Scoma's

(415) 771-4385 | View Website

47 Pier, San Francisco, CA | Directions   94133

37.809011 -122.414787

Open Hours

Mon-Thu 1130am-10pm, Fri, Sat 1130am-1030pm; Sun 1130a-10p

 
Group Dining, Casual Date Spot, Lunch Spot  more

More Tags: Notable Wine List, Waterfront Dining, Special Occasion Dining

Cuisine: Seafood

Categories: Restaurants

Neighborhoods: Fisherman's Wharf (North Waterfront), Fisherman's Wharf, Northeast

less
 
 
Scoma's
Scoma's
Scoma's
Scoma's

From The Owners of Scoma's

Scoma's is 45 years of Seafood tradition

Special Offers

  1. Print Offer

    $24.95 Prix Fix Lunch Menu

    Provided by CityGrid

    Scoma's 3-Course Prix Fixe includes Soup or Salad, Entree and Dessert

Reviews for Scoma's

Doesn't Recommend
1.0
over a year ago

Worse than Long John Silvers – I have no idea why this restaurant has such good ratings. Yes the location is nice... The seafood however is awful, Which I would imagine takes quite a bit of effort considering the restaurant is located right on the pier.

We had very high hopes for this restaurant as it has great ratings on every site we could find. It was overcrowded, we were seated back to back with another couple. Everyone that passed bumped into us or hit our chairs.

When the waitress finally remembered we were there, she dropped a glass of soda on my wife which broke and spilled all over her clothes. She did apologize and had the table remade.

Our clam chowder appetizer was good.... And thats about it. We then receveied our overcooked hard shrimp dinners. My wife had the fried shrimp, which were so overcooked she could barely bite through them and I had my shrimp and scallops which was just average.

We sent my wifes meal back and they refused to credit us our funds and kept insisting they would make us a fresh one. The fresh one they made us while better than the original, once again was nothing to write home about.

Finally after 90 minutes of waiting for a drink, hard shrimp and having broken glass and soda spilt over us we received our $90 bill. We didnt even get a credit for the drink which was spilled on my wife.

All and all it was a lousy experience. The service was awful. The food, on its second attempt was medicore, and the atmosphere, might have been nice if we were not getting bumped into every other minute.

With all of the amazing choices for seafood in San Fran I would avoid this place like the plague. Better off to let this hidden treasure stay hidden and sink to the bottom of the sea

over a year ago

We appreciate you taking the time to post your experiences from your visit to the restaurant. I am very sorry to hear that you had such an unfortunate visit with us and would certainly like to do our best to put this right. I appreciate you contacting me at your convenience.

Nick McGreevy

General Manager

415.771.1501

nick@scomas.com

Recommends
5.0
over a year ago

Expectations exseeded – I went there with no expectations, but I was actually very impressed!

The view is marvelous, i love the watching the water while i'm having a dinner or luch or whatever time during the day. So peaceful and beautiful place!

I loved the Mozzarella sticks that are melting in your mouth...

And the Tunna with butter-soy sause -mmm you should taste it!

The veggeatbele dishes are delicious as well, my friend is vegeratian and she appreciated it.

We will be definietly back to Scoma's!

Recommends
5.0
over a year ago

Great Italian Seafood on Fisherman's Wharf – Scoma’s is fantastic! I found Scoma’s through online reviews before a trip to San Francisco. My wife and I ended up going to Scoma’s the first night of our 4-day trip. It was a very unassuming restaurant without all the hoopla of many other Fisherman’s Wharf restaurants. Tucked away down an ally to Pier 47 next to Castagnola’s, Scoma’s is almost completely hidden from the hustle and bustle of Fisherman’s Wharf. The exterior of the restaurant looked very casual –different than the interior. It had a more sophisticated interior with dark woods and white linen table cloths. Although they welcome casual dress, we were glad we wore something nicer. We found the servers to be very professional and well seasoned in their knowledge of the menu. We put faith in their suggestions and ended up sharing the Pasta Fisherman’s Style dish. Their servings are huge and we recommend sharing unless you’re generally a big eater. The meal was so good, we ended up going back again before returning home. The next time we went for it and shared the Crab Cakes appetizer, Lazy Man’s Cioppino and topped it all off with their specialty Tira Misu and port wine. Whoa… I still can’t forget the flavor of that Cioppino. Honestly, the pasta sauce was what really made the dish so good. Our server told us that Scoma’s has been at that location more than 45 years and is one of the oldest restaurants along Fisherman’s Wharf. Because of that, they get first dibs from the fishing fleet. The restaurant has its own fish processing building right outside the kitchen. The seafood literally comes off the boat, gets cut, cracked & filleted and brought to the kitchen within a distance of about 50 feet. It doesn’t get any fresher than that. One other great asset about Scoma’s… free valet parking. Overall there was nothing that we wouldn’t consider exceptional about Scoma’s.

Recommends
4.0
over a year ago

Always Consistent! – Some of these reviews....I wonder if we went to the same restaurant! Scoma's portions are HUGE. You always leave with a to-go bag. Although a tad pricey, it's worth it, as the staff is friendly and professional, knowledgable and well trained. The seafood is fresh, and the shellfish saute is so very good (not sure where the frozen food comparison came in from another reviewer). The bar is a welcome place to wait for your table (which you will likely have to do, unless you come when they open...we go at 11:30 on Sat....and you can get right in). The views vary, but you can get a table with a decent view. Clam chowder is very good, pan seared fish dishes are really good, as are their fried oysters. My husband loves their cioppino. Valet parking will take care of your car quite well....no worries. Ambiance is subjective. I like the old pictures from the 70's and reminiscing and being reminded of sports figures and old horse racing days!

Recommends
4.0
over a year ago

Delicious! – I had actually heard pretty poor things about Scoma's from family who had visited before, but I was actually very impressed!

Went there with my grandmother, and we got a seat by the window (which is essential). Dining while watching the sun set over the water and sailboats is one of my favorite things to do. So peaceful and beautiful!

The food was delicious! We ordered the Baked Mozzarella for an appetizer -- I kind of thought these would be like mozzarella sticks, but it was literally just a hunk of deliciously mozzarella cheese melted beneath roasted tomatoes and pesto. Delicious.

For an entree, I ordered the Ahi Tuna topped with a butter-soy sauce-- it was a little overcooked (but I like mine RARE). It was delicious. The steamed veggies and garlic mashed potatoes were perfect sides.

Yum! Will definitely be back -- great place to take the family :)

Recommends
5.0
over a year ago

Seafood doesn't get better than this – I feel like a local tourist enjoying my favorite city each time I eat at Scomas. Scoma's feels like it's part of San Francisco's foundation, much like the Buena Vista, Fairmont, Golden Gate Bridge and trolley cars.

There are certain culinary must haves when you eat on the wharf...clam chowder, cioppino, and crab...and great sourdough bread and Scoma's delivers each to perfection.

There are several family owned restaurants on Fisherman's Wharf...but none that can compete with the tradition of Scoma's.

Recommends
4.0
over a year ago

Old School in a good Way – I completely disagree with the previous poster. The fact that they tout "in and out" as a good place to have a nice meal speaks for itself. It isn't quite 5 star but it's a very high 4 star rating. Updated decor and a more creative menu would make it perfect- but it's still a fabulous place to have a meal.

Yes the waiters may seem a tad brusque- BUT if you are a habitual "fine diner" you'll know that most establishments of this sort have "professional waiters" That means these guys are not ignorant students working their way through college- but knowledgeable servers. They are NOT there to kiss any puffed up buffoon's hiney- they ARE there to give efficient non-intrusive service. They know the menu and they know tne wine list. If they make a suggestion you'd be smart to heed them. Last time I went I was with 2 older female relatives. They thought the waiter was a bit rude until I explained why he was aloof /formal ( think about the way a butler addresses his employer as "sir" no matter how long they have known each other) He completely won my relatives over when he suggested they split an entree and each get a salad or appetizer so they could taste more without ordering too much. These waiters are there to make sure YOUR dining experience is a good one- NOT to sell the most expensive thing on the menu. Nuff on the waiters- if you think a burger is a good meal- this is NOT the place for you...nor are the prices!

The food is good fresh seafood- that means you don't have to drown it in "stuff" that overwhelms the seafood. Some may consider it plain- but sometimes simple flavors blends are the best combination. And, speaking as a SF local- you get a decent amount of food for the price. WIll you get the same amount you would if you bought your own seafood from Costco? NO! But for a restaurant- I don't have a problem with the quantity for the price. AGain- if you want a fab seafood meal for the same price as In and out- get your butt to Costco and make your own at home. Nobody at Scoma's will miss you. Trust me.

The decor is dated but charmingly so. Pictures of all the famous people who have frequented the place hang on the walls - and it's easy to imagine that at any moment the rat pack may walk througn the doors. Actually- come to think of it..our waiter had so much..um..."experience" under his belt that he probably could relay first hand accounts of what waiting on the famous 4 was like!

Highly recommended for a taste of good fresh seafood, and old san franciscan ambiance!

Doesn't Recommend
1.0
over a year ago

average food, 3x overpriced, avoid the pricey restaurants – This is probably one of the rare times that I've researched a place on-line and regretted going there.

Seriously, if you think Scoma's has a great view, you seriously need to invest more time planning your trip around San Francisco and the bay area, because this is average. You can eat for 10% of the price at In-n-Out and get better quality food, and then walk around even more beautiful parts of San Francisco that are just a few blocks away: Acquatic Park and Fort Mason, and stroll along the waterfront to the Golden Gate Bridge if you really want a beautiful walk.

I ordered the Shellfish Sautee: it was at about the same quality I would get from a high-end frozen meal, and definitely not worth the $35 they charged for it. It should have been about $12.95.

The staff had snooty attitudes, and that really does not match many of the reviews I've read about this place. If you eat out alot and travel around the world, believe the bad reviews you read here because this place will only impress someone who hasn't really experienced the best in San Francisco and the bay area.

My advice, if you want to eat someplace nice, start by avoiding anyplace along the waterfront that has a name that starts with an italian word, they are all average at best, and almost all overpriced. Try's Boudin's or McCormick and Kuleto's if you want something good to eat along the waterfront with a good view, or of course just go to In-n-Out and you'll get a good quality burger and fries for about $5, and they are almost across the street from Scoma's.

Recommends
5.0
over a year ago

Great Place – The wait is not long. Help is very helpful. And the servers are first class. Food is consistent Drinks are good. Wine list is right on. My lady loves the Halabit and I the Sword fish. we have had other items, all great. What can I say I love The Place For Seafood

Recommends
4.0
over a year ago

Dessert to die for – Outstanding food; had Cioppino and seafood sampler; both were excellent. Cheesecake was sumptous, best ever. Ate on a Sunday evening at 7PM there was an hour wait; very crowded bar and very little room to sit when waiting; free valet parking service. Service was good; had to ask a couple of times for water refills.

View more Reviews for Scoma's

Write a Review for

Scoma's

86% 100 56 50 Votes

Best of Citysearch

Won for:
Seafood (2011)
Nominations Nominated for:
Brunch (2010)
Business Lunch and Dinner Restaurant (2010)
Group Dining (2010)
Italian Food (2010)
Lunch Spot (2010)
Restaurant (2010)
Romantic Restaurant (2010)
Seafood (2010)
Steak (2010)
View (2010)
Wine List (2010)
Seafood (2008)
Seafood (2006)
Steak (2006)
Clam Chowder (2005)
Seafood (2005)
Get Directions
Your Friends

Sign in with Facebook Sign in with Facebook to see what your friends are up to!

Add Blog Post

Add your blog review of Scoma's to Citysearch

Do you have a review of Scoma's on your blog? If you include the Citysearch image link (shown below) in your post, we'll automatically link to your review from the business profile page. Here's how our Linkback system works:

  • 1. Include our image link in your Scoma's review blog post.
  • 2. Citysearch will notice that you're linking to one of our pages. We'll scan your blog.
  • 3. We'll show a link to your blog post from the Scoma's page on Citysearch.

The Linkback system is free and automatic. It's really that easy.

Read our FAQ for details.

Image Link

To link to our business profile page, copy the html below to your web page.

Scoma's on Citysearch