American Surplus Store-Jumpwings

(612) 333-8325

28 N 4th St Corner of 1st Avenue North and 4th St North, Minneapolis, MN | Directions   55401

44.980442 -93.271349

Open Hours

Mon-Sat: 10:30am-7pm; Sun: 12:15pm-4pm

 
Military Surplus, Action Sports, Salvage & Surplus Goods  more

More Categories: Backpacking Gear, Camping Equipment, Winter Sports, Outdoors, Sporting Goods

Shoe Products: Boots

Collectible Products: Military Collectibles

Outdoor Products: Survival Gear

Neighborhoods: Downtown West, Central

less
 
 
American Surplus Store-Jumpwings
American Surplus Store-Jumpwings
American Surplus Store-Jumpwings
American Surplus Store-Jumpwings

From The Owners of American Surplus Store-Jumpwings

Minnesota's oldest & largest Army Navy department store. Open to the Public. 1 block from Light Rail, Northstar Commuter Rail, Target Field

Reviews for American Surplus Store-Jumpwings

Recommends
5.0
over a year ago

Best Halloween 2011 Costumes – Stop into to American Surplus Store for the best in Top Gun Flight Suit, Patches, Costumes. Twin Cities #1 Halloween Costume such as Pirate Hats, Civil War Costumes, Pilots, GI Joe Costumes, Sail Hat, Jumper and Pant, Kids Camouflage Pants and Shirts, Pilot's Costume, Aviator Helmet and Goggles, Military and Police Uniforms, Dog Tags, Aviator Sunglasses, Camouflage BDUs, Gun Belt, Holster and Bullet Belt, SWAT Uniforms, Tactical Vests and Accessories. This is the place to go!!

Doesn't Recommend
1.0
over a year ago

unbelievably rude woman on the phone – whoa. i called and asked a question about tent stakes, and this extremely rude woman answered with sarcasm, anger, impatience, and a tone of voice that could kill kittens. for asking whether or not they carried tent stakes!

unreal, really, that someone like this has a customer service job during a recession.

i won't be shopping there, ever.

over a year ago

We are truly sorry if you felt your inquiry wasn't handled properly. many years ago, we stocked metal tent stakes. We no longer stock them and we don't stock the plastic ones since they are too fragile. One suggestion is to purchase 'grading stakes' at a hardware or big box store since they can be hammered.

We try to make helpful recommendations for items we do not stock. Again, our apologies

Doesn't Recommend
1.0
over a year ago

Woman working there is mental – The woman working there must have some kind of psychological illness. All I did was try to give her some business, but I was treated very rudely for no reason.

over a year ago

It is indeed unfortunate that your feelings were hurt when you were on premise. Perhaps a better resolution would be to stop by and engage the staff person to discuss. We value everyone and would appreciate learning from your experience.

Doesn't Recommend
1.0
over a year ago

Terrible service, isulting staff – Went to buy a pair of navy sailor pants for a theatre piece I am working on. The woman at the counter refused get them for me or direct me to where they were in the store. She misquoted their posted return policy, saying it was a "few days", instead of 30 as was posted. She refused to believe that I was not secretly using these for a Halloween costume, despite the fact that I said I would return them unworn within the next few days if they did not work out. She also argued with me about what size my actor wore, and then told me I wouldn't want them because they were too expensive.

I will be ordering these online. The headache of shipping is nothing compared to arguing with that crazy bitch.

over a year ago

Sounds like you were trying to borrow these pants around Halloween without paying for them. I visited this store and the return policy was clearly printed on the receipt, 14 days, other conditions apply. I understand that around Halloween retailers do not allow returns for costume type merchandise...at best, your expectations are unreasonable and worst, your criticism misplaced.

Recommends
4.0
over a year ago

Helpful Service and Good Prices – I was weary to go to either American Army & Navy Surplus or General J's after reading some of the scathing reviews posted here and considering the venture of driving in downtown minneapolis. But I was pleased to find getting there wasn't bad and I was able to find street parking easily.

I was able to find a basic shirt coat that worked for the show I was costuming and the woman working offered to go to the basement and pull the smaller size I needed. When she returned she had the basic I'd asked for along with three other interesting coat options in my price range.

I ended up choosing one of the coats she'd grabbed for me for my show and keeping another of them for myself because it was so cool and she was willing to knock the price down for me.

Having never shopped for Army surplus before I thought the prices were pretty low, with plenty of things for $30 and under.

over a year ago

We appreciate you thinking of us and hope we can assist you in the future. I hope your production was successful and you enjoyed wearing the coat you selected for yourself. General Mgr

Doesn't Recommend
1.0
over a year ago

Never Again! – I would not send my worst Enemy to this place! I spoke with a woman, who knows what her position was there? Owner or manager I Assume. Maybe the Store Buyer? Very Rude and obviously could not tell a Ruck sack from a Sea Bag. Really out There. A Real B!tch! Don't shop there People, Unless u Like Rude, Crappy Service!

over a year ago

I happen to know this store...the selection is large, well displayed and the staff is very knowledgable, the prices fair and its truly a unique store. I'll bet the staff is fully aware of a rucksack, which is usually a very large back pack and a Sea bag, which is usually the white naval open top duffel bag,

One method of addressing your concerns would have been to speak with the floor manager when you were there, explain your perspective and resolve your concerns at that time.

Recommends
5.0
over a year ago

A Place for Zombies! – Zombies will love this place for costumes and gear. A favorite for Top Gun Flightsuits for Halloween, Lots to look at, fair prices on clothing, boots and gear and great costume ideas. The staff is friendly and helpful and will get you a great fit. They even give you parking money.

Easy to find off 394East at the 4th Street exit. Go one block and its on the left side of the street.

Lots of patches, belts, pins, flight suits, camouflage, hats, caps, air force goggles, vests, printed t-shirts, hunting nets, hunting knives, Ka-Bar, Ontario, SOG, sailor hats, sailor suits, camping accessories, wool pea coats, parkas, ammo cans, leather bomber jackets, brass knuckles, throwing knives. I love this store! A real store, not a Shopping Mall clone.

Doesn't Recommend
1.0
over a year ago

Do Not Give These People Your Business! – I have been here on two occasions and have been treated terribly both times. They make you feel as if you're not wanted there. And, almost worse, the staff berates and argues with each other right in front of you. They have no respect for themselves or their customers. I will never return. It's honestly an awful place to go.

over a year ago

We regret that you did not have a superior shopping experience and since there is no staff, we don't have any perspective to respond to your concerns. We can assure you that we respect each an every customer.

Doesn't Recommend
1.0
over a year ago

Beware of the Dog – There should be a sign of the like outside the store.I called about a pair of Union Suit Long Johns and the person on the phone was very curt with me.I asked if she had a large in stock and she insisted I'd need an XL or XXL.I went to the store and asked for the undrwear,she only had 3 on the rack.All were oversized and when I held one up to my body and showed how it wouldn't fit she coped an attitude.Origionally she said she'd go look in the basement but suddenly turned outrageous,said she didn't need my business and to get the hell out of her store.I told her I called eailer and she said she didn't care and to get out now.She was so out of line,so unprovoked,there was no reason for her behavior.She wasted my time and a drive into downtown,totally offending me to boot.

over a year ago

Sales staff is more helpful to customers if they know if garments are sized generously or small. It is appropriate for the staff to guide you.

It really sounds like you were the culprit here, not the staff and who knows what you did to generate an atmosphere of concern by the staff.

Doesn't Recommend
1.0
over a year ago

Very Rude. – I called looking for something in particular. When they told me they didn't have it, I attempted, in a friendly manor to express how important it was to me to find what I was looking for (I have a brother in Iraq), simply trying to get a little advice on where I might try, I was told "Sir, I've got calls waiting." He made it clear he didn't want my business. I will never shop at this store. I would NEVER treat a customer this way.

View more Reviews for American Surplus Store-Jumpwings

Write a Review for

American Surplus Store-Jum…

47% 100 20 19 Votes
Get Directions
Your Friends

Sign in with Facebook Sign in with Facebook to see what your friends are up to!

Add Blog Post

Add your blog review of American Surplus Store-Jumpwings to Citysearch

Do you have a review of American Surplus Store-Jumpwings on your blog? If you include the Citysearch image link (shown below) in your post, we'll automatically link to your review from the business profile page. Here's how our Linkback system works:

  • 1. Include our image link in your American Surplus Store-Jumpwings review blog post.
  • 2. Citysearch will notice that you're linking to one of our pages. We'll scan your blog.
  • 3. We'll show a link to your blog post from the American Surplus Store-Jumpwings page on Citysearch.

The Linkback system is free and automatic. It's really that easy.

Read our FAQ for details.

Image Link

To link to our business profile page, copy the html below to your web page.

American Surplus Store-Jumpwings on Citysearch