longer with us. According to the therapist, she had asked for you to get in a position that was the most comfortable to you, which we understand is difficult when pregnant.The therapist was unaware you were unhappy with your treatment, if she had known she would have figured out a way for you to enjoy your massage more.We apologize your treatment began late and are looking into the matter further.The appointment ended at it's scheduled time as she had other treatments.We would like to make things right with you and resolve the situation, please contact us at your earliest convenience. Thank You, TDS.
Portland's Most Incredible Spa – I was a frequent customer of Nirvana Apothecary & Day Spa for many years and when I when a dear friend of mine purchased a gift certificate for me to Terra Del Sol, I was hoping for a similar wonderful experience as I was used to at Nirvana. Wow! Was I blown away by my expectations and more upon walking into this little hidden secret in Portland. There is simply nothing else like the enviance apart from every spa I have frequented in the area. I had two amazing treatments by two incredibly accomplished technicians (esthetics and massage) and then was treated to a soaking in the grotto and steambath following my treatments. The friendly staff waited on me hand and foot and even brought an appetizer tray and wine to me while soaking. The very attractive and hospitable owner even made her way over to meet me upon check out. I didn't even want to leave! It was simply one of the best spa experiences I have ever had in this spa saturated town and I will highly recommend this experience to all of my concierge and collegue contacts without hesitation...
Sign in with Facebook Sign in with Facebook to see what your friends are up to!
Do you have a review of Terra del Sol Spa on your blog? If you include the Citysearch image link (shown below) in your post, we'll automatically link to your review from the business profile page. Here's how our Linkback system works:
The Linkback system is free and automatic. It's really that easy.
To link to our business profile page, copy the html below to your web page.