Zest Cafe & Home Art

(919) 848-4792 | View Website

8831 Six Forks Rd, Raleigh, NC | Directions   27615

35.899944 -78.653712

Open Hours

Tue-Sat: 10am-8:30pm, Sun: 10am-3pm

 
Restaurants, Vegetarian, Eclectic & International  more

Price: $

Tags: Brunch

Payment Methods: Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Neighborhoods: North

less
 
 
Menu
Brunch Burrito, Breakfast Burger, P E & M Zestwich, Brunch Refresher, Chicken & Waffle, Chicken Salad Plate, Mix Master, Brunch Frittata, Huevos Rancheros, Quadrant... more

Reviews for Zest Cafe & Home Art

Recommends
5.0
over a year ago

ZEST is a great place to eat, shop and get the best carrot cake in the world!! – I eat lunch at Zest quite often and I always have enjoyable experiences there! The waitresses are just about as nice as they could be and, for the price, I don't think you can beat the food. The brie sandwich is my favorite! Lunch can get pretty busy, but I never really have to wait more than about 15 mins or so (if I even end up having to wait- just get there early) and the store has such cute stuff that it's usually hard not to buy something while we wait. If I know that I'm not going to have much time to sit and eat I'll call in an order to go since I work in the office park right across the street. It is very convenient and I still feel like I'm eating healthy!

Recommends
5.0
over a year ago

Terrific Food! – I love this little cafe! The quality of the food is above and beyond even most higher end restaurants in the area. The service is great and the wait staff is very friendly. I had a wonderful experience this holiday season when I decided to let Zest cater a small dinner party for me. The food was amazing and received great raves! The preparation was all done for me I just had to re-warm and serve. The owner helped me plan the meal and the chef did an outstanding job! It certainly took all the stress out of the evening for me. I highly recommend it!

Recommends
5.0
over a year ago

Fresh healthy fare prepared daily. – My husband and I are regulars at this wonderful cafe. The food is amazing and the chef comes up with the most tasty combinations! Dinner is special and you can dress casual. I love going at the end of the work day and having a glass of wine and terrific meal. Sunday brunch is great and we often go with our entire family as there is something for everyone on the menu. The wait staff is always friendly and courteous. If the cafe is busy, and it usually is, I never mind the wait because there is so much to see on the Home Art side of the establishment. There are wonderful gift items that you don't see anywhere else in Raleigh and the helpful staff giftwraps for you!

Doesn't Recommend
1.0
over a year ago

The Rudeness Continues... – I had not eaten at Zest Cafe until today (although I work nearby). I met a friend there for lunch, and we did not have a good experience. The food is okay (nothing spectacular) and the lunch menu is fairly expensive.

My friend and I had not seen each other in a while, and so we spent a little over an hour there. However, at the hour mark different wait staff (and I think the owner) kept approaching our table individually and saying, "is there anything else?" and "is there anything else we can get you?" in a rude and impatient tone. They were obviously trying to get us to leave so they could make our table available to waiting diners. While I understand their motivation, the way they went about it was unfriendly and a clear-cut example of poor customer service. I will never eat there again, and I will warn other diners about the substandard customer service. The owner and employees clearly do not care enough about their customers, and I wish I had read the other customer reviews before I spent too much money for mediocre food and an atmosphere of impatience.

Doesn't Recommend
1.0
over a year ago

rude employees – walked in with another person. the owner's wife /co owner only nice to people who buy. she rude to other guests.not buy.go elsewhere

Doesn't Recommend
1.0
over a year ago

This used to be my favorite place to take someone for a special occasion, until today. Today I took my mother there for her birthday. The owner asked how many in our party, which was 3 including my very well behaved daughter, we were told 15 min. We waited outside so my little one would not make anyone nervous as the cafe is next to the art shop which has lots of fragile items. After 15 min. we came back inside and noticed at least 2 new tables had been seated. We asked how long and were told, 15 minutes again. I said "30 minutes total now?", to which the owner responded loaded with sarcasm, " What can I say, it is what it is" and then abruptly walked away. Upon leaving to go to another more hospitable establishment, I checked with the cashiers to see if they take reservations, possibly explaining why others had been seated ahead of us. They do not take reservations. I'm guessing he didn't want to seat us because of my 3 yr. old, who is very well behaved, or maybe because we weren't all elderly women dripping in diamonds-no matter, we left. Although we were hoping for something a little more elegant, Milton's pizza is only a few steps away and there we were greeted with warm smiles and great food. It's seems crazy to think that the owner of a "cafe" would need to take customer service cues from a pizza place, but there it is. Our family seeks out and supports local business. We will not be supporting Zest Cafe. Our only consolation is that a packed Zest cafe means there are at least 50 fewer jerks where we are.

Doesn't Recommend
1.0
over a year ago

bad waitstaff – some of the waitresses try to sell items to customers. like one sold cosmetics.and also tried to sell tickets to a chairity fund raiser to customers.and also one waitress continually complained about her in-laws to customers.they would not stop. and one waitress said they needed money tips for the son. one waitress said management was bad. and waitresses complained to customers they not leave a tip. and service was bad.some waitresses spend more time with their friends as customers. not much time at all to customers that are not social friends.

Doesn't Recommend
1.0
over a year ago

bad service,rude employees – not recommended. i have seen the owner and his wife rude to customers. i haven seen them both yell at female customers. when there is a complaint. or ask for a certain waitress. they both yell and scream at the female customers that have a concern. the waitstaff see food on the floor. the restaurant is not busy.

they will not pick it up. except i have seen one waitress pick food off the floor with her hands. and not wash it afterwards.the waitstaff will brush the food crumbs on the table and onto the floor. and not clean it up. the hostesses not friendly at all. only nice to male customers. and the white older female hostess i noticed always rude to females alone.not nice.only nice to customers when there is a male guest. the waitresses are rude to female customers. they just walk away from tables where there are only females. to gossip with another employees. and leave the females at a table. without explination and not come back. the female cashiers are rude. they often wait on two people at a time. only nice to male customers.management sees the rudeness not do anything. also some waitresses complain they not get enough tips from customers. and ask for money tips. tell customers they need more money. at lunch time more female customers. and the waitresses tend to wait on female customers dressed up.like they have alot of money impression.they only get good service

Doesn't Recommend
1.0
over a year ago

Awful Management – We used to be regular customers here. The food is priced high, but we thought we were getting good value. Then we started to see some inconsistency, and had to send back some food once because it was overcooked. Everything was ok with that (no apologies, though) however today we had lunch and had to send back a turkey burger that was burnt. The manager came back and told us that he would not re-make it - it was cooked the way it was supposed to be and in fact, we could order anything else on the menu but we were not allowed to get another turkey burger! He did not even apologize for the burnt food nor did he engage us in discussion or ask us what he could do to make things better. Bottom line, he is a tactless individual who should not be in a service industry. Buyer beware - if you have problems here, don't expect any of the kind of customer service you should expect from a high-priced bistro - you won't get it. We walked out and won't be back.

Doesn't Recommend
1.0
over a year ago

Very Prejudice! Only white people allowed!!! – This place was a huge dissapointment. My friends and I went there to eat on Saturday. Two of us were white and we were with an Indian family. When our turn came to be seated after 45min of waiting the manager refused to put two tables together in the middle of the shop. I said so you are going to sit people behind us first! He said yep! So my friends waited I refused to give him any business. My friend then noticed after the manager thought we left, he sat a nice white family together putting the same tables together he told us he couldn't do. My friend confronted him and said you will put the tables together for them and not us? He said yep! So my friend said im leaving, the manager said see ya!

This makes me very sad that we still have this much prejudice still blatenly around. My friend has two children with him, they had to be made to feel not as good as the white people. I feel they should not still be allowed to be in business with this type of treatment of people. A very very prejuduce resturant!! I would never give them any business I'm spreading the word. I have a huge friend group with my organizations i belong to, they will be boycotting as well.

Please don't encourage them by supporting their business!

View more Reviews for Zest Cafe & Home Art

Write a Review for

Zest Cafe & Home Art

56% 100 50 39 Votes
Get Directions
Your Friends

Sign in with Facebook Sign in with Facebook to see what your friends are up to!

Add Blog Post

Add your blog review of Zest Cafe & Home Art to Citysearch

Do you have a review of Zest Cafe & Home Art on your blog? If you include the Citysearch image link (shown below) in your post, we'll automatically link to your review from the business profile page. Here's how our Linkback system works:

  • 1. Include our image link in your Zest Cafe & Home Art review blog post.
  • 2. Citysearch will notice that you're linking to one of our pages. We'll scan your blog.
  • 3. We'll show a link to your blog post from the Zest Cafe & Home Art page on Citysearch.

The Linkback system is free and automatic. It's really that easy.

Read our FAQ for details.

Image Link

To link to our business profile page, copy the html below to your web page.

Zest Cafe & Home Art on Citysearch